We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic ”

John's Place Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 1,262 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: We opened in 1984 and have been serving REAL FOOD at REAL PRICES ever since. We are a full service comfort diner serving breakfast and lunch.
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Wonder why there is always a queue here on the weekend? It’s because John’s Place is a classic Victoria hangout. I’ve been going there since they first opened, and it was my teenage hangout. Their food has always been amazing, the servers have been loyal and fun forever, and the atmosphere is just “Home.” They have the best GF waffles, a huge breakfast menu, and decent prices. I hope they never change. Love you, John’s Place!

1  Thank Thejourneygenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at John’s place. Food was great. Service was wonderful. We brought our 4 year old and 7 year old and they loved everything as well. Great kid dishes. The only thing I wish we had done was make a reservation. We unfortunately did not and had to wait about 20 minutes for a table. Will definitely return!

Thank cbberglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We ended up looking for the best place to have brunch in Victoria and we found it!! However we had to wait for a good 25 minutes, but once we were seated things moved quickly and the food was delicious. definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for something of the beaten path with lots of character!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank brownsbayresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at John's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

I appreciate your comments. After 34 years we have tried to provide comfort food at a reasonable price. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

We just could not go without telling people how fantastic John’s was. Service, menu, food, fun, ambiance, and parting gift all exceptional. We will be back and we will tell everyone to visit John’s when in Victoria. A MUST do when you want to have a great breakfast or lunch. Please do not miss out on this wonderful find in our great capital city.

1  Thank SchoonerLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at John's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you so much. The staff take a lot of pride serving you and making your visit a happy one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We came during "Victoria Dine Around Town" where we could order a 3 course meal for $20. Since it is a diner, we weren't expecting much but lo' and behold: the confit duck and tournedo beef medallion dishes were great! Family-sized portions, tasty sides and a lovely small dessert to polish it off. There are kids' meals too for under $6-7 and we sat in a booth that was surrounded by photos of happier times: signed photo of the Seinfeld gang, the Leafs in '67 and other sports teams, posters of U2, Spice Girls, etc. Service was attentive. If you want comfort cooking and fond memories without hurting your wallet, this is the place to be!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Canucksontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at John's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you so much. After 34 years I have tried so hard to keep prices in line and I’m happy you enjoyed yourselves.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Place Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to John's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing