We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my sister for 4 days. It's off of Younge street which as one local put it "Younge is everything". It's not "near" anything, but it is central to everything, if that makes sense? We walked all over Toronto with no great effort. It's close to the Eaton Centre and that surrounding area which is like a mini Times Square. We walked to the Hockey Hall of Fame, CN Tower and Ferry docks without a problem. Lots of good restaurants, pubs and bars near by. It was a hike from Little Italy, but that was the only time we had to take a taxi. Although I would recommend eating at the Italian restaurant across the street which has fresh-made pasta and was LOADS tastier then the fanciest place in Little Italy. Overall a great stay. The hotel is beautiful and the area is really nice. If you are interested in the pool, skip it. Their pool is more of a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monchi217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timostrem, General Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Monchi217,

It was very nice to read that you and your sister enjoyed our hotel while you explored our great city - thank you for sharing your experience with other tripadvisor readers. Be sure to check out the blog connected to our website as it provides some great suggestions for things to see and do during your next trip to Toronto; including a guide to our public transit system. All the best to you and your sister with your future travels!

Sincerely, Tim
Cambridge Suites Hotel Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

988 - 992 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

Second time at Cambridge Suites. The rooms are still the best, and the location is very convenient. However, the front staff could be a little bit more service-minded and the temperature in the fitness room was unbearable. Hotter than outside. But we took advantage of the complimentary passes at the nearby - and fantastic - health club, which on the other hand was great. So overall we will will give Cambridge Suites a four star rating - and probably come back a third time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Resmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timostrem, General Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Resmama,

Thank you for your continued loyalty. I was pleased to read that you enjoy our suites, but disappointed to read that we did not provide an exceptional welcome back. I am also very sorry you found the temperature to be too hot in our 22nd floor fitness and relaxation centre - it is normally maintained at a very comfortable level. We will soon begin an expansion of this area to further improve the space - along with complimentary access to one of the premier athletic clubs in the city, we are confident that our services and facilities will continue to be among the best. Please be sure to let me know when you are returning so I can personally ensure the warm welcome and service we are known for.

Sincerely, Tim
Cambridge Suites Hotel Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Yes, the location is great and yes, the rooms are well-serviced but we were underwelmed during our recent 2 day stay. This was one of the most anonymous-feeling hotels we have stayed at in a long time. There is no one posted at the front door to greet, help with luggage, etc, and not once did one of the front desk folks acknowledge us/say hello in our comings and goings. And it just wasn't that busy. We didn't ask the concierge for help because it just didn't seem like a very friendly, service-focused hotel....but we were fine on our own in this beautiful city.

Less important, but notable, the rooms were a bit dated and breakfast was disappointing as other TA reviews have noted. All in all, at $400 per night we expected a bit more than a clean room and great location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timostrem, General Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Dhuds,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. I am very disappointed we left you enderwhelmed during your stay; particularly in the area of service. We have a reputation for being one of the friendliest and most hospitable hotels in the city and I can assure you that my team and I are very sorry we let you down. We aim to provide the best overall value and service in our market and hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you. If you are returning to our great city, please be sure to contact me directly so that I may assist with your plans.

Sincerely, Tim
Cambridge Suites Hotel Toronto
tostrem@cambridgesuiteshotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Location is good and yeah that's about it. The room was in such a bad condition, so run down and outdated. All the furniture is in one way or another damaged, old , scratched....The cabinets are in very rough shape. The bathroom was an absolute disaster, the tiles on the floor were broken, the shower curtain rod was falling apart, very bad job at cleaning the entire room. you could see signs of mold on the ceiling. Just a horrible room, poor service and hospitality. Overall the whole place just doesn't feel clean and welcoming. Very surprised that it's in the top 5. definitely wouldn't stay here again. The intercontinental and Marriott are in the same price range.

Room Tip: spend your money wisely ELSEWHERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BEYLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timostrem, General Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear BEYLHR,

I am very sorry your experience was not consistent with our reputation for quality rooms and excellent service. We aim to provide the best value among upscale hotels in the city and are very disappointed when we discover we did not. With the exception of our bathrooms, our suites have all recieved extensive renovations and upgrades over the last couple of years - we have recently completed the design phase of our bathroom renovation and hoep to begin them very soon. I would really appreciate it if you would contact me directly so that I can look into your concerns and determine why the condition of your room was not consistent with the quality in our other suites. If you are returning to Toronto, please contact me directly so that I may assist with your travel plans and ensure your next stay is exceptional.

Sincerely, Tim
Cambridge Suites Hotel Toronto
tostrem@cambridgesuiteshotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I used to live in Toronto, and chose this hotel for a two-night stay when I came to the city to see the sights with a visiting teenager from another country. It is located one block from The Eaton Centre, and walking distance or easy transit to virtually anything you would want to do. We walked to Front Street, to the CN Tower, to Queen Street West, and took the streetcar to The Beaches. It's two short stops from Union Station, so when arriving by train you can walk or take a 5-minute ride by subway. Everything you could possibly need is at your fingertips.
The hotel itself, while it has a dated-looking sign and entrance, is very nice. The lobby is warm, the desk staff and concierge are very friendly, our "Deluxe Suite" (the most basic one) was large and comfortable, with two flat-screen televisions, and we had a relaxing dip in the gym whirlpool, which overlooks the city from the 22nd floor.
A few things could have been slightly improved. The suites have kitchenettes, but bizarrely these don't include any utensils or plates. It says you can call to request them, but that's an extra hassle...and seems out of character for a hotel that seems to take its guests needs very seriously. The bathroom area was split between the huge vanity/sink area and a small room with toilet and tub. The space could be better distributed, and the grout in the bathroom needs some freshening up. But I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bergie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timostrem, General Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Bergie01,

Thank you for the kind recommendation and helpful suggestions. I am confident that our new bathroom design will further enhance your experience - we hope to begin the renovation later this year. If I can ever be of service to you on a future trip to Toronto, pelase do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely, Tim
Cambridge Suites Hotel Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,081 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#26 of 137 in Toronto
2,044 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites Toronto

Address: 15 Richmond St. E., Toronto, Ontario M5C 1N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#15 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#26 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: RM593 - RM1,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Suites Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Canada's top 25 hotels, an all suite property that offers space and privacy; French doors separate the bedroom from the living room with free WiFi access. Each suite boasts an entertainment wet bar with a coffee maker, fridge and microwave; as an extension of the bathroom, we offer a private dressing area and 24 hour room service is available as part of Portico restaurant's dining experience. Hotel guests also have access to the Business Centre plus access to the Rooftop Fitness Studio featuring a breathtaking view of the City. The hotel is connected to Toronto's underground PATH, which affords the business and leisure traveller with a well lit, secured walking corridor to over 5,000 companies and shops such as the Eaton Centre. Going to the theatre? Three of Toronto's best are within two blocks of the hotel! Looking for your place in the city? You found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cambridge Suites Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing