We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place worth to visit”

Guelph Civic Museum
Ranked #12 of 60 things to do in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Guelph Civic Museum showcases Guelph's history through permanent and changing exhibits, a fun and interactive families gallery, and special events and activities. Located in the recently renovated Loretto Convent, atop the hill at Norfolk Street and beside the landmark Church of Our Lady, the museum is home to a collection of artifacts that bring Guelph's past to life.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Tourists especially those from Hong Kong may know only a little about tourism in Guelph. It is because there is not much promotion about this place and going there may not be so easy as you have to travel a long way by buses or trains from Toronto in order to reach there. I have to say it is worth to pay a visit to Guelph though as compare to other big cities like Toronto, Vancouver, there is not much to see. However I love the atmosphere there.

The Civic Museum is not very big but you can know a lot of history about Guelph and Canada inside the museum. People serving there are very nice, friendly and with passion. They welcome your visits and can tell you all useful information about their city.

My wife and I were there on a rainy day in July. We were actually tired when we arrived at the museum but hospitality of the museum staff cheered us up again!

Thank tsoi2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuelphMuseums, Community Relations Coordinator at Guelph Civic Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We are so glad you made a stop to the Civic Museum! Our staff are very passionate about Guelph and it's history, wonderful to hear they extended a warm welcome. Thank you for visiting and for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"civic museum"
in 8 reviews
"local history"
in 4 reviews
"exhibits change"
in 3 reviews
"rainy day"
in 4 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 2 reviews
"children's area"
in 3 reviews
"turn of the century"
in 2 reviews
"lovely building"
in 2 reviews
"john mccrae"
in 4 reviews
"few hours"
in 2 reviews
"convent"
in 6 reviews
"membership"
in 4 reviews
"duff"
in 3 reviews
"admission"
in 7 reviews
"loretto"
in 3 reviews
"gordon"
in 3 reviews
"basilica"
in 5 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Knowing nothing of Guelph when I went into the museum, I came out knowing a lot more about it. It's great as an introduction to the city, with its history being charted from the first tree cut and through inventions, innovations and so on. Small bite size exhibits made the experience enjoyable rather than overwhelming and the cheap admission price made it even better. It is fully accessible inside with activities for children as well as adults.

Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuelphMuseums, Community Relations Coordinator at Guelph Civic Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Exactly what we love to hear! So glad you enjoyed your visit and learned about our lovely city. Thanks for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We ventured out to the Civic Museum on their Fourth Friday feature. Free museum admission and a free outdoor concert every fourth Friday of the month.
It is really well laid out and features local history as well as interesting exhibits about local nature and environmental concerns.
If you have little ones, there's a very interactive spot for them to explore.
Lots of history about early life in the city!
We will definitely return when they have some special exhibits.
A great resource of local culture and very well curated.

Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Fourth Fridays are the perfect time to come out and explore the museum! So glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

First time at new location. Very well done. Nice little museum to have in the city.

We went for the kids portion but enjoyed walking to see all the exhibits. Does not take that long so do not need to plan a whole day. We spent about hour and a half and it was fine.

$5 to get in is fair.

Our kid is 4 and it was perfect for that age.

Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuelphMuseums, Community Relations Coordinator at Guelph Civic Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your review! Glad to hear your little one enjoyed the museum. We have a great monthly kids program called Tiny Tots which is held on the first Thursday of each month - drop in for organized songs, crafts, and games for children one to four years old and their caregivers. Lots of fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Good for kids and adults, has both for exploration.
Little store within., Clean and fully accessible.

Thank 662panosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 June 2017

Thank you for your kind review! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guelph Civic Museum also viewed

 

Been to Guelph Civic Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing