We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Decent hotel, was in town for business. A bit pricey, but its very close to all the shops and the suite you get is very comfortable and very roomy. I had a corner unit that had a view of Richmond St. Concierge was friendly and was kind enough to watch my bag as I got breakfast after checking out. Can't have guests after a certain hour, probably had issues of previous guest bringing questionable clientele back to their rooms. Restaurant is pretty good. Only thing is the wifi is a bit lacking. They do have an ethernet port with cable in the room for your laptops which is needed because the wifi signal in the bed is very weak, especially when you close the door to the bathroom (which sits between the the entryway and the bedroom). I'll probably stay here again if I need to visit Toronto again.

Room Tip: Go higher up if you can, tends to be night life noises from people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jasonrlee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira K, Assistant Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear jasonrlee53,

Thank you for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious suites and helpful team members. I have already asked our maintenance team to address your concerns and fix the problem, as we do not typically receive complaints of this nature. The ethernet cable is there as a backup tool, and not intended to be used instead of the wifi. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the city!

Sincerely,

- Mira Karasik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

My girlfriend and myself spent 1 week in July in the Cambridge Suites Hotel.

Staff was immediately very welcoming and friendly, though we only interacted with the front desk during check-in and check out. Both times, the front desk staff was very professional, but not at all uptight. I'm sure that - had we needed something beyond the check-in / check-out, they'd have been equally helpful.

The room was rather large (we usually stay in these kinds of 1 bedroom + 1 small bathroom hotel rooms where - if you want to eat in your room, you'll have to sit on your bed or on the floor) so we were rather overwhelmed by the size of the suite.
Seeing as I tend to be slightly jetlagged, which makes me wake up at 5am the first morning, it was a true blessing to be able to just let my partner stay in bed, close the bedroom doors and read stuff in the "living room" area.
It's great that the toilet / shower / bathroom aren't in the same room as the sink / mirror, so morning toilet business doesn't prevent your partner from brushing their teeth, doing their hair, etc.

The room was quiet (we stayed on the 14th floor), it had 2 TV sets with a wide variety of channels - though i must say that i wasn't a big fan of the fact that there was no browsable TV guide but merely a channel that went through the TV listings. Sadly, the TV didn't have access to HBO either, but it did have AMC. The on-demand content seemed reasonable, but we didn't really consume any.
Also, the cable channels didn't seem to be digital channels, so the image was rather blurry and sometimes didn't match the widescreen aspect ratio, but that's a tiny nitpick.

The free WiFi was reasonably fast, but coverage was somewhat spotty in the bedroom. While it was fine in the living room area, and rather perfect in the bathroom (where it matters most, some might say).

The mini fridge was well stocked and the prices were perfectly okay - you're not getting ripped off when you have a craving for that cold can of soda or beer. IIRC, a can of soda was CAD 2.50. There was also candy / chocolate, as well as bottled water.
A sink and a microwave were also part of the kitchenette.

The shower and bathtub (we had both, a shower and a separate bathtub) weren't super modern (no rain shower or other fancy stuff like that) but reasonably clean.

The king size bed was very comfortable. On one side of the bed, there's a charger that has 2 USB ports and 2 regular outlets, for your charging purposes.

The hotel is located in Downtown Toronto. It's a 10 minute walk from union station, 2 blocks from the old city hall, 2 blocks from Eaton Center (a huge shopping mall in central Toronto).
It's 10-15 minutes from Yonge-Dundas square (Toronto's 'times square') and 15 minutes from the entertainment district. So, pretty much perfectly located, if you ask me.

Overall, seeing as we must have gotten a great last-minute price when we booked, we found the suite to be great value (there's times where we paid more for the aforementioned tiny rooms in other cities).

If there was anything i'd say the hotel could improve upon: Slightly better WiFi coverage (it sucks to not be able to stream video in bed), renovate the bathrooms a bit, maybe new TVs / better cable package.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira K, Assistant Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Felix J,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We greatly appreciate it! It sounds like you were impressed by your first Cambridge Suites Toronto experience! I will follow up with our maintenance department about your suggestions for improvement and I thank you for this feedback. Should you book with us again, I recommend choosing an Executive Suite with one of our new glass encased waterfall showers!

Best Regards,

- Mira Karasik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

On a stormy afternoon, in the busy downtown core at the southwest corner of Victoria and Richmond, I ran under the portico of the Cambridge Suites hotel to hide from the deluge. That's when I found the hidden treasure of an affordable meal of fish and chips and coleslaw salad in the Portico bar. The portion was huge and it tasted almost like an home-made meal. It was prepared within five minutes, and served to me by a friendly waitress, Mary M.
I didn't only beat the storm, but all the long lineups of the neighbouring fast food places, and felt, even just for a thirty minutes, that I am on vacation!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira K, Assistant Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Thomas V,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments! We appreciate your praise of our Portico restaurant- the delicious food and the excellent service you received. I will be sure to pass on this rave review to our chef Christopher Duernholz and our server Mary. We hope to welcome you back the next time you feel like vacationing in your own city!

Warm Regards,

- Mira Karasik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for business for 4 nights in July, 2017. The room was great & very comfortable. The gym was great & so was the buffet breakfast. Staff were both friendly, professional & helpful. The bed was comfortable. There was a desk which was by the window & great to work from with views of the city. The only thing that could be better was the shower but was fine

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira K, Assistant Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Craig M,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are very happy that you enjoyed our comfortable and spacious suites, took advantage of our amenities, and were impressed by our guest service. With regards to the showers, you must mean that it was difficult to turn on. This happens sometimes as they are brand new! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

- Mira Karasik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

I've been to Toronto many times but never knew about Cambridge Suites. We took a group of 15 there in early June for 2 days of meetings. We have never been treated so well. It was a terrific experience with all of the staff in the hotel...cleaning rooms, at the front desk, in the excellent restaurant and quaint bar....it was first class all the way. All the rooms are suites and they've been kept up to date. The stocked kitchen prices for items are way lower than expected. And they have a town car that you can book at the fixed rate of $60 to the airport. Best meeting room we've ever had and the buffet breakfasts and lunches were outstanding. 5 stars all the way!

Room Tip: Construction on the north side so rooms on the other side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robin411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira K, Assistant Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear robin411,

Thank you for your kind words! It sounds like you and your group had the opportunity to truly experience our hotel and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves! We work hard to offer not just a hotel, but a home away from home, and it is guests like you that make it all worth it. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

- Mira Karasik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,081 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#26 of 137 in Toronto
2,044 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites Toronto

Address: 15 Richmond St. E., Toronto, Ontario M5C 1N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#24 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#26 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: RM593 - RM1,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Suites Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Canada's top 25 hotels, an all suite property that offers space and privacy; French doors separate the bedroom from the living room with free WiFi access. Each suite boasts an entertainment wet bar with a coffee maker, fridge and microwave; as an extension of the bathroom, we offer a private dressing area and 24 hour room service is available as part of Portico restaurant's dining experience. Hotel guests also have access to the Business Centre plus access to the Rooftop Fitness Studio featuring a breathtaking view of the City. The hotel is connected to Toronto's underground PATH, which affords the business and leisure traveller with a well lit, secured walking corridor to over 5,000 companies and shops such as the Eaton Centre. Going to the theatre? Three of Toronto's best are within two blocks of the hotel! Looking for your place in the city? You found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cambridge Suites Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing