We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better for older children and adults.”

Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jamie's is the West Coast's Original Whale & Wildlife Adventure Centre, navigating the waters of Clayoquot and Barkley Sound since 1982. We are thrilled to be celebrating over 30 years on the water! We have the largest fleet in the area, offering whale watching & bear watching on larger covered cruisers or zodiacs! Join our experienced and knowledgeable crew as we help you discover this beautiful destination. We also offer tours to Hot Springs Cove (by boat or seaplane), kayaking, water taxi service to Meares Island, scenic flights, and much more. Visit us at our Tofino and Ucluelet locations, where we have gift shops and lots of FREE parking (including RV parking in Tofino). Please note that all Jamie's tours are subject to a $3 research fee, which goes directly to benefit local, non-profit groups involved with wildlife research, rescue and education. We also have complimentary kennels in Tofino for your dogs while you're out exploring with us!
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The photograph associated with this attraction of the grey whale breaching at close range on an ocean calm as glass in a blue sky day is not what most customers can expect. In truth, one strains to see spray plumes in the middle to far distance and then, rarely, a flash of fluke. So what! Jamie’s delivers a wonderful three hours on the water in in a comfortable boat (not a zodiac for children and seniors) with the highest of safety standards and such amenities as heated indoor space, bathrooms, and a coffee and tea station. The staff are pleasant and knowledgeable and working hard every minute for maximum sightings. There are blankets and yes, you must dress warmly to be out on the ocean or you will need them!
I do not recommend this trip for young children. Our child is almost five and found the waiting and squinting to 2o’clock starboard, and rolling seas making most kid stomachs queasy almost too much to bear. So beware!
That said, we adults enjoyed our whale glimpses and such other wildlife as sea lions, sea otters, and bald eagles.

Thank qualicumgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWSAdventures, Adventure Team at Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thanks for bringing your family aboard. We're sorry to hear that your little one wasn't feeling well.

It's difficult to know what response you'll have once on the open ocean. We find the best indicator to know if you may be susceptible to seasickness is if you feel motion sickness while driving on a windy road, but even this isn't always accurate. If you're concerned about it, it's always best to ask our adventure staff at the front desk. We've got plenty of advice that will hopefully help!

We love having children on board, they often ask amazing questions! Although not all parts of the tour is exciting, the crew will try their best to share their passion for wildlife with everyone. You never know who is a future marine biologist. We're also playing with a few ideas to help engage children on board who aren't as interested in the wildlife.

We love showcasing the incredible moments we have had on previous tours, but we also try to balance it with honest and open information about recent sightings and forecasted conditions to anyone interested in joining our trips.

Thanks again for coming out with us, and the feedback.

- Jamie's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"grey whales"
in 185 reviews
"sea otters"
in 198 reviews
"whale watching"
in 163 reviews
"bear watching"
in 83 reviews
"skipper chris"
in 14 reviews
"hot springs"
in 140 reviews
"larger boat"
in 16 reviews
"hot drinks"
in 12 reviews
"zodiac tour"
in 16 reviews
"bear tour"
in 28 reviews
"great trip"
in 42 reviews
"see whales"
in 30 reviews
"black beans"
in 58 reviews
"natural environment"
in 10 reviews
"covered boat"
in 22 reviews
"whaling station"
in 9 reviews
"saw seals"
in 17 reviews
Filter

118 - 122 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

We did the whale-watching tour in mid-March to see migrating gray whales, and we were not disappointed.

From the moment we called to inquire about tours to the time we were greeted back at the dock, staff were professional, friendly, and truly interested in ensuring we all had a good time.

The captain went out of his way to circle back when he saw blows on the horizon, and even took us a long way to see resting sea lions on a huge rock. The naturalist information provided by staff on the cruise was terrific.

It's a first-rate operation.

Can't wait to go again...and we will continue to send guests traveling to Tofino from our B&B on the east side of the island! Thanks to Ryan and the entire staff and crew!

Thank Eagle2E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWSAdventures, Adventure Team at Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Aw shucks, this is what we strive for on every tour! We're so happy you enjoyed the trip.

Thank you for sharing, please come back and visit soon.

- Jamie's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We had a whirlwind of a trip to see the grey whale migration (my 9 year old son is OBSESSED with whales) and decided to go with Jamie's ... SO impressed! Hot tea, coffee & hot chocolate are provided, as well as sunglasses touques and gloves (for those of us who forgot them - its COLD out there, be warned!!!) Friendly staff and the zodiac tour was great!! Our guides were passionate, knowledgeable and respectful of the sea creatures. we saw many grey whales, a humpback in the distance, otters, stellar sea lions & seals.
Planning on returning for Humpback season, and will for sure be booking with Jamie's - they've obviously had their share of issues in the past, but i wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone!

Thank Darkly_dreaming1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWSAdventures, Adventure Team at Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We love sharing our passion for wildlife with everyone, especially those who are, as you say 'OBSESSED'!!

Looking forward to seeing you later this season.

Thanks for your kind words.

- Jamie's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

I took the tour up to Hot Springs Cove in the morning and had an awesome trip. Our captain was Chris, although his jokes were terrible but funny he did an amazing job of letting us know a lot history of the area. He was very informative and his wildlife knowledge was very good. You can tell he enjoys doing what he does. The hot springs themselves were great, I’d been up there before but not able to go in them due to having surgery only a few weeks before. The boardwalk is easy to navigate, it can a bit frosty in the winter months especially in shaded areas, yup, I totally biffed it on some steps. On our way back we got the pleasure of seeing a group of 3-4 Grey Whales who were the first migrators spotted this year. It was a great day, lots of fun. I highly recommend going with Jamie’s for any of their tours.

Bubba

Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWSAdventures, Adventure Team at Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Captain Chris certainly has a reputation for this comedy...! He's been on the water with Jamie's for 17 years now so has had a lot of time to perfect those jokes.

Sorry to hear you slipped on the boardwalk to the Hot Springs. With those cold February day's the trail was definitely a little slick. We're excited that you were able to find Grey whales on the way back. It's great to have early sightings before our Whale Watching trips start!

Thanks for sharing. Come back and visit us again!

- Jamie's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We booked a boat to hot springs cove and ended up getting to watch six transient killer whales on our ride back to Tofino!
The overall experience was really great; the staff, the knowledgable Skipper Warren, the boat ride, the beauty of the springs, the excitement of watching the whales- it was a perfect day!
We were the first boat at the springs, which was best because as more folks came, the springs got a bit crowed.
Going with Jamies was a great choice!!

1  Thank RastaBri17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWSAdventures, Adventure Team at Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Oh wow, what a treat to see the Transient Orcas! We never know when they'll show up, but are ALWAYS excited when they do. On average, they show up every 2 to 3 weeks throughout the year, but we haven't figured out how to get them to call ahead...yet!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your trip.

Thanks for choosing us!

-Jamie's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing