We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveller rating
459
107
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
107
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower room burgundy room green room wonderful dog highly recommend this b b interesting guests yogurt private balcony lovely home byward market off street parking walking distance great hosts ensuite bathroom parliament hill major attractions light show
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 568 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We only had a day to spend in Ottawa before carrying on with a road trip to Quebec City and Montreal. Richard, the host, warmly greeted us and then went out of his way to give us a perfectly thought out itinerary to get the most out of our time in Ottawa. It was a great way to spend a day, followed by a lovely stay in the Tower Room. Breakfast was excellent, parking was included, and before we left Richard gave us more suggestions that improved the rest of our trip even as we were leaving. This is right in the heart of Ottawa, short walking distance to Parliament Hill, to the Byward Market, and Richard will give you instructions on how to get on the nearby Water Taxi to get the best view in Ottawa right off the water. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The tower room has it's own bathroom, tub, and balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GraemeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

As other reviewers have said, this is a perfect location for seeing almost all of Ottawa on foot. Richard has a wealth of knowledge and a wonderful dog!! Breakfasts are excellent and filling. Wifi is strong and reliable. Good TV in the room. Lots of great travel books and magazines. When in Ottawa, we will return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GuinnessBoy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Richard is an excellent host, ensuring that your needs are attended to with a detailed introduction. He has impressive local knowledge to help you better choose how you can spend your time well in Ottawa, especially for first time visitors. Breakfast is huge and tailored for each individual. The tower room is lovely and big with an ensuite. There are sitting rooms as well. The entire house oozes with old world charm and comes with interesting stories to match. Richard has a gorgeous dog Sandy, that also makes you feel at home with his playful and welcoming nature. The B & B is walking distance to shops, restaurants and most attractions, such as Parliament House. We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Budget price but luxury value
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank minghia2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We were wanting to get back to Ottawa during the 150th celebration and be as close to the 'action' as possible without 'exorbitant' hotel rates and impersonal service.
Richard's Auberge is in the perfect location - close to the Byward Market and it's attractions and most of the attractions of interest (to us) were within walking distance ..even the War museum was a mere 45 minute walk.
Richard's knowledge of the city and it's history and attractions was amazing ..as was his recommendations or suggestions of restaurants . Also , suggestions of attractions less known or less publicized was helpful -the best locations for the Light and Sound show on Parliament Hill .
Exceptional breakfast with lots of choice of fresh offerings of fruit and pastries .. as well as delicious scrambled eggs ..avec fromage. .
Even being so close to the university there was little outside noise . We had the large room with the ensuite bathroom and during the summer the private deck would be glorious .
I would stay here again whenever the opportunity arises to come to Ottawa and have already recommended it to several friends.
We also look forward to seeing Sandy grow from puppyhood into a mellow adult . Always there to greet us enthusiastically ..maybe too much for Richard's training regimen but still welcome.
Also on site parking .

Room Tip: The large room with ensuite bathroom and a private deck is preferable . Large clean and quiet .
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dwgrinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Charming B&B in a delightful and convenient neighbourhood, walking distance to everything! Richard is very friendly and knowledgeable about Ottawa, and takes the time to explain what to see, and when. Sandy is also very friendly (but isn't as helpful with advice) and was always happy to greet us. The next time we're in Ottawa, we hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mharris481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews