We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three enjoyable nights”

Highgrove Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highgrove Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 26 August 2015

It's really hard to find fault with Highgrove. Bruce welcomed us, helped us get settled, and made sure we enjoyed our stay. He provided lots of wine-tasting coupons and had a cornucopia of advice on what to avoid and what not to miss.

Breakfast is served at 9AM sharp. Try to plan your day around this - it is well worth it, and once you have enjoyed your breakfast, you'll realize why.

We got into the habit of bicycling to the various vineyards, and Highgrove is centrally located for that. A short walk takes you to downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake for theatre, dining, spas and shopping - conveniently close and far from the noise and traffic.

I did miss not having WiFi, but Tim Horton's was nearby (didn't need to go there, in the end) and I managed to make do at the local pubs and cafés. There is ample parking, and a common fridge near the entrance to cool your fruit & white wine.

There is a beautiful garden out back - and we caught the last flower of Bruce's Tulip tree's first bloom.

All in all, a relaxing and pampered sojourn.

Room Tip: They all seem nice. The only room left was a suite, and we were extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2015

We booked this B&B last minute & were pleasantly surprised to be welcomed into a beautiful, sparkling clean property with all amenities to make us feel like home. Well situated within walking distance to restaurants & theatres, we also walked a short distance to the bike rental shop. We were in the king room and our friends in the suite- both with comfortable firm mattresses. Bruce takes pride in his art collections, eager to share stories. And the breakfasts were so delicious, each day we had a different hot dish. We will return!!

Room Tip: Queen room a little small compared with the king & suite. All rooms are soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sylvial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Highgrove B&B is so charming! Very well situated, in a residential street of NOTL, but still very close to the old historical center. Breakfasts are delicious and so nicely presented! Host, Bruce, is very caring. This B&B is sure to please. I highly recommand it.

Room Tip: The king suite is very comfortable,larger than the 2 other ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJAMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely B & B in comfortable tasteful home. Rooms spacious and everything spotless. Bruce prepares awesome breakfasts. Today's featured individual asparagus soufflés!! Bike rental one block away--excellent way to get all over Niagara-on-the-Lake--an absolutely charming town full of music, theater, architecture, restaurants, pubs, and of course shopping. Niagara Falls is a 20 minute drive. Highgrove B&B is about 6 blocks from Old Town and all the action. We walked everywhere (when we weren't biking.). Short drive to hundreds of wineries. A++ experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobbieB853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We've stayed here for over 15 years. All the rooms are nice but for the price we adore the Suite. If you need a shower that is easy to get in/out of - take the King or Queen room. Bruce is a delightful host and will serve one of the best breakfasts you have ever had. Stay several days and find out how many great breakfasts there are! It is about a half-a-mile walk downtown. Far enough away from downtown to be peaceful with plenty of onsite parking but easy to walk if the weather is pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
12.8 km away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,310 reviews
12.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,424 reviews
0.9 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
0.7 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,174 reviews
1.4 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgrove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgrove Bed & Breakfast

Address: 236 William Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing