We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent service in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We decided on the Magnolia Hotel for a weekend in Victoria after reading the TripAdvisor reviews.

The key thing that stood out during our stay was the service ethos. Every interaction with hotel staff was positive, including front desk staff, continental breakfast service, cleaning personnel, and the valet.

We stayed in a corner signature room which was plenty roomy, despite the rollaway bed for our daughter, with views of the Empress and BC Legislature building. The room was very clean and included both a shower and bathtub. The continental breakfast was excellent.

The hotel's in a great location, within walking distance to all the Inner Harbour attractions.

My only issue with the hotel was its spotty/slow WiFi. There was an Ethernet connection in the room, but that didn't help with non-Ethernet devices (e.g., iPhone and iPad). It was nice that they had computers with free printing in the business center.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewBhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,051
    380
    65
    18
    6
See reviews for
414
1,297
114
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Had a great stay in January 2012! The location is great...convenient walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops. Also an easy walk to the waterfront and parliament buildings. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfishnewfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We were in Victoria last week for the film festival and stayed at the Magnolia. We couldn't have been happier. The location was perfect, just behind the Empress, but closer to shopping and theatres. We were able to walk everywhere. The view from our room was of the harbour and the parliament buildings. More like a junior suite - included loveseat and comfy chairs. Lots of windows. Super deluxe bathroom with separate shower stall - lots of water pressure. The service was attentive and friendly. The complimentary hot spiced juice in the lobby was a treat, as was the free continental breakfast (the oatmeal and waffles were delicious). We didn't have a chance to try the spa or restaurant (too busy going to films), but will try them next time. Certainly would go back.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are the best and even though we booked on PriceLine at a discount, we got one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DianaHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Ms. Haynes,

Thank you ever so much for the kind words and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of our entire team we are thrilled you enjoyed the corner room, the view and our service.

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please contact me at gm@magnoliahotel.com

We hope to see you back soon!

Yours Truly,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa,
Victoria's Luxury Spa Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoodsport, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We were planning a short get away to Victoria and read excellent reviews about Magnolia Hotel and decided to stay there. VERY GLAD we did. The staff went our of their way to provide excellent services from the front desk, valet service, maid service, breakfast and dinner servers. If you had any questions on where to go, places to eat they had the answers. We are involved in tourism ourselves and found the service excellent. In addition this was our first trip to Victoria and would highly recommend it to anyone. Great city with great people. Can not wait to return with our family. The restaurant "The Prime" at the hotel was way above average. We ate there 3 times and it was very excellent.

Room Tip: We did have a little noise in room 704 from the roof but it was not over powering. Could not commen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

It's amazing the customer service we have received from this hotel even though our stay isn't till April. The quick responses and peronal guestfolio offered say a lot about their values. We look forward to enjoying our anniversary in April 2012 and meeting the wonderful staff.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price range (per night): RM825 - RM1,426
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing