We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
54
7
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
7
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk in closet heated seat manager chris luxurious rooms yogurt the general manager bedroom suite heated floors within walking distance downtown st george street mixologist bidet robes tub hallway roomy
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on 2 separate nights when my wife and I travelled to Newfoundland in late May/early June. The reception was friendly (the bartender checks you in and will help with your bags) and the room was spacious and clean. Stocked fridge and snack bar which are included in your stay; also received 2 drink tickets for the bar downstairs. Free breakfast (cereal, muffins, fruit, and yogurt) across the hall. Within walking distance to restaurants and stores in downtown St John’s. Rooms have a partial view of St John’s Harbor (see pic).

Only 2 small critiques—no onsite parking could potentially be an issue, although I was lucky to find a spot on the street both nights we stayed (a vandal had apparently destroyed the parking meters on the street which made parking free). Also, if you stay on the 2nd floor, you can hear the music coming from the bar area; this was not a problem when we were on the 3rd floor.

Otherwise everything else was excellent and would highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MZE-N-BLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments MZE-N-BLU.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you highly recommend us!

To address your critiques, we do have reserved parking close to the hotel, and have parking passes available for our guests use, that have their own vehicle. My apologies for not making you aware of this during your stay. As well, we do have music playing in our cocktail lounge during our hours of operation. Going forward, I will ensure the volume is at an adequate level for future reference.

Thanks again for your comments, and have a great day.

Chris Woodley
General Manager
The Luxus Boutique Hotel and Lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Nice boutique type hotel. This was a strip club for many years and has been converted to a nice hotel. The harbour view is not there now as there is a Alt hotel across the street blocking the view. The staff are really friendly. The room is nice. The price is high. Not sure if it is worth the over $500 a night price tag after tax though.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MENBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel MENBBB.

We strive to ensure our guests have a great experience while staying with us, and offer amenities far and above what you receive at a typical hotel.

We are constantly trying to improve, and you may be interested to know that we will be opening a café in the near future which will certainly enhance the entire guest experience.

Have a great day, and thanks again for sharing your thoughts.

Chris Woodley
General Manager
The Luxus Boutique Hotel St. John's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

During our two weeks in Newfoundland, we visited many more rural parts, but decided to end our vacation in a little luxury in St Johns. The hotel is very nice and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. I would have had a manicure and massage had there been a spa. Great location, walking distance to everything. Pretty Harborview. Bar downstairs had 2 excellent bartenders.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank joanfedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 July 2018

Thank you for taking time from your busy days to take a minute to share your thoughts about our hotel Joanfedora.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay. There are a number of spas within walking distance, which we have great business relationships with. If you return to St. John's again in the future, please feel free to inquire about spa services. We can certainly make some great recommendations, and possibly take care of this in the privacy of your suite for you.

Have a great day, and thanks again.

Chris Woodley
General Manager
The Luxus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Just came from a visit to the Luxus boutique hotel in St. John’s. This six room hotel offers everything a visitor to St. John’s would need. The perfect location, very large and contemporary guest rooms, a lovely and charming bar/lounge area, all day coffee and snacks at no charge, and fantastic pubs and restaurants all around.

I have to make special mention of all the staff there. They were absolutely outstanding and world-class in every way. Friendly, flexible, and eager to make our trip perfect. Whatever we wanted was magically done throughout our entire stay.

What a treat to visit this gem of a hotel!

One note...The hotel is very small and does not have its own restaurant. They’re opening a coffee shop in a few weeks. We were not troubled by this at all, as there are many fantastic places to eat within a three-minute walk.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor Barbara F.

We are more than happy to go "above and beyond" for our guests, and welcome the opportunity to do so.

Have a great day, and enjoy the rest of this summer!

Chris Woodley
General Manager
The Luxus Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

After many travel miles and the fortunate luck to stay at some of the best boutique hotels, our 7 night stay at The Luxus is one to remember and surely not our last. From the classy contemporary cocktail lounge to the luxurious suites facing the narrows the place never stops impressing. By far the cleanest hotel we have stayed at and you can tell the staff take pride in their work by the way they treat their guests. Behind every great boutique hotel is the staff that makes it that special kind of place for each guest and this is certainly the case at The Luxus, from Chris the General Manager to his staff Danny, Tristan and Michael to name a few who did this for us, thank you for that! So if you are looking for that special place to stay in St. John's look no further, stay at The Luxus it's got the class with that down home hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 696facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2018

Thank you 696facebook, for your wonderful review of our hotel and lounge. We take great pride in the quality of the property we have, and each of us take this to the next level with our great hospitality and guest service. We welcome all of our guests and do our best to ensure they have the best possible experience while visiting St. John's, as ambassadors of our fair city. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

All the best, and have a great day!

Chris Woodley
General Manager
The Luxus Boutique Hotel & Lounge, St. John's NL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews