We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great deal !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Windsor, Canada
1 review
“great deal !”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in february before flying out West. We booked it online as a package that included dinner and breakfast also some casino credits at Seneca across the border. When we got there at 3 to check in there was alot of people also waiting to get settled into their rooms. The staff was very patient with the crowds however many of the rooms warent ready sooo we waitied until 415 pm before we actually got keys to our king jacuzzi suite on 7th floor. It was AMAZING, the views very just awesome plenty of windows bathroom was great ( the jacuzzi tub did break after one use ) but the maintenance man came right away and fixed it) there was 2 tvs , the bed was very comfy the wifi didnt want to work there too much we had to go to 14th floor (the loung area) and use our laptops there but the view made up for it... the hallways were very cold so if your going to use wifi in the lounge area bring a sweater! the breakfast at applebes was nothing special however REamingtons steak and seafood restaurant which was included in our package was GREAT !!! the food the service the atmosphere the singing servers WOW I loved IT ! free shuttle there and back that also stops at casino for you if youd like was a bonus! on small tips ! if you order a wake up call remember to also set your alarm... or you will sleep till noon ...they must have forgotten us and nvere gavve us our wake up call ! worth the money and the views are breathtaking !!!!

Room Tip: the higher the better wifi signal ! close to 14 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smushieluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    1,452
    890
    531
    556
See reviews for
1,371
2,467
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,032)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed in the hotel with a large group. The staff was very friendly and was very accommodating. The rooms were spacious but in need of updating. The wallpaper was peeling and I don't know the last time I stayed in a room with a tube tv was (not that i was watching it). My only real complaint was that I needed internet and they offered wireless internet, but they were not able to handle a lot of users. When our group returned to the hotel the system was overloaded and some of us would have to stay up till 2 am to be able to get our work completed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arieldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a “One-Night Gourmet Getaway Package” which included Wine Tasting @ 4 wineries, dinner at Remington’s, Seneca Casino gaming credit and Breakfast at Applebee’s! W/out a doubt will return!!

When we pulled into the parking lot we thought “Oh Oh although we got a great deal, we have already overpaid by the look of things”. We went in and it looked like an average lobby but then we took the elevator to the 20th floor WOW!!!!!!!! Beautiful clean room, wall to wall windows on 2 sides, 1 which overlooked the falls, big bathroom with great Jacuzzi tub and stand up shower (good pressure) towels put together beautifully (Thx Dana), only 4 rooms on this floor, never crossed paths with anyone else and it was wonderfully quiet.
The wineries were pleasant as expected. Stumbled across 2 NOT on the list which we also indulged in, Caroline Cellars and Palatine Hills, unlike the other “fancy frills” wineries, independently owned, friendly & very hospitable staff!!
Remington’s was highly overrated, food was mediocre and so was service, we requested to take our dessert with us, only to find out 1 of us didn’t bring any back . The servers singing during service was a nice touch though, but won’t be going back.

Seneca Casino, is what it is!!

Applebee’s breakfast was DISGUSTING!! Service left plenty to be desired as well!!

Room Tip: The higher you go the better view you get :), there's 20 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBumz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed at the Oakes with my wife and daughter and have no complaints. The room was in good shape, reasonably roomy, and the view was fantastic. We didn't have much opportunity to make demands of staff but what little contact we had was trouble free. We were on the 19th floor so I can't speak to the view on the tenth floor and below. I actually was quite worried about staying at the Oakes after reading some reviews but overall was pleasantly surprised. We didn't get the gourmet package, but given local prices, it sounds like a good deal. I would recommend the Oakes to a friend

Room Tip: I think checking in early helps with room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We came here on one of their packages that boasts falls view rooms, wine tastings, casino credit etc. Then we learn that our room, regardless of full windows, only lets you see a parking lot from the second floor, and a little bit of the top of the falls in the distance, which looks decent only if you sit far away from the window as possible to not see that much of the parking lot. The wine tastings, if you come for a one-night stay, is pointless because you check in a 3, and most of the wineries close by 5, so by the time you get settled in (after waiting at the desk a half-hour to check in) you don't really know if it's worth it to drive the half-hour to any winery--and you do want to see the falls at some point anyway, no? Falls, or faraway winery? Falls, or faraway winery?? Then the casino credit is hilarious, especially if you crossed the border to come here, because its BACK ACROSS THE BORDER. So, um, don't plan on enjoying it after you either see the falls or visit the wineries, because, well, what's the point, of going across the border twice more in a night just to spend a $50 casino credit??


The worst, though, despite all these "perks" that may or may not pan out in any fabulous sounding "deal," is that the woman at the counter was incredibly rude. There's just one of them that sucks, but the chances that you might have to talk to her and/or fight with her over nothing is just not worth it (I also got her once on the phone before coming, and it's only after talking to another person a second time that I decided it was worth it. Unfortunately, the first was the (un)welcoming face on arrival). And it's ugly to stand in line at the counter and hear other guests also be told that they're just not going to get the promised view of the falls from their rooms, because they're just not spending enough, despite false promises in the packages they bought. Finally the “free” wireless internet is trash. I pity the people who actually pay for it…

By the way, nothing about the hotel is lovely or luxurious. Their pool seems like it's out of the 70's public pool flashback, and the gym is 3-4 machines in an uncomfortably situated room on the ground floor covered in windows and baked in the sun. Their "fancy restaurant" is not on premises and much of the food tastes like it's out of a can, although, to be honest, the service was MUCH better than what you get at the hotel (although you likely have to pay some extra random charge on the bill despite your voucher).

This stay, despite the decently priced "deal" it offered, was NOT worth it. Comfort suites next door is a hell of a lot cheaper, there are super cheap breakfast buffet's around, and you won't get some mediocre betty crocker dinner if you choose your own restaurant. That is all.

Room Tip: Make sure you're getting a "falls view" room not a "fall side" room, which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aurora407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.3 km away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.3 km away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.2 km away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price range (per night): RM562 - RM1,488
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing