We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
7
0
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
0
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bath house granola sitting room artsy keurig suite property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2022 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Locust and Starr Inn. The owner was so very accommodating to our group and we felt lucky to have the opportunity to stay here. The space was great for our family, we stayed in the Starr suite with our two kids and the sitting room had been set up for our boys to have their own beds. My parents had the Locust suite and it was lovely as well. Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Be aware that this is an old home and has some of the quirky things you would expect in an old home.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Suzi_O_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2022 via mobile

The lovely, eclectic B&B no longer resembles the photos currently found on the internet. We spent two nights in the bath house and while we thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor bathing and relaxed self-service approach, we did not find the same offerings prior guests raved about. No donuts, no great breakfast. Bare bones do-it-yourself kitchen. Clearly there has been a change of ownership and the new owner is struggling to get hold of the property. The grounds are in a very sad, overgrown state. Everything is choked with weeds. I have to say, the whole experience left me feeling very sad. I am guessing that, once again, Covid has taken its toll on a great property with huge potential. I wish the current owner well and hope she can return this Inn to its former, quirky glory!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BettMuncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2022

Locust & Starr is an artsy, eclectic bed and breakfast that stands out from the others. Located on the corner of Locust and Starr in the heart of Wolfville, it’s less than a five minute walk to the downtown shops, restaurants and even the grocery store. Each suite comes with its own parking and self check-in.

The continental breakfast is self-serve any time you wake up, and has lots of choices, with local jams and honey, as well as eggs if you want to cook them up for yourself. There’s all day coffee and all kinds of tea, and an ice maker. The common areas include the kitchen, dining room and sitting room, along with a comfortable back deck and hot tub!

We rented the Bath House and it was rustic charm at its best. Whitewashed walls, a king sized bed with a puffy duvet, an indoor fireplace, a keurig and a good sized fridge are all included. Cleaning amenities were plentiful including hand sanitizer, masks, Lysol wipes and more.

But the best part is the private, outdoor bathtub and shower. Having a bubble bath with the birds chirping and breeze blowing was like a mini oasis and not to be missed! The bathside amenities and giant plush towels made a spa-like atmosphere.

You don’t want to miss the experience at The Locust & Starr Inn. The Mona Lisa Room. The delicious breakfasts with fruit, yoghourt, granola, bakery breads, croissants, cheese, juice and more. The late night patio lanterns. Under new ownership, the unique vibe is relaxed, fun, and ever changing.

Date of stay: July 2022
Thank MissionMusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2020

We escaped the big city (Dartmouth) to enjoy the Valley with its incredible November weather. Decided to try Locust & Starr. It is a historic house nestled in a quiet neighbourhood close to everything--closer than any other lodgings as far as we could tell. Very eclectic decor--a mix of art and kitsch, natural history objects and antiques. Our room was large with a separate sitting area. Very comfy and very clean. Wooden ironing boards were the bedside tables! Pennants festooned the 4 poster King bed. You have to see it to believe it. Lisa is a gracious host. She had 2 local beers waiting for us in our room when we checked in. Awesome breakfast, 2 freshly made Binky's do-nuts (which we took with us), fruit, granola, eggs, toast. Great coffee (a "Canadiano" according to my husband) and my loose-leaf tea was served in a pot with a china cup and saucer, classy. Lisa's whippet is quiet and well-behaved.
We will return!

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank Marilynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2020

This property is amazing and was exactly what we were looking for in an overnight trip to Wolfville!

The Locust & Starr was steps to the main strip in town with shops and restaurants all within walking distance.

The view from the street was charming, with a large front veranda perfect for reading with a morning coffee.

The house’s decor is very unique and is why we picked the Locust & Starr from a dozen of local places to stay. Lisa has really put her heart and soul into the property and no room lacks attention to detail.

We stayed in the Starr room and were greeted with chilled cider from the local cider company at the bottom of the street. Our room was spacious with a living room off of the bedroom and a full en-suite.

Lisa left a charming basket of goodies at our door the next morning with coffee and home made donuts which we enjoyed in bed.

Never a bother and always making sure we had a great stay, Lisa is a one of a kind host.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beckywX622HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews