We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exquisite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strathaird Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 69 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for two days in mid-July. Tom and Val were wonderful, gracious hosts. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy, and most with ensuites. The decor and background music were distinctly gentle Scottish,and very pleasing! The breakfasts were very delicious, gourmet and filling! The location is a five minute drive to the Falls! Our stay was totally restful and refreshing!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Magdalena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for two days going into 4th of July weekend. Tom and Val were the perfect hosts starting from the late hour in which we arrived. The B & B is small but very comfortable, clean and cozy. The rooms are a bit tight but for two people that were up by 8am and back in bed at midnight it was just fine. For the value i'm not complaing! We figured that with all the extras a B & B has to offer; free parking, internet and a huge breakfast (my sweet tooth enjoyed the breads and my husband loved the large portions of meat), we basically paid about $60 USD for the room. Give me a lovely and friendly B & B over those low-star chain hotels and motels any day.
Now Tom and Val...don't raise your prices just because of my positive review! Your prices are why people that typically travel on a budget can get away for vacation. We appreciate that! Especially since the two holidays for Canadians and Americans are the same week. The owners could have drastically raised prices like many other establishments I looked at before I booked at Strathaird.
Yes, it is a bit away from all the attractions but the street is much more quiet for that reason. If you are in good health and don't mind a 15 minute walk to The Falls you can save on pricey parking. The first night we arrived Tom also gave us directions to their local downtown and some sports bars. It's about a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction of The Falls. My husband and I walked both directions late at night (around midnight) and felt completely at ease. There is also the WeGo bus that has a stop around the block from the B & B- ask Tom about that.
We are already planning another trip up to visit all the things that we missed last weekend and will be staying with Tom and Val again. Great place to stay for a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LoveMI86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed at B & B's in many countries. Tom & Val win the contest hands down. They are the most personable, gracious and accommodating hosts ever. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean and quiet. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Towels were large and looked like new ( a big plus in my book ).The breakfasts were really excellent. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed a completely different breakfast each morning; eggs & bacon, pancakes & sausage, omelet, quiche, and all with fruit, juice, home-baked muffins and sweet breads, coffee or tea. And it all comes with an excellent knowledge of the area with questions answered, suggestions made, etc. There is a walking trail to the falls right across the street. The WEGO bus stop is a 5 minute walk. The location is very convenient to the falls and a very safe area. The chairs & swing on the porch are a great place to talk and relax. We highly recommend Strathaird B & B. Tom & Val are the "icing on the cake".

Room Tip: Two in-suite rooms on the 2nd floor are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Strathaird was a great place to stay the night when we were attending a wedding in Queenston, near Niagara Falls. Tom gave us a warm welcome, provided us all the information we needed, and let us be when we were settling in. The room was very clean and well kept, simple but good. The lighting was a little difficult for getting ready and it lacked a full length mirror—though we probably wouldn't have noticed this if we weren't getting ready for a wedding. The shower was also quite tight! Breakfast was good, and the place is safe and well situated within the area. I would definitely recommend this to anyone needing a good value bed and breakfast in an area where it is difficult to find!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The owner are very friendly. The place is so clean, safe, and good location where is not too far from all attractions. The breakfast was excellent. l would give them five star rating.
Chris&Julie
Savannh, GA. USA.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 km away
Always Inn Bed & Breakfast
Always Inn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 69 in Niagara Falls
392 reviews
0.9 km away
Ambiance by the Falls Bed and Breakfast
0.2 km away
Accommodations Niagara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villa Gardenia Bed & Breakfast
Villa Gardenia Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 69 in Niagara Falls
191 reviews
0.6 km away
Niagara Grandview Manor
Niagara Grandview Manor
#11 of 69 in Niagara Falls
276 reviews
0.1 km away
Chestnut Inn
Chestnut Inn
#18 of 69 in Niagara Falls
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathaird Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathaird Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4372 Simcoe St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 1T6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range: RM335 - RM407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathaird Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy real Scottish hospitality,Strathaird is a restored 103 years old Victorian located on a quiet tree lined street, a short walk to the Falls and all the major attractions, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Strathaird Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing