We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Old Hotel in a Very Good Location”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel primarily because of its location. We had never stayed there before but most reviews were positive so we made a reservation. We arrived in the middle of a huge winter rain storm (Vancouver) and pulled ourselves in all soaking wet, cold and miserable. Staff were friendly and helpful. The first thing we noticed was that our room was already warm and it felt really good to get in, thaw out and change our clothes. Our room wasn't huge, but we had a king sized bed and a decent sized TV. When it was time for dinner, there was a good selection of decent restaurants within easy walking distance. We went to the Rogue, which was a great beer/food experience, but that's for another review. On the downside, parking was a challenge and we thought the price of our room was a bit high, but you're paying for location.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your detailed review William. I'm glad to hear you weathered the storm, Your description of getting warmed up made me want to wrap a duvet around myself. We look forward to seeing you again-bring some sunshine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018

Really nice older hotel within walking distance to Gastown district. Rooms were comfortable. Wooden floors added to the charm. We had a room with a private bath, which was very comfortable. Some rooms share a common bath. Breakfast was good, but the eating area was very small and we had to take our food out to the lobby and balance on our laps. Staff was very friendly and stored our luggage until the room was ready and the next day before we left in late afternoon. A hostel is across the street and is unwelcoming looking. The hotel manager has tried to have something done with it, to no avail. Just walk on the other side of the street. A little pricey. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the hostel. It's gross looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kivec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thanks for the comments Kivec, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, notwithstanding my inability to blow up our neighbours shoddy facade. The area is really changing and I can't believe that hostel is long for this world. It does however, house one of the city's favorite coffee shops and a Jimi Hendrix memorial shrine, so it does have some value beyond aesthetics.
We hope to see you again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

After seeing the Victorian under renovation several years ago I wanted to stay here on a future visit. This time there was an available room suggesting that it has been well received by guests.
The staff was cheerful and communicative, updating me as to when my room would be ready after arriving early on a very rainy day. Upon entering, I could sense that the old world charm had been very much retained.
My room was clean and comfortable, shared bathroom extra well appointed and clean. Nice conveniences like USB connection in wall outlet and a great shower made the experience more positive.
On my 2nd night, I had a larger room with ensuite bathroom.
I’ll be back, location so convenient to train station, Sea-Bus, Canada Place and Gastown as well as Steamworks brew-pub.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sailorboy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

It's wonderful that you finally sailed into our hotel. Thanks so much for your delightful review and we can't wait to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We so enjoyed our stay here. Apparently it is the longest operating hotel in Vancouver and it had the floor creaks and character to prove it. Our room was lovely as well as very clean. The breakfast was great and it was a great opportunity to meet other travelers. The staff was very nice and also quite helpful with directions and information. The location is excellent, a very short walk to gastown, Jack Poole Plaza and the train/transit station.We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so be prepared to carry your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

It was an absolute pleasure having you with us Sharon, thank you for your kind words and we certainly look forward to your next visit. Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Lucked out and got a reservation over the holidays. What a great place. The room was lovely, with lots of character touches, and the price was a good value.
Our king size bed with private bath was very clean and had loads of charm.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LolaMarie2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

We were lucky to have you. Thank you so very much LolaMarie, we can't wait to see you again, happy holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
433 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
1,903 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#54 of 92 in Vancouver
899 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: RM 323 - RM 1,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing