We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Great location to catch the canyon tour train. Across the street as well from the waterfront pathway. The downtown area is looking a little rough. We wanted to walk to our restaurant reservations and found the downtown street bare of people and a little scary. Sault Ste Marie needs to bring life into their downtown, it is attracting and undesireable element. The hotel is clean, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite with fireplace and sitting area. The only negative is the breakfast area. Because you have a lot of people staying here for the train, you have a lot of people down for breakfast as the train boards at 7:30. If they had the stations spread out instead of crammed against one wall, the lines could be more efficient . You have people waiting for pancakes, or toast to be ready, when you could be getting your eggs and yogurt and move on. Make the pancakes and toast areas separate, easier flow.
On another note this hotel does bring in the kids for sports events on the weekend. By Friday night we had tons of teenagers for soccer, volleyball and even a sleepover little girls birthday party. BUSSSSSSY! Crazy!
Staff was friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Close to Agawa train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GibbyToronto_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Good day GibbyToronto_ON,

Thank you so much for taking to write this wonderful 4/5 star review!

I truly appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments regarding the breakfast onto management regarding the breakfast situation. It is a great recommendation.

I can only hope that we can welcome you back again soon!

Have a wonderful day
Michelle C
Guest Services Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Hotel is new. Room was clean and has two types of pillows! Bar fridge and coffee maker. Across the road from station mall. And a very short walk to algoma railway station to catch the Agawa Canyon train tour. Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello Anne V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful 4/5 star review!

I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy everything with your stay! I can only hope that we can welcome you back in the near future!

Have a great day
Michelle C
Guest Services Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This hotel was easy to locate after clearing Canadian Customs when arriving from the US. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Our ground floor king bed room was nice and clean, but had no view. The bath room towels were good. Like other reviewers, we had a lot of trouble with the slow Internet service. The room felt small and crowded for 2 people. We would not have wanted to stay more than the 2 nights we did. The breakfast area was large and had a good selection. The hotel has obviously been well maintained and our rate was reasonable. We would stay here again, but ask for a different room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Good day Gaboon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great 3/5 star review!

We truly appreciate your feedback! I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay! I can only hope that we can welcome you back in the near future!

Have a great day
Michelle C
Guest Services Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

To be clear, this isn't a full service hotel. If you want that, then there are a few here in the Sault. But for a clean, well maintained facility that provides a hot breakfast in the morning, this is excellent. Unlike many other Holiday Inn Express franchises, this the is only one that I know that has complimentary laundry facilities for guests. Conveniently located by the water, across from the Station Mall. Book early however, as it gets very busy.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RM1Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello RM1Paris,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful 5/5 star review!

I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy everything with your stay as well as the many wonderful amenities that we have offer including complimentary laundry services, delicious hot breakfast, as well as our Sauna, Pool and Hot tub.

I can only hope that we can welcome you back again soon!

Thank you
Michelle C
Guest Services Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Driving from SK to ON in late September. Important to note that at this time of year and into early October in northern Ontario there are tour groups visiting to see the changing of the leaves. You should book your hotel if you want to ensure you have somewhere to stay at night.

Holiday Inn Express - I rated as an A. Right downtown Sault Ste. Marie. A little far from access to the highway. Beware of all the one-way streets if you are driving. Does accept pets which was great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
2.5 km away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
661 reviews
0.4 km away
Delta Hotels Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels Sault Ste. Marie Wa...
#3 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
523 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier ...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
566 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
260 reviews
4.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 320 Bay St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 1X1, Canada (Formerly Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: RM 393 - RM 605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing