We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Worthy shopping spot

Rather large mall with lots of options for luxury item shopping, including the largest Nordstroms I... read more

Reviewed 19 May 2022
AlexSico17
,
Calgary, Canada
via mobile
A Welcome Wet Weather Favourite

Vancouver gets lots of rain. And when it rains, the locals tend to stay inside, and shopping... read more

Reviewed 29 October 2021
Chris D
,
New Westminster, Canada
Read all 260 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Vancouver
from US$95.76
More Info
from US$22.53
More Info
from US$173.19
More Info
from US$122.29
More Info
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
63
120
70
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
120
70
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2019

A nice little mall in the center of downtown Vancouver. They have most all of the trending clothing stores, a food court, and more.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Pitt-Duq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 June 2019

This is a shopping mall downtown, a place to buy some stuff, nothing special, just stores. No special trip here needed.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 June 2019 via mobile

We were staying at the four seasons and wandered around the shopping centre.
A couple of the escalators weren't working but walking is fine for me.
Friendly guest services staff when I asked them for directions.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 June 2019

It’s definitely the biggest and best downtown mall in Vancouver, with lots of fashion shops, department stores, food places and other shops. It has a Sky Train stop right next to it (Canada Line). It is pricey but worth a walk through.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank BigMerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 May 2019

Ah, the Pacific Centre! Opened in 1971, this mall is recognized as the largest in downtown Vancouver, containing over 100 stores and shops. In its near 50-years of existence, the Pacific Centre has, in many ways, reflected the city of Vancouver itself. When the mall first opened, and probably up until about the late 1990s, it seemed much more like an “every day” kind of mall – you know, the kind where everyday folks like you and me could go and shop. Vancouver was like that as well for much its history; it wasn’t always super high end and expensive. One fellow I know, who bought his house in the 1960s, lamented how much the city had changed. Nowadays, you practically have to clear seven figures to live comfortably in the city. Much the same can and should be said of the Pacific Centre.

I first remember visiting the Pacific Centre in the late 1980s with the family. Many an hour and day was spent at Eaton’s department store buying gifts for special occasions and everyday use because, well, unlike the store that occupies this space today (Nordstrom), things were quite affordable at Eaton’s. After Eaton’s shut its doors permanently at the start of the new millennium, the flagship space was taken over by Sears until 2012. When Sears closed it was a pretty big blow to the family – and especially the grandparents – because this Sears was in a central location and easy to access whenever visiting Vancouver. But I suppose, by then, that department store’s days were numbered as it was completely surrounded in the Pacific Centre by high end, expensive stores. An “every day” department store like Sears would certainly look and feel quite out of place in that context. It was still quite sad, though, to see the building gutted starting in late 2013 to make way for the “new” and high end.

That’s why I say the Pacific Centre reflects the character of Vancouver. Since the late 1990s, this mall has undergone many a transformation. Much of that change has resulted in the mall becoming home to mostly high end shops like Coach, Nordstrom, Holt Renfrew, Harry Rosen and Michael Kors. Thus, even though I pass through this mall regularly, I rarely purchase anything – maybe some Purdy’s chocolates here and there – because it’s just so darn expensive . . . like the city. I think an earlier reviewer put it best when they said that Pacific Centre is “best described as very, very high end.” It’s just become oh so very snooty.

In one sense, the extreme high-ended nature of this mall is kind of ironic given its food court. As others have pointed out, the offerings here are actually surprisingly standard and even a little pedestrian: A&W, NYF, DQ, Flaming Wok (allegedly one of the worst eateries in Vancouver according to review sites like this), Edo, Taco Time and Vina, amongst a few others. Sure, in a recent update, the mall has attempted to give these fast food outlets the appearance of high end by placing steel nameplates beside each, but that’s only superficial . . . like a lot in this mall. Regardless, the food court is usually my reason for coming here and that’s just because it’s convenient when in town for work.

What this mall really has going for it, in my view, is its central location. It is quite literally in the heart of downtown and is therefore well connected. Pacific Centre is directly connected to HBC, multiple transit bus routes, Expo Line, Canada Line, the Four Seasons and is within walking distance of various other points of interest like the Bill Reid Gallery, Vancouver Art Gallery, Gas Town and waterfront area. Easy access means a lot of people . . . which is good for the mall.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank PookyCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews