We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
11
28
52
34
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
28
52
34
54
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The hostel was not the best when it comes to the quality of the dorms and washrooms, however there is a free breakfast or $3.50 discount on breakfast menus, and the location is really good only a 5 minute walk from Waterfront Station, which can take you almost anywhere and also very close to Canada Place with a great view of the harbour and free shuttles to Capilano Suspension Bridge.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hello Jakob,

Thank you for taking the time to review us!
We're always keen to listen to our guest's suggestions and we're glad to hear our location was convenient during your stay with us in Vancouver.

We hope to have you back!

Regards,
The Cambie Hostel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The personal at desk front are so grumpy they kik out us after paid 3 nights we want to xtend and they kik us out

Never in my life return ti this ugly and dirty holtel and stincky

The instalations washrooms so dirty and smells like the bar downstairs

I don't recomend this hostel just because is to closed downtown

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our hostel always welcomes guest feedback so we know how we can improve our service and facilities. We always want our guests to stay as long as they like at the Cambie but we can often book up many days in advance, especially on popular weekend nights. Of course you would have been more than welcome to extend if we had the space available for extensions, and we are sorry for any inconvenience this might have caused to your travel plans.

We apologize for your experience of our facilities not being thoroughly clean during your stay but we will pass on your feedback to housekeeping. Thanks for staying with us while you were passing through Vancouver and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Thanks,
Cambie Hostels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Has a kitchen but couldn't find much to cook with. It has a small area to eat and a small area to sit and watch tv. Downstairs is a large bar scene.
Just make sure you don't arrive to early in the morning as they don't accept people in unless you paid for the night before.
Beds are not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Hello Corey,

Thank you for taking the time to review us!
We're always keen to listen to our guests suggestions. We will make sure that there is enough cooking gear for all our guests in the future.

Regards,
The Cambie Hostel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Cambie is located right in the centre of gastown, which is a great place to stay if you want good food, great beer and a lively nightlife. Other shopping areas and Stanley park are also within walking distance.
The hostel itself was average, nothing special but a good place to stay for a couple of nights. The bar downstairs was really lively and always seemed to have something going on.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tkitching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in July. It's okay.
The place was clean but it smells like urine in the corridors!
Room was clean and comfortable. The showers aren't great - there were only two in the bathroom on our floor and they're not very private- the screens are almost see through and there's no area to get changed so you just have to go to the bathrooms in you're towels.
However, the bar downstairs is good and you get a free muffin and coffee in the mornings.
It's also in a good location. Just don't wander down East Hastings St!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MantonKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Hello Guest,

Thank you for your review, we have given this feedback to the housekeeping and maintenance teams so that we can improve our overall facilities. We are planning extensive renovations of the hostel soon and will include your feedback in our repairs.

I'm glad you enjoyed the bar downstairs, most of our guests enjoy having a bar downstairs with a great atmosphere where they can hang out with other travelers.

We hope to see you again at the Cambie soon!,
Cambie Hostel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews