We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming along...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corner Brook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strawberry Hill Inn & Chalets
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corner Brook
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Expectations: this is a manor house built in the 1950s by a local industrialist...as such it is a real "inn" with 6-bedrooms + ensuite in the main (manor) house. There are obvious improvements in the rooms (good quality, big screen TVs, good mattresses, WIFI) yet obvious minuses (no plugs in the bathrooms, no chairs in the 4 smaller rooms, limited lighting in the 2 bigger suites). The property includes 7 other chalet-like options which I cannot comment on other than to say that a list of available amenities in them (e.g., hairblower) was missing from staff information (when asked). The staff are kind-hearted and would do anything for you. However, some seem a bit inexperienced and this may just be a function of adequate training. Regardless, there are a few of items I would like to draw management's attention to: try to hire a chef vs. a cook (meals are definitely more substandard than they should be), lose the Chevy van in the field (it just makes the property look shabby when there has been a good attempt at the gardens to make it less so), tack the screens down so there are no nighttime invaders and, as a welcoming gesture, grade the road coming into the property or at least fill in potholes. Finally, I would not discourage anyone from staying here--it is clean, the staff are wonderful and breakfast is good. Just be sure that your expectations are not for a 5-star property.

Room Tip: The George Bowater and QE II rooms are the largest and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Centre_of_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I were returning from a vacation and had planned on driving across the island that day, but weary legs and tired bodies prevailed. We did not have a reservation and were please tilt surprised by our stay and pleasant customer service . The co do was way to big for two people and it would have been a great place for 3 couples or a family . We walked down by the Humber River and it was very close to Tim Hortons, Marble and dining in Corner Brook . would no hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outdoor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Our friends and I booked a chalet ( 2 couples) for a night away as we were visiting family on the west coast and we were disappointed from the moment we arrived. I cannot speak of the quality of the rooms in the actual house as we stayed in a chalet. Upon arrival we were told the hot tub was not working and we were all disappointed as this was our reason for choosing this resort. We were told we had to ask for this in advance so they could make it operational. No one told us this upon booking and the website clearly states hot tub!! After seeing the hot tub and location I'm rather happy it wasn't working as it looked gross to say the least!!! After arriving at our chalet we thought it was alright but in desperate need of some updating. I would love to know who owns this place and charges $299 a night....what a ripoff!! The outside patio furniture was falling apart, rusted and the cheapest you can get. We made the best of it and started our BBQ. When my husband put the steak on, it was still pure raw 30 mins later. We went to the front and was told the BBQ didn't work and we had to go to the main house and use theirs. To summarize do not stay here and waste your money! The grounds are beautiful but the chalets are garbage!! Shame on the owners for not maintaining this place as it could be a beautiful stay if they spent a few $ and updated the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JMA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I think that someone that has a bad comment about this place,are very spoiled!!! My stay at this place was Heaven!! Staff couldn't be more caring and the food was awesome.Had my wedding there,and it was all decorated beautifully.As for young staff there,i think they done a beautiful job!!Well done girls!!I recemend this place to anyone and to anyone that would be thinking about having a wedding there!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed for a week in the mansion house and cannot praise the staff enough. Viola, Martina and Tina made us feel so welcome that we left as friends. On our first evening Viola asked us to treat the place as our home and that is just what we did. We wanted for nothing and were extremely comfortable. The house sits in beautiful grounds adjoining the Humber River with a well-appointed terrace where we sat enjoying pre-dinner drinks most evenings. The rooms are spacious and clean with plenty of towels which were changed daily. Would return without hesitation.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stonier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corner Brook
17.5 km away
Glynmill Inn
Glynmill Inn
#1 of 6 in Corner Brook
260 reviews
16.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Corner Brook
75 reviews
17.6 km away
Greenwood Inn & Suites
Greenwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Corner Brook
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
27.9 km away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
72 reviews
9.6 km away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Hill Inn & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill Inn & Chalets

Address: 1 Strawberry Lane | Little Rapids, Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 2N2, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Corner Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corner Brook
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strawberry Hill is a luxurious retreat property located equidistant from the Deer Lake Airport and the City of Corner Brook in Newfoundland’s beautiful Humber Valley. The property was originally developed by the British papermaking industrialist, Sir Eric Bowater as a corporate retreat for visiting dignitaries. Included among the long list of distinguished guests have been Lord Alexander, Prime Minister Trudeau, Prince Edward, Prince Phillip and on two separate occasions, Her Majesty, The Queen of England. Come to Strawberry Hill and indulge your sense of adventure. Settled in the beautiful mountains of the Humber Valley an abundance of outdoor activities which are guaranteed to set your senses pulsing all within easy reach of your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Hotel Corner Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing