We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Helen Mirren where a hotel...”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If Helen Mirren where a hotel...”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

She'd be the Fort Garry. Beautiful, elegant, a national treasure, but showing her age :) The rooms are quaint and lovely, but the curtains are faded, and the wallpaper is peeling a bit. Also, the bathrooms in standard rooms were subjected to an unfortunate reno in (probably) the late 80's, so they're full of melamine and patterned tiles.

The BEDS! Oh Lord. The Tempurpedic mattresses are divine, and the linens are out of this world. Best hotel bed I've ever slept in.

The lobby and ballrooms are gorgeous as ever, marble and crystal abound.

Room Tip: Spring for Junior or King Suite. Much bigger, gorgeous bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    339
    139
    68
    43
See reviews for
165
358
83
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A few years ago, my husband and I stayed at the Fort Garry Hotel for our wedding anniversary. He bought a package: room for Saturday night which included the wonderful Sunday brunch we had heard so much about. Everything was perfect except for one thing: our room was down the hall from a service entry and it seemed that throughout the night, we could hear the doors swinging (was it the infamous Fort Garry ghosts playing games, I wonder?!!). I commented on this when we were checking out the next morning. Well, immediately the manager on duty gave us a voucher for ANOTHER Saturday night stay & brunch, which had to be used within the year. Fantastic. Well, my husband is in the military and was deployed overseas so we were unable to use the voucher within the time period. I called the Fort Garry one day as the voucher was about to expire and asked if we could get an extension, stating the reason why. No problem - they extended it and we used it before we had to move from Winnipeg. We travel a lot and have stayed in many hotels over the years. This place stands out in my mind and not just because of the lovely rooms and food served at that Sunday brunch - it is memorable because of the staff. Well done, Fort Garry Hotel! This review is late but better late than never. I hope to have the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Attended a wedding here recently and stayed at the Fort Garry for convenience. I found both the banquet hall and the rooms quite dated. The property does have a historic look and central location and if that's what you are attracted to then you will be pleased. I prefer more modern elegance myself and was quite disappointed with hotel in general. I do have to say that the Sunday Brunch was unbelievable. So if you are staying for the weekend, don't miss that!

Room Tip: A better downtown or central hotel choice might be the Humphreys. If you don't mind driving, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 220pinkflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esterhazy, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I love this hotel. I've been traveling in and out of Winnipeg for 15 years now and this is my favorite place to stay. The rooms are a little tired but I find that with older hotels. The rooms are very cozy. The beds are very comfortable. The character of the hotel is second to none. The staff are always helpful and welcoming.

Usually breakfast is included with the room and it is awesome! There is a chef making almost whatever you want and lots of fruit and pastries. Brunch on Sunday is not to be missed. The entire foyer is filled with food and the desserts are to die for. If they have the white chocolate and lime truffles you should definately try them. The Palm room is a great place to have a drink or lunch.

It's a great location downtown and only a short walk to get into the catwalk system so even on the coldest days you can be mostly inside.

My sister, mother and I often go to the Ten Spa which is so wonderful. The pedicures are a must.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2012

What a fantastic weekend we had at the Fort Garry Hotel. We enjoyed the large room with two bathrooms. (My only complaint would be that the lighting was not well thought out for reading in bed or putting on makeup.) The Palm Court serves the best pot roast we've ever had - ever - and yet there were really good vegetarian options for our vegan daughter. While the hotel itself is perhaps slightly tired (but very comfortable) the spa, which seems to take up the whole top floor of the hotel, is absolutely top notch. It is fresh, smart and luxurious. We had a Hammam that was so divine we were still blissed out the next day. We capped our stay with the sumptuous Sunday brunch. Wow

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Property: Fort Garry Hotel
Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price range (per night): RM468 - RM1,070
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy 24-hr delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing