We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
15
1
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
1
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

It's an old house but very clean, charming and they make a great breakfast! You get a warm welcome in this 200 year old house. It's really quiet but also central situated. There is a nice bathroom with shower and bath tube. Gane the landlady is a wonderful host and gives good advice.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Thebestgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

It looks like a cool old house, but not at all what we expected. It had that funny smell like my grandmothers house, plus it seemed really dusty. There were no other guests there when we got there that we know of. The room was OK, although the A/C vent really needed to be cleaned. However, there was no key to the room. When we asked, the owner just said people kept losing them, and she is the only one there anyway. For breakfast, we received one waffle with a few berries on it - that was it. Would not recommend.

Room tip: Try a B & B in Louisbourg, about 1/2 hr away
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derk5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

I am new to the world of Bed and Breakfast travel, but I must say my five night stay at the Gathering House B&B was absolutely wonderful. The hosts, Jean and Ken, were so very welcoming, resourceful, and friendly that I felt like family and not a guest at all. Their home is a beautifully and lovingly restored Victorian house over 200 years old (240 years old in the original part of the house), filled with antiques, Jean's own needlepoint works of art, quilts, linens, and décor that all have their own story to tell. A step back in time! The bedrooms were very clean and very comfortable, bathrooms very clean with great water pressure in the showers, and all linens beautifully laundered and of excellent quality. Jean is a fantastic cook, and each breakfast was absolutely delicious, a different feast each morning, excellent coffee! The Gathering House is located in the heart of Sydney, yet sits perched among tall trees alongside an inlet called Wentworth Creek; a lovely park with water fountains, ducks, and a children's playground. An oasis in the middle of town! We spent several hours sipping fresh lemonade on their huge wrap-around porch, chatting, and enjoying the early evening hours together. When I am back in Sydney again, I will be staying at the Gathering House! Thank-you Jean and Ken for a wonderful stay at your B&B! (I just wish I took photos to share with you!)
From Debbie, Prince Edward County, Ontario, August 2015

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelRUs2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We came to Sydney looking for quiet and convenient accommodations for one night before heading to Louisbourg. We couldn't have made a better choice. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The room was big and we had our own bathroom with shower, which was great after a long drive. The location was very convenient and allowed us to walk to an excellent restaurant recommended by the owner. And we were sent off with a delicious breakfast. HIghly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

It took us an hour and a quarter to find this place, even after getting directions at the Sydney Information Location. The street off Kings Rd, which was highlighted, ends after one block, for about 1/5 of a kilometer, and then picks up on the left to what appears to be an entirely different street. When the owner was called on the phone, no one answered; this was when we were a half block away, The room was ok, but stuffy, and needed fresh air. The breakfast was very plain, the coffee was weak and seemed a cheap brand, and we paid the highest rate of all the B&B's- we stayed in onour drive around Halifax $115- Would not recommend.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank BobnRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews