We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
74
188
127
32
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
188
127
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signal hill great location george street harbour view downtown st water street restaurant downstairs within walking distance downtown hotel bit dated would stay here again front desk staff stayed here for two nights comfortable hotel first floor comfy bed quidi vidi
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016

It's pretty low end quality...where do I start:

Loud Air Conditioning unit, the beds are not comfortable, the main blanket feels like burlap material. The fridge door sticks so you need to use two hands to open it, be careful if you have anything on top of the fridge, it may fall off from the force. The toilet flushes slow. The rooms do not have glasses, only two Styrofoam cups and two paper coffee cups.

Only saving grace is that it is a good location which is probably why they charge so much.

Avoid Rumpelstiltskin's restaurant, terrible service. Go to the classic Cafe just up the street :)

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sdt255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Tour Coordinator at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I apologize that our hotel and service failed to meet your expectations. We replaced the drinking glasses in guest rooms last year due to sanitary reasons though glasses can be requested from the restaurant. We strongly advise guests to report any issues or sources of discomfort to a member of the staff immediately so that more suitable arrangements can be found.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again, perhaps in one of our newly renovated rooms.

Kaitlyn MacCaull
Tour Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

we stayed one night in a twin harbourview room. The quality of the room was not great and it needs a refurbishment. the staff were fine and it was well located in St John's.

we ate breakfast at the restaurant which again was ok.

the view from the room overlooked a working harbour.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tdstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Tour Coordinator at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank for you taking the time to complete our survey regarding your recent stay and leaving a room.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the view from your room and we entreat you to stay in one of our renovated rooms upon your next visit to st. John's.

Thank you and we hope to see you again!

Kaitlyn MacCaull
Tour Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel twice because our tour started and ended in St. John's. When we first arrived, we were given room 306. The air conditioner was noisy and the carpet under the air conditioning unit was damp. There were stains on the carpeting throughout the room. The room had a sour smell, probably from the moldy carpet. We foolishly did not complain, or ask for another room, because we just assumed the entire hotel was this bad. However, when we returned later in the week, the room we were assigned was perfectly fine. It was on the 4th floor (442), which appeared to have received a face lift. We did report the condition of the first room upon check out. Hopefully, that room does not reflect the entire third floor and the flaws in that room will be addressed.

Room tip: Since we were on a tour, we were not given the option of a harbor view room but I'm sure those would be nicer, especially on the 4th floor.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellin_mom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Tour Coordinator at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey regarding your recent stay, guest feedback is very much appreciated.

We strongly encourage guests to report any problems or issues with a member of staff immediately as guest comfort and satisfaction is our number one priority. We do have renovated and non renovated sections of the hotel and if a guest is not satisfied with their room we will do our best to move them to a room that they are more comfortable in. I am happy that you found the second leg of your stay more to your taste and I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Kaitlyn MacCaull
Tour Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We found the staff to be very helpful and extremely polite. The location is right on the harbour so this made for a great view, however this could be quite noisy due to the unloading of the ships. The room was not the greatest because of the strong smell when you entered making you think that it had not been cleaned or maintained well. Peeling wallpaper and stains on the lamp shades. Very noisy as we could hear our neighbours in the adjoining room talking and using the hair dryer. Constant noise from the ice maker as well. Also there was an issue with the toilette not flushing properly. Some days basics of the room were not replenished like the water, coffee, tea and sugar refills, Kleenex and toilette tissue which we found to be very annoying. One good thing is that it is very close to all the wonderful shops, bars and restaurants in St. John's. Very good price compared to other hotels if you can ignore the negative points of lack of maintenance and cleanliness.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SKL1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Tour Coordinator at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey regarding your recent stay, guest feedback is very important to us.

We're glad that you enjoyed your view and the location of the hotel and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I am sorry that the maintenance of the room and stocking up was unsatisfactory. We strongly encourage guests to bring up any issues with staff immediately so that they can be addressed. If you could contact the hotel and let us know which room number it was you were staying in we would be very appreciative so we could get maintenance in the room right away.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again,

Kaitlyn MacCaull
Tour Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

It really is middle quality. Not the worst, but a long way from the best. And you could say that about the view, the staff, the rooms, the bar, the wifi strength. It is within walking distance of nice restaurants, and water street. Not the closest hotel, but not the farthest. Hill O chips is quite a steep hill. Never ate at hotel, had breakfast in a local diner instead. Bar closes early. We were probably unlucky that the road had to be dug up in the early hours of the morning. The drilling did not help our sleep, in our room that faced the road.

Room tip: If you are in desperate need of sleep then avoid the rooms looking on to hill o chips.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fionn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managercn246, Tour Coordinator at Quality Hotel Harbourview, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Fionn,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey regarding your recent stay, guest feedback is always appreciated and is very important to us.

I apologize that we failed to impress you with our customer service and I hope that you would consider staying with us again so that we can provide you with the service I know we are capable of and that you deserve.

Kaitlyn MacCaull
Tour Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews