We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place to Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tofino Tree House

Timber Frame House Tucked in the Rainforest.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Timber Frame House Tucked in the Rainforest.
Cedar Boardwalk to the House. Expansive Cedar Decks and SunkenFire Pit.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Timber Frame House Tucked in the Rainforest.
Cedar Boardwalk to the House.
Expansive Cedar Decks and SunkenFire Pit.
Private Deck off the Master Bedroom.
Outdoor Dining.
Built in Dining around a Tree!
Detail.
Kitchen with Gas Stove, Dishwasher, Full Sized Fridge and all the Basic Cooking Wares.
View from the Kitchen Sink.
Outdoor/Indoor Wet room with Giant Soaker Tub, Shower and Heated Slate Floor.
Wet Room from Inside.
Soaker Tub.
Cozy Living Room with Pull Out Sofa
Entertainment Zone!
Bedroom #1
Cozy Bathrobes.
Bedroom #2
Bedroom #2
Ladder to Semi-Open Sleeping Loft.
Sleeping Loft.
View from Sleeping Loft.
Writing Desk.
Beach Towels.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melissa T
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at the Tofino Tree house and it was very clean, cozy and pleasant place to stay. Kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom was amazing! Kaeli was very responsive to all our questions and concerns. All in all great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy N
BC, anada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Grim weather but a good stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our extended family, including two kids, just enjoyed four nights at Tofino Tree House, located off the main road into Tofino, about five minutes by car from the ocean and ten minutes from the town. The house, surrounded by rain forest, is imaginatively designed, with extensive use of cedar and creative use of metal. As noted in other reviews, the best room in the house is the sunken bath area, with a great shower, a huge soaker tub, heated slate tile flooring, an enormous skylight, and glass doors opening onto the forest. A more conventional powder room is adjacent. The kitchen, built around a tree trunk, surrounded by a free-form concrete table top, is also terrific. Although there is no microwave, the kitchen has excellent equipment, really better than any other vacation rental we've experienced. The living area is smallish for six people, but adequate. It comes with a large-screen TV and DVD player. The House was very clean and well maintained. We had a hard time visualizing the sleeping arrangements before we got there, so to explain... All the bedrooms are minimal, but fine, with cabinets with shelving, a bit of hanging space, and comfortable beds. One of the bedrooms is beyond the kitchen on the L-shaped main level, with its own exterior door opening onto the deck. A small loft bedroom, above that bedroom and overlooking the kitchen, is up steep stairs. Another bedroom is up a second steep stairway off the living area. There is additional sleeping for two on a fold-out sofa, where one of our grandchildren slept, immediately beside and part of the kitchen and, in a pinch, someone could sleep on the sofa in the living area. Each of the three bedrooms is supplied with two terry robes, which is a great addition. The beds were all very comfortable with good pillows and attractive linens, and towels were plentiful. Although we were only able to use it once, and even then in the drizzly cold, the extensive deck with picnic table and fire pit, is great. The house is very private, and you are hardly aware of the owners' house through the trees. Although other reviewers were unable to access wi-fi, we had no problem at all. We were pleased to be able to bring our well behaved Jack Russell terrier for an additional $25. Kaeli, the owner, was away, and although the person in charge was very quick to respond to emails, we never met her, or anyone else for that matter. As we have been to Tofino a number of times, this didn't really matter to us, but it might have upset someone else new to the area. Quibbles? As noted in other reviews, the lighting could definitely be improved, specially in the bedrooms but also in the living area. There are mysterious switches here and there, so maybe this is planned. Additional hooks would be welcomed as there were never enough places to hang towels. A drier for guests' use would be a great addition. One of us really objected to the metal stools in the kitchen, which noisily scraped the concrete floor every time they were moved. We would have preferred lower windows in the bedrooms, but this obviously isn't fixable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The imaginative and appealing architecture, the incredible bathroom, and the excellent kitchen.
Liked least: The inadequate lighting and just-okay living area.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEllis182
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice accommmodation with a fantastic bathroom”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in July as part of a 4 week tour around Western Canada. Unfortunately I ran out of time to complete the review on Airbnb, so I thought I'd post one on here. We really enjoyed our stay in the Tofino Tree House - our 7 year old daughter particularly loved sleeping in the 'loft' bedroom and climbing the steep stairs, which were almost like a ladder. The bathroom in this place is as amazing as it looks on the photo's - the bathtub is huge and you can open the doors fully so that it's almost like you're outside in the forest. Kaeli was really nice and gave us some suggestions on things to do while we were in Tofino. My only negative comment would be that the lighting is really poor, particularly around the stairs to the bedrooms, which are very steep - to be fair to Kaeli, I never got around to mentioning this while we were there, but I notice that the last reviewer made the same comment, so it's perhaps something that needs looking at. All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay here.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_on_va...
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice alternative”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Overall, the accommodation was nice. We had two children with us, aged 4 and 6, who LOVED the idea of staying in a "treehouse". They stayed in the upstairs loft which was exciting for them. The unit was very pleasing to the eye and had a neat design to it.

The outdoor deck was a great use of space with a fire pit, chairs, benches and a picnic table. Lots of space for the kids to run around and we enjoyed the peacefulness of the surroundings.

The beds were comfortable and the linens provided were sufficient.

We did have three different uninvited dogs visit our property at various points during our stay. Two larger dogs came and begged for food while we were around the fire and a smaller dog actually came into the house and sniffed around until we kicked him out. At one point, we heard the owners yelling at one of the dogs to "Go Home!" so we know that he didn't belong there but we're not sure who the other two belong to. We have animals at home so having them visit wasn't too much of a hassle but I can see it being an issue for those who do not like dogs.

I definitely recommend bringing flashlights with you to bed and/or leaving the stove light on at night. There are no safety lights in the house and no lights in the ladder stairwells (despite some light switches there that are not hooked up to anything) so when up in the middle of the night to use the washroom it is pitch black and you cannot see a thing. This was especially troublesome during our last night when the smoke alarm went off at 3:30am (don't know why) and we had to fumble about in the dark to get our bearings at first.

Internet service was advertised as being included but really, don't count on it. The service was really spotty and the owners pay by the GB so ask that you don't use it to stream anything. We ended up using our phones to connect which was more reliable.

Overall, this was a nice alternative when staying with a larger party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing