We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch!”
Review of El Santo

El Santo
Reserve with OpenTable
El Santo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Contemporary Mexican
Restaurant details
Description: Contemporary Mexican
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the fish tacos, which were delicious. Great service and the ambience is super. Can't wait to try dinner or some new lunch choices. Very fresh.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lawfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Social Media Coordinator at El Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon.

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Bit disappointed, reviewed menu in advance. & were excited to try. Felt portions were small for $. Two of us had the chilli relleno & found it tasteless & crust on top very hard & crusty, in fact my friend choked on hers. Other friend had the El Pescado & also disappointed, said needed some jazzing up. And don’t ask for your chips to be replenished in the TRIO OF SALSAS! We still had quite a bit of the salsas left & asked for topping up of chips, seemed a hassle & minimal amount more given !

Thank Fern H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Social Media Coordinator at El Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,
We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience at el Santo. Quality of service and quality of food is of the utmost importance, and your feedback concerns us. When brought to our attention, our kitchen and staff is more than happy to deal with any dish that does not meet our customer's satisfaction by either re-making it, or removing the item off of your bill entirely.

We hope that the next time you choose to dine with us, you will leave having a better experience.

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We've gone to El Santo on several occasions and have yet to have anything but a spectacular experience. The cuisine is excellent as is the service. They may have the best tequila selection in town. If you want the best Mexican food in the city go here. The only problem is that it is a bit noisy - probably because of the fact that it is always very busy.

Thank HyackNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Social Media Coordinator at El Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,
Our team always enjoys reading our visitor's feedback -- especially if it's positive. Thanks for dining with us and we hope to see you again.

Cheers,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Last time we were at El Santo, it was jam packed which we (wife and I) thought was great because there have been three new restaurants open recently in downtown New Westminster.
El Santo is the "old" restaurant of the group having been around a couple of years now. The menu has changed some since it opened with limited competition, but if anything the menu has only been strengthened.
Two Friday's ago, we both had tacos...I had beef cheeks ($10) and my wife had pork tacos ($9). We started with the Tiajana 24 salad, a wonderful shared plate of grilled romaine hearts with terrific accompaniments.
Try as I might, there's not a single negative thing I can think of El Santo. It's just a wonderful spot with a sudden collection of restaurants downtown.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hkgilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Social Media Coordinator at El Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,
Thank you for the lovely feedback on your recent visit to el Santo! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Came for lunch and tried the El Santo Huevo, Tijuana 1924 and Pescado (fish tacos - you get two). It was surprisingly good.

There are lots of things on the menu to choose from (see attached) and the prices are reasonable.

Parking on streets is pay parking all around so park close by and pay for 2 hours.

Service was good.

It was not too noisy so you can talk with someone.

I understand on the weekends in the evenings there is live music and the place is hopping.

Definitely would come again!!

Thank Nyvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Social Media Coordinator at El Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hi there,
Thank you for your feedback, and for highlighting some of the items you ordered. Our restaurant is great for quick meals, catching up or even business meeting during lunch hours. Evenings are a little busier; Thursday-Sunday we have live music and usually a full house, but on weekdays, the restaurant's atmosphere is a little quieter and calmer. Make sure to give us a call when you are planning on visiting again and we would be happy to make you a reservation.

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Santo also viewed

New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 

Been to El Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing