We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended Vancouver Panorama”

Harbour Air Seaplanes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come aboard for a scenic seaplane flight and experience an authentic west coast way of life. Out here, this is how we travel for work, for fun and sometimes just for the view! Join us for a tour or scheduled flight today and see BC the way we do. You've come all the way west, the only direction left to go is up!
Reviewed 2 December 2017

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourAirSeaplanes, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Air Seaplanes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea plane"
in 59 reviews
"minute flight"
in 46 reviews
"vancouver island"
in 75 reviews
"seaplane tour"
in 28 reviews
"earlier flight"
in 21 reviews
"victoria harbour"
in 21 reviews
"scenic flight"
in 18 reviews
"great flight"
in 21 reviews
"co pilot seat"
in 17 reviews
"complimentary coffee"
in 15 reviews
"extended tour"
in 10 reviews
"horseshoe bay"
in 27 reviews
"safety video"
in 13 reviews
"bc ferries"
in 10 reviews
"howe sound"
in 10 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 19 reviews
"butchart gardens"
in 19 reviews
Filter

169 - 173 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2017

If you've never flown in a seaplane, this is the best place to start. The terminal is immediately adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre West Building. With friendly staff, and a comfortable waiting area, check in is hassle-free. They sometimes have complimentary snacks; and there's also a limited selection of food for purchase while you wait.

Most of their planes are DHC-3 Turbine Single Otter aircraft seating about 14 people - two seats on one side and a single seat on the other side. Personal items/bags are stowed in back and returned to you on the pier upon arrival. I actually wish the pilot or boarding crew had given us a bit more information about the plane and the flight. The safety video viewed on an iPad seemed a bit impersonal for such a small group of passengers. I suppose the regular commuters on our flight wouldn't be interested in a tour presentation. We were actually taking the Vancouver-Victoria round trip with a whale watching cruise with Orca Spirit Adventures (reviewed separately) out of Victoria.

The water take-off and landing were remarkably smooth. And, once in the air, the views of the harbor and city are uniquely stunning. Our flight remained relatively low at about 1000 feet, offering a mesmerizing perspective of the islands and waterways below. We even spotted whales on the return flight from Victoria! Note that you do need to reserve your flight times in advance. But, when we showed up a bit early for the return flight, they seemed happy to move us to an earlier flight with available seats.

The only drawback to this float plane ride is the noisy cabin and the smell of fuel while not in the air. On the other hand, Harbour Air offsets 100% of their carbon emissions. From the company's environmental approach to the pleasant customer service, this is such a different experience from flying standard commercial airlines. It's certainly worth a go at least once in a lifetime!!

2  Thank JDBonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourAirSeaplanes, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Air Seaplanes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear JDBonthemove,

Thank you very much for your thorough five-star review! We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed the experience of flying in a seaplane on your trip to and from Victoria. We are very proud to be celebrating 10 years since we became North America's first carbon neutral airline.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the lack of commentary. Due to the high volume of traffic in and around the harbours, our pilots are constantly in contact with Air Traffic Control which does not allow for them to provide a commentary throughout the flight to all the passengers. We have recently introduced our new FlyGuide Flight Companions on our most popular Vancouver tours! FlyGuide is a handheld multimedia device which offers customized audio commentary, photos, and maps in five different languages. For those guests interested in an enhanced seaplane experience with narration, we now recommend renting a FlyGuide device for an introductory fee of $10 plus tax.

As you mentioned, we do recommend advance reservations, especially for a day trip to go whale watching as the boats depart at specific time. It sounds like you were extra lucky on your flight back to be able to spot whale from the air - very cool! Again we're very glad to hear you enjoyed the stunning views and took note of our team's pleasant customer service.

We hope to welcome you aboard again one day!

-Harbour Air TripAdvisor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourAirSeaplanes, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Air Seaplanes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

First time flying on a float plane. Took the Nanaimo to Vancouver flight. The trip was fast and smooth.

Thank WestCoastBrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourAirSeaplanes, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Air Seaplanes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear WestCoastBrando,

Thank you for your honest and efficient five-star review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your first seaplane experience and hope we can welcome you aboard again soon.

-Harbour Air TripAdvisor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Certain things you do for a vacation that are the keynotes. For us, this was it for our Vancouver weekend. Everyone from check to the pilot are SUPER friendly. The sight seeing was awesome. What a beautiful city this is, and what a great way to see it. If your on the fence about doing this, get off the fence and go!

Thank rustmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourAirSeaplanes, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Air Seaplanes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear rustmire,

We love your "get off the fence and go" attitude! We hear from many guests that flying by seaplane is a bucket list experience and we definitely agree everyone should try it. The views of coastal BC are absolutely stunning from a bird's eye point of view! We really appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff, we're very proud of their exceptional customer service!

Thank you so much for your five-star review!

-Harbour Air TripAdvisor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbour Air Seaplanes also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Harbour Air Seaplanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing