We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cozy place in downtown Victoria”
Review of OLO Restaurant

OLO Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
OLO Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,310 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$29
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Relationships are forged over food at OLO - whether its friends and family enjoying a boat-to-table brunch or Executive Chef & Owner Brad Holmes finding farm-fresh ingredients from hard-working neighbours. Delicious food, laughter and good conversation are always on the menu. 'Olo' means 'hungry' in Chinook Jargon, a derivative language of English, French, Chinese and Chinook, and just like the Pacific Northwest was once a gathering place for traders, OLO is where the community comes together when hungry for more than just a meal. Serving up fresh local produce, Chef Brad is part of the Slow Food Chefs Alliance and switches up the sustainable menus depending on what's coming through the kitchen doors every day. Each dish celebrates life in B.C., using only the best ingredients available and working with amazing farmers, fishermen and foragers to provide an experience that captures the essence of Vancouver Island. Handcrafted seasonal cocktails showcase the best of Vancouver Island products and the bar program highlights the region's bounties with an impressive selection of B.C. distilleries, breweries and rare Canadian whiskeys. The thoughtfully curated wine list focuses on small-batch producers that showcase the Okanagan and Vancouver Island's best wineries, alongside premium international selections.
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

The quantity is not high, which meets my criteria for fine dining.
Quality of food is reasonable.
Has wine or beer pairing.
The menu is simple, only includes appetizer, main and desert. If can add one or two courses, it would be better for wine pairing.
Public parking cross the street.
The place is not large, better to reserve, especially in the weekend.
Recommended.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Navigate802757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2018

We heard the hype on OLO so we thought we have to give it a try. They're usually very busy so we did make a reservation, which was a good idea as the space is small and packed.

The service was warm and attentive. The menu uses local ingredients, which is very commendable, but the prices are very high for the portion served. Presentation is delightful!
The taste, although acceptably "good", was underwhelming for what one may expect at the price point and venue along with the marketing hype.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Chau T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

We finally made it to Olo’s during Victoria’s dine around OMG!!! Hands down the best meal I have EVER eaten in my home town. We had the pork belly appy and lingcod cheeks for the main. Foodie heaven. The wine pairings were superb and I am such a wine snob Can’t wait to go back.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

My partner and I had the vegan tasting menu while our son and his friend had the fish and meat version. Both were excellent. We have been there twice and found the staff helpful and friendly.
The only negative is that if someone wants the tasting menu everyone at the table has to have a tasting menu. On our first visit one member of our party doesn't eat fish and he got stuck with a tasting menu that included two fish courses.
We will definitely be back and make sure our gueats know the rules.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Lowell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

A lovely small restaurant with open ambience. A short menu, with a tasting menu option too. Starter salads were good, although a touch plain - some extra flavouring would have been helpful in what otherwise was almost a palate cleanser. The main was very good, with the combination of flavours well done and presentation good, just short of busy. Great dessert. A good wine list with a surprising breadth in spite of the relatively short length. Good supply of wines by the glass. The staff were very happy to hear of our feedback during the meal. This is a good find for Victoria and much better than the usual troupe of recommended 'best' restaurants, but you will have to be prepared to have something a little out of the ordinary for Vancouver Island (which isn't difficult to do). Relax and enjoy something a little different.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dunatov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OLO Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to OLO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing