We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Downtown!”

The Gathering House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gathering House
Ranked #8 of 13 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Beautiful property. Extremely comfortable at a crazy cheap price!! Great Coffee and breakfast was tasty. If you are socially inclined and don't mind sharing with others, this place is a must for down-home hospitality. There is a friendly dog onsite if allergies are a concern. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with me!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2016

i had the pleasure of renting a room there for 2 winters while i was working there i was from another part of the province. I actually miss it now , had a lot of fun ,ken and jean great people - great cooks alway clean place . i recommend this to anyone

Room Tip: a great experience if you visit cape breton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed there for 2 nights with another couple and were so pleased we had chosen this clean and comfortable 200+-year old house decorated by the owners with many interesting items. Jean and Ken, the hosts, were so accommodating and a pleasure to be around. They are very knowledgeable about the local area and have some very interesting stories to tell. We would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

As I am scrolling through the reviews I feel bad for some of the people who wrote them . For a bed and breakfast this was quaint and cozy so peaceful and relaxing . The people who owned the house were extremely nice . A B&B is for a quick stay which this was and I will definitely stay there again if I am in the area :)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

It's an old house but very clean, charming and they make a great breakfast! You get a warm welcome in this 200 year old house. It's really quiet but also central situated. There is a nice bathroom with shower and bath tube. Gane the landlady is a wonderful host and gives good advice.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Thebestgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.7 km away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1 km away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Travelodge Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
176 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#7 of 7 in Sydney
174 reviews
1.7 km away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gathering House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gathering House

Address: 148 Crescent St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 2Z8, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing