We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Ocean River Sports

Ocean River Sports
Book In Advance
More Info
US$150.48*
and up
Discovery Island Kayak Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come enjoy the ultimate Victoria Kayaking Experience with Ocean River Adventures. Located in Victoria’s Inner Harbour kayaking is a great way to explore our historic city. Join us on one of our Urban Kayak tours or Sunset Tour. We also offer an Oak Bay Shoreline Kayaking Tour as well as our unique Discovery Island Kayak or Nature Hiking Tour. Offering expeditions, tours and courses throughout the Vancouver Island region, our guests will experience all the wild West Coast has to offer. Hands-on education about water and marine conservation is a key theme and we only employ certified guides that respect sensitive ecosystems and species while teaching about the importance of ocean sustainability, preservation and conservation. Victoria’s premier paddling and outdoor adventure company. Want to try something different? We are also a premium stand up paddle tour operator in the southern Vancouver Island and Victoria region.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Took a 3 hour introduction to basic kayaking skills from Mark at Ocean River Sports and it was excellent. The program evolves a step by step process that fast tracks a subtle understanding of technique and control. Not only was it helpful but it was enjoyable. All in all I would recommend this to anyone who is wanting to get into the sport.

Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean River A, Public Relations Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Shirley, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the course and learned a lot. Hope to see you out on the water soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"discovery island"
in 98 reviews
"kayak tour"
in 53 reviews
"oak bay"
in 50 reviews
"paddle boarding"
in 16 reviews
"kayaking skills"
in 8 reviews
"lone wolf"
in 6 reviews
"full day tour"
in 5 reviews
"short hike"
in 4 reviews
"experienced kayakers"
in 6 reviews
"day trip"
in 15 reviews
"excellent guide"
in 6 reviews
"saw seals"
in 11 reviews
"sea birds"
in 8 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 13 reviews
"perfect weather"
in 6 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 9 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 10 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

My wife and I had a day to spare in Victoria and went with Ocean River for a inner/outer harbour tour. They were very professional and safe and did an outstanding job. I would definitly use them again.

Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaniebrown1990, Public Relations Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Terry, thank you so much for the review. We are very happy to hear you had a great experience out on the water with our team exploring the beautiful Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My pal Colin and I were on holiday with our wives, we were keen to kayak in Victoria but disappointed to learn that the season was really over. However under recommendation we made a personal approach to Ocean River at the store and we delighted when Lee Phillips , one of the experienced instructors/ guides kindly agreed to take Colin and me out the following morning for 3hrs of excellent kayaking, with a lot of informative chat and fun at the same time. We managed to kayak up to the gorge and then out to the edge of the sea at the harbour mouth , nearly 6 miles in total,on a beautiful sunny day.
We can`t thank the folks at Ocean River enough- everything was first class, thoroughly recommend them

Thank reidslarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean River A, Public Relations Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We are so happy to hear you were able to get out an enjoy what Victoria has to offer! It truly is a magical place and although we have very mild weather year round the ocean still takes a rapid turn in the fall/winter months that makes it difficult to offer tours regularly so it is wonderful that we were able to get you out there.
See you on the water soon.

-Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We had a really lovely learning experience with Janette Galan. She patiently taught us a lot of skills in terms of paddling and control. Yes, there was repeated dunking so that you can learn how to do rescues, but although the lake was cold, Janine helped us to appreciate that we have to take responsibility for our own safety, and taught us what to do. I got a lot out of this course and really enjoyed my time.

Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean River A, Public Relations Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

John, thank you for taking the time to leave a review we really appreciate it.
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time learning some new skills - even if it was a little cold and soggy. Better to be cold and wet with a guide around while learning skills than to be cold and wet alone trying to learn how to get back in your boat.
We hope to see you out on the water soon!

-Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We organized group activities for a client who was hosting their annual conference in Victoria. Ocean River Sports was excellent to work with! They are truly professional and experienced on the water! The equipment is top notch and their guides are all wonderful and experienced. We would not hesitate to recommend Ocean River Sports for business or pleasure! Lewis & Sears Marketing and Event Management

Thank wendysears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean River A, Public Relations Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Wendy, thank you for your review! We were very excited to get out on the water with your team and get you all paddling together and working together in a completely new way. Working with corporate groups is a passion of ours and it is extremely rewarding to see people shed the structure of the office and get out there on the water to see their coworkers in a completely new light.

-Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean River Sports also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ocean River Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing