We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Friendly and Elegant”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Charles Inn in early June for our wedding anniversary. We loved it – very charming. One has to remember that this house was built in 1832 so yes there are some imperfections, such as, the parlour doors hanging askew in the dining room but that just adds to its character and charm.

We booked the Richardson room which is the original master bedroom in the house. The room was wonderful and very clean. I was surprised to discover that the picture on the website was incorrect because the room has been recently renovated and it looks nothing like the web picture. The redecorated room was very modern looking and I’ve posted a picture. The weekend we choose was cool at night so the fireplace was a welcome addition. The bathroom was adequate in size and also very clean. There was a large flat screen TV above the fireplace. The private balcony off the room was very large and a lovely place to enjoy a glass of wine or a morning cup a coffee.

Previous reviews have mentioned that you can hear the kitchen and dining room noise from the rooms –and if you retire early - yes you can. We enjoyed a night at the theatre and then a late night drink so we didn’t find it too noisy. One has to remember that this is a house not a large hotel, so you can hear noise on the first floor. Also I found that the kitchen smells permeated the entire inn as it would in any house when someone is cooking in the kitchen.

We ate in the dining room and found the food delicious. We were very full by the end of the meal and could barely get through dessert. The waiter was wonderful, funny and very courteous. My only complaint was that with the amount of money that people pay to stay here, one would think that the armchairs at your dining table would not have large tears in them. It’s a minor complaint that didn’t affect our evening or stay there. Breakfast was included and from the reviews I thought it would be meagre however, I found it to be more than adequate (see picture).

It was a little expensive for us but worth it for our anniversary and we loved that we could walk everywhere since it was close to the main areas.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tropicalrealms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 318 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Charles Inn. We enjoyed the lovely veranda which opened from our bedroom. Although it was a warm evening we did have the choice to use the fireplace had we wished.
The evening meal was also very good. I would recommend stating which table you may prefer for dinner as some tables are more desirable than others. The atmosphere overall is charming.
We loved having delicious coffee brought to our room in the a.m. which we could enjoy outdoors.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 155019Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We had been looking forward to staying here as they had seemed particularly gracious during the reservation process. We opted for a standard room as we prefer to splurge on the theatre and restaurants when doing a theatre weekend getaway and the hotel suggested the Magnolia Room as it also had it's own balcony. No one told me how small this room was - quite cramped and no mirror in the main room. Bathroom was very modern with a large shower with rainhead showerhead but the pedastal style sink means no where to place your toiletry bags. Two large windows which can't be opened because there are no screens and lots of bugs, bees etc. Also we had to leave the room, go through the public part of the balcony to get to our private balcony. Pretty view of the golf course. Shortly after checking in we realized the thermostat was not functioning properly and the room was heating up. At first they tried to tell my husband that we just didn't know how to work the controls (he is an engineering professor) and then they admitted there was a problem when another room complained. We went out for the afternoon and before dinner it seemed to be working. After dinner the room was 75 and heat was belching out of the vents. So at 11:00 P.M. we had to change hotels as no other rooms were available. They were able to move us to their sister property - The Shaw Club across from the Festival Theatre and gave us a 50% discount. That went pretty well - initially they tried to put us in a dorm quality double room that they would have had to pay us to stay in, and when we said it was unacceptable they "found" another room - much larger, with a king sized bed, huge jacuzzi and much better appointed. They said it was because the ac was working better in the other room but it was clear they were hoping to stick us in the cheap room since they were losing money during a prime weekend. Niagara on the Lake is quite pricey during the theatre season, but unless you want to pay in the $300's for a larger room I would go to one of the newer hotels in the same price range.

Room Tip: Ask about the size and amenities in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This is the 2nd time we have eaten at the Charles Inn. We stayed at Harbour House (an affiliated hotel) and opted to eat here as we did last time. Last year we were delighted with the meal. This year we both ordered the lamb chops (venison not being available on this particular evening) and we received "a tiny amount of fatty meat". We know lamb doesn't provide huge portions of meat however when the amount of gristle and fat was extracted from what meat was there, there was barely 2 mouthfuls. Service was very good and so was the rest of the meal but I shall not return for a meal.....certainly not at the prices they charge.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DVJjvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Charles Inn in Dec.2010, the ambiance of the inn was very warm and cozy, We stayed in the Newark Room, it had a real wood burning fireplace and balcony. The food was excellent and the people were very friendly I would recommend anyone going to Niagara on the lake to stay at the Charles Inn you will have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamiltonspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,771 reviews
1.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,233 reviews
0.3 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
955 reviews
1.1 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,564 reviews
1.0 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: RM570 - RM1,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing