We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere. Needs an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Moncton
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We stayed in this hotel for one night on a recent trip to Moncton. We had never stayed here before but the price and location was right. Next time I will pay the extra for somewhere else.

To start, I booked Government rate. I never have a problem with this anywhere else. Upon checkin I realized that I had forgotten my ID so I informed them which department of the government I worker for. I get it, I could be lying. Thankfully my mother had her Military ID to back up the rate.

Next, no elevator. I did not realize this when I booked it. We had a room on the second floor. The stairwell was extremely dirty looking and my mother slipped on a stair going up.

Our room was okay. Nothing wonderful. Bed was hard and the room appeared outdated. I went to get ice and my mother found several hairs on the sheets of her bed. We tried to call the front desk but received no response. Awhile later we went to the front desk to advise of this and no one was around.

The ground floor hallway of the hotel reeked of marijuana. I held my breath going for ice.

That night I turned on the air conditioner/fan. It produced an awful, almost dead animal smell in my room for 20min. I tried several times to turn it off with no luck. Even in the morning we could not turn it off so our room was freezing.

The shower has no water pressure and it took a long time to heat up.

I know, sounds like all complaints. Well, the breakfast was okay. Not a lot of room and the eggs looked like plastic ones children would play with but if you want toast or a waffle, you are fine.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kagcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill. We appreciate all feedback, whether negative or positive.

It is hotel policy to ask for government or corporate identification at check-in to verify the discount that is being applied to the rate for a room. We are also sorry to hear that your mother tripped on a stairs on the way to your room. If you had notified us at check in of your concerns with the stairs, we would have tried to accommodate a room type change. Subject to availability, we are able to move a guest from an upstairs room to a ground floor room for a small difference in price.

Reading your review is a disappointment to our team and we hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations (as well as our own). All feedback is taken into consideration so that we may improve on the services we provide. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may provide you with a more enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,

Heidi Johnston
General Manager
506-384-3175

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent facility. Very clean and staff are helpful and courteous. Easy to find and convenient to the Casino. Plenty of towels and staff was more than willing to provide more. As the facility is close to the trans Canada it was easy to determine traffic conditions.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

The Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill appreciates you taking the time to review our property and are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We take such great pride in this.

We do hope you will stay with us again in the future so that we may provide you with more excellent service.

Regards,

Heidi Johnston
General Manager
The Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The room was small (especially when on a long vacation with lots of luggage) but clean. The inn is set back from the highway so is fairly quiet. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good (waffles, eggs, sausages, etc.) when you went early. It ran out of some things later so go early. Close by there were mainly fast food places.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Craig Y,

Thank you for leaving a review on your recent stay with us. We do appreciate all feedback and comments from our guests. Hope to see you again on your next trip to Moncton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

It was very nice, very clean and very well maintained, plus the beds and pillows were comfy..... Being pet friendly is the best part since a lot of places in the area are not..The front desk clerk was nice and helpful..

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ajc7785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Many thanks for such a great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We hope that we will see you again on your next visit to Moncton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We weren't thrilled with our stay. On the plus side our room was quiet given that it was near the front desk. The front desk staff was also friendly and welcoming. The room appeared clean although there was a strange doggie odor...not sure if it was from the carpet or the air conditioning unit. The room had supposedly been modified for someone with disabilities but the bathtub was so slippery it was hard to stay upright...thankful for the handrails! The breakfast area is very small and cramped so we didn't even try to get a seat...just took cereal and juice back to our room. It wasn't until we stayed the following night in a Comfort Inn at Levis Quebec that we realized how much difference there could be between locations. The Levis location was not only 35.00 a night cheaper it was fresh smelling, more comfortable bed, pillows and no slippery tub...tub had non slip dots embossed on the bottom.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Based on your feedback it appears that we are doing some things well and we noted the other areas you feel need improvement. We have notified our housekeeping department to follow up on the unpleasant odor in that guest room. Just so you are aware we do provide a non-slip bathmat in every bathroom in the hotel.
We always appreciate guests who take the time to provide us with feedback on their stay, these comments are invaluable to us.
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill and we do hope you will give us another try on your next trip to Moncton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moncton hotels
0.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
#12 of 30 in Moncton
638 reviews
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Moncton
0.1 km away
Travelodge Suites Moncton
Travelodge Suites Moncton
#16 of 30 in Moncton
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Amsterdam Inn & Suites Moncton
9.2 km away
Rodd Moncton Hotel
Rodd Moncton Hotel
#8 of 30 in Moncton
640 reviews
9.2 km away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#14 of 30 in Moncton
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill

Address: 2495 Mountain Rd, Moncton, New Brunswick E1G 2W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Moncton
Price Range: RM319 - RM507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Moncton Magnetic Hill has a newly renovated lobby area, all bedrooms including carpet, vinyl, drapes, bedding, 32inch LCD flat screen TVs & new vanity and tile in the bathrooms. Relax in our new breakfast room & enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. This hotel is 100% Smoke Free. Conveniently located across from Casino New Brunswick & close to Magic Mountain, Magnetic Hill Zoo, Moncton Coliseum, golfing and numerous shopping locations. All rooms have fridges & microwaves. Tired of travelling alone? Bring your four legged buddy free of charge as pets are always welcome at the Comfort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill Hotel Moncton
Comfort Inn Moncton
Moncton Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill Moncton, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing