We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE the Safari room!”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We are staying in the Charles Inn's Safari room and wanted to warn others who are thinking of booking here. The hotel is charming, quaint and all that but the Safari room is less than ideal. It's up on the third floor (attic really) in an historic hotel with no elevator. The door into the room opens directly onto, and I mean onto! (no landing or space to stand) a very narrow and steep flight of stairs. Once up the stairs, you are met with low, irregular and sloping ceilings that are easy for my husband and I to hit our heads on (he's 6'-0"; I'm 5'-2"). The room is big enough but you just can't use all the space because of the ceilings. It is dimly lit and the furnishings are tired. The bed pillows DESPERATELY need replacing. I wish hotels would recognize that pillows are key to a good nights' sleep and keep on top of keeping them fresh. The bed slept fine though so that's a good thing. The bathroom's square footage is ample but again the ceilings make it feel tiny. It's VERY easy to hit your head in there, especially directly in front of the sink which is where you spend the most time. There is a lovely soaking tub and small shower. I can't speak to other rooms as we've not seen them but from other reviews it seems they are small too. Our room just doesn't measure up to what I was expecting for over $300 USD/night. I guess you are paying for location mostly.

We ate in the Hob Nob restaurant our first night and had a lovely meal. The ambiance was intimate and conducive to quiet conversation. The food was very good. We are not wine drinkers per say but I did enjoy a glass of reisling with dinner.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank brcasrvr2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

The kitchen and wait-staff were terrific. The evening meal in the dining room was outstanding, and the breakfasts on the veranda were very special. Good food, wonderful surroundings, and very nice staff. However, the room was just average. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The towels were changed daily. Just fine so far. However, the room itself was small, the carpet was not vacuumed during our stay and the stairway to the room was narrow and steep. The veranda on the second floor, overlooking the back yard was great. The location of the hotel is excellent.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We enjoyed a group dinner for 10 and it was absolutely amazing. The staff was extremely friendly and the food was terrific. My wife and I enjoyed the filet and found it cooked to perfection with the salad and dessert to be just as wonderful. We definitely plan on coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We spent two days in The Sunflower Room at this quaint hotel. The room was small, but comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the evening sitting out on the screened in veranda! We can't wait to return in the fall!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a night. Location and charm of the hotel is amazing but our room was the tiniest room I've ever stayed in within North America. It was a European size room. Didn't matter to us that much since we were out most of the time but I'm sure a lot of people would complain. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,770 reviews
0.9 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
954 reviews
1.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
1.1 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,564 reviews
1.0 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: RM570 - RM1,107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing