We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a B&B ought to B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strathaird Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 69 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2015

We spoke with Tom by phone a couple of times before arriving. He was helpful in recommending local hiking, worthwhile points of interest, and restaurants. Tom greeted us on arrival, showed us around the common area, and showed us to our room. The house is located on a quiet street, a little away from the neon lights of central Niagara Falls, but within a reasonable walk or a short drive. Our room was very comfortable and the private bath was clean (but a little small), and the water pressure was good. Tom also offered us dining discount coupons for some of the local restaurants. Since we were there on a Friday night, we took in the 10:00 PM fireworks over the falls; we drove, but could have walked. The house was very quiet, and we slept soundly. Val's breakfast was hearty and tasty, primarily consisting of eggs, bacon, juice, coffee, breads, and beans. It wasn't fancy, but was very satisfying, and was a great way to start a busy day. We walked to the falls area, and spent half the day there before leaving the area. Tom told us not to worry about moving our car until we were ready to go. Tom and Val were most welcoming and friendly hosts.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. All are on the second floor, and all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OrdinaryGuyHotWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2015

My SO and I stayed at the Strathaird over the Independence Day weekend. Even though Niagara Falls was jumping, the street was quiet and we felt like we were away from the hustle and bustle. However, we were a very short walk to the bus stop (a few minutes ride to the Falls) and we walked to and from the Falls several times because it is within easy walking distance.

Tom, the proprietor, was a *font* of information, seriously. He gave us a recommendation for a wonderful restaurant (Casa Mia - pricey but so worth it) and gave us plenty of directions for getting around. We were able to purchase vouchers for the Adventure Pass from him, as well. (Go ahead and get the pass.) Breakfast was excellent, abundant, and tasty. As an American who drinks tea, not coffee, it was a real treat for me to get a proper pot of tea with my meal every morning.

The room was on the small side, as was the bathroom, but immaculately clean. I don't care about the former, but the latter is incredibly important to me. You get a key to the front door as well as your room, so you can come and go as you please. One thing to consider is that because this is a house, there is no elevator. You will need to climb stairs. Not an issue for me, but something to think about if you have mobility issues. Also, the front garden was lovely. Sitting on the porch swing with a cup of tea immediately became a favorite spot.

Parking in back of the house is good, nothing on street. If you are navigating, be aware that Simcoe St. has some interruptions due to changes over the years, so just follow the little signs with the arrows!

WiFi is available so you can connnect your devices, and if you simply must watch TV, there is a living room with couches and a flat screen. We never even went in there -- too much to do!

If I ever go to Niagara Falls again, I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015

The house is located away from all the noise from tourist area, however it’s a just a steps away from local bus (“WEGO”) station. If you enjoy walking, it t takes 30-40 minutes to the Horseshoe Falls, and it is a very enjoyable walk.
Tom and Val are wonderful hosts, made us very welcomed. The house is charming and rooms are very clean. All bedrooms are upstairs; downstairs is a dinning room with coffee/tea available all the time, and a living room with comfy sofa and TV, available any time of the day or night.
They served us a breakfast at the time suited us best; Val’s typical Scottish breakfast is soooo yummy and included freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee/tea, cup of fresh fruits, homemade bread, freshly baked muffins, toast with butter and jam, and on top of all that – full Scottish breakfast (fried eggs, ham, hash browns, baked beans). While having breakfast we had a relaxing chitchat with Val and Tom, and other guests. Perfect way to start your day.
Tom is very informative, he gave us a lot of tips about the place and area. There is a lots of room for a parking which is included in a price; free wifi also available. Perfect place to stay, excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentina_71_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

We wanted to stay in a b&b instead of a hotel as this trip was to celebrate your wedding anniversary after reading the great reviews for the Strathaird we book for 4 nights.upon arrival we were greeted by Tom who helped us in with our bags and showed us to our room which was very clean & cosy felt like home.The B&B is a short walk from the falls and clifton hill so you are near to everything but away from all the noise which is nice and more relaxing The next morning after having a great night sleep in a comfy bed we were treated to a scottish breakfast which was hot & tasty all the meals we had were excellent val is a great cook & the homemade bread & muffins were great. Along with the great food tom & val no the area very well and helped us with things to do and see, tom even made a reservation at a local restaurant Casa Mia for our anniversary dinner as well as booking the taxi for us.We were that impressed with the warm and welcoming hosts we booked a extra night.We will definitely go back to see tom & val & would recommend there b&b to everyone who wants a clean,cosy place to stay with great food .

Room Tip: All rooms are clean & cosy with en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

This is one our best stays in a B&B. Tom / Val are excellent hosts and will make your stay like home. Very charming and clean rooms. Slept we'll on comfortable bed. Val's breakfast & homemade breads were fantastic. Close to the falls and all attractions. Great pick!

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 km away
Accommodations Niagara Bed and Breakfast
0.1 km away
Always Inn Bed & Breakfast
Always Inn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 69 in Niagara Falls
392 reviews
0.9 km away
Ambiance by the Falls Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villa Gardenia Bed & Breakfast
Villa Gardenia Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 69 in Niagara Falls
191 reviews
0.2 km away
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 69 in Niagara Falls
765 reviews
0.1 km away
Chestnut Inn
Chestnut Inn
#18 of 69 in Niagara Falls
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathaird Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathaird Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4372 Simcoe St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 1T6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range: RM337 - RM409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathaird Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy real Scottish hospitality,Strathaird is a restored 103 years old Victorian located on a quiet tree lined street, a short walk to the Falls and all the major attractions, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Strathaird Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing