We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for brunch.”

The Wellington Diner
Ranked #264 of 2,848 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Lineup out the door on Sundays is a given for this place. The service was friendly and the food is great- overall a good spot for brunch.

Thank Neil38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Super breakfast at low cost during the week here. Advantage is great service, sunshine window seats, and easy parking.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellytalk, Owner at The Wellington Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to spread posivity and positive experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We end up at The Diner every weekend for brunch either on Saturday or Sunday. This morning it was definitely not the pleasant experience it usually is. After waiting in line for 20 minutes the owner started yelling at the customers he wouldn't seat anyone if their party wasn't there. The lady in front of us was by herself because her child was getting bored of waiting and her husband went outside with the child. There is not a lot of room inside to wait. My husband also went outside to make room for people waiting. We got to wait an extra 15 minutes. When finally a table for two was ready, the owner walked two kids who had just walked in. Some kind of reservation the girl at the door told us. We left will not be back and realized this place is definitely not worth all he 15 - 20 minutes we waited to get a table every weekend through the years. Next time we will go where people actually want and appreciate our business.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marthe956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellytalk, Owner at The Wellington Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

I respect your opinion but saying anyone was yelled at is more than stretching the truth.
We don't seat tables unless the whole group is present and accountable to be sat which clearly wasn't the case. Was it?
This is never yelled and the owner was in a great mood, truly I was.. Why would I not be?
Yes there was a table reserved for two Ottawa Senators it was the same table that was previously reserved for two other Ottawa Senators that gave up the same table. One has his name on the black board as a daily special so we take his reservation.
We reserve the right to ask for the total group to be present for tables seating and we reserve the right to reserve tables.
Saying you or anyone was yelled at is blatantly wrong but I respect your opinion. However just maybe "for some" the diner is worth waiting for if you have your whole group...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

A group of us from work went for breakfast. The diner was very busy and the waiters were great at making sure everyone got fed. I had the eggs benedict (The California Kid) - the food was hot and plentiful. A number of us commented on the home fries. They were nicely seasoned and quite tasty. The décor is great, very Westboro Village. A nice touch was being thanked by a gentleman who I assumed was the manager or owner, who was by the door and thanked each of us as we left in a very sincere manner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joannepmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellytalk, Owner at The Wellington Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped in without a reservation on Saturday morning and were seated right away. The restaurant was busy, but our server quickly got us started with water and took our orders as soon as we were ready. The food arrived quickly and was a very good value. Highly recommend you stop in the next time you find yourself hungry in Ottawa.

Thank s24835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellytalk, Owner at The Wellington Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to spread positive energy and experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wellington Diner also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to The Wellington Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing