We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Ocho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ocho
Ranked #16 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2012

If I could describe this hotel in one word, it would be 'cool'. The interior is full of exposed brick, original art and hardwood floors. It fits right in with the Queen West area. My boyfriend and I were upgraded to a king suite, which was beautiful. Large windows, king size bed and stunning bathroom. The service was excellent. Really friendly and attentive staff. At the end of the night when we came back to our rooms dead tired, the barman was kind enough to give us complimentary cokes. It was a small gesture, but it went a long way. It's all in the details. The only criticism that I have is that while I loved the open concept of our room, I wish this hadn't been extended to the toilet. Regardless, for me the service made up for this inconvenience and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinto_fraeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

This is a very small boutique hotel that's friendly and funky. They made me feel at home for a short stay and when I left my (computer) mouse behind, they cheerfully mailed it back to me, even though it was international mail. i've unfortunately left things behind at hotels before and they always "disappear." This is not some anonymous place -- the owners' passion shows through.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I love this place. Hotel Ocho gave me exactly what I needed, an exquisitely quiet room in a funky boutique hotel -- along with the perfect balance of thoughtful attentiveness and personal space, without the faintest whiff of grasping servitude or fake corporate bonhomie.

When I called at midnight to say that my flight was delayed six hours, they knew exactly who I was and when I arrived exhausted at 6am I was given a warm sympathetic welcome and a late check-out without question. My room had bare brick walls, windows that opened, a thoughtful layout and a comfy bed.

When I crawled out of bed in the early afternoon, I was delighted to find that the cafe downstairs had excellent espresso, free wi-fi and and natural sun-light: just what I needed to jump start my day.

And finally, when I checked out, I was delighted to see that the price of my stay included no surprises - except that it was so reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thinkwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My girlfriend and I recently stayed there for a quick night.

The Ocho is a hip looking boutique hotel. While it doesn't have all the frills that a bigger one would provide, we do appreciate the more intimate feel of a small hotel. Service was great, as all the staff were friendly and helpful.

We went to the restaurant downstairs for desserts and coffee. Dimly lit with candles on the table, it's a nice place for a date or just a drink with friends.

The rooms were, as most have said, a bit on the minimalist side, but that was fine by us. Everything was clean and tidy, bed was comfortable and the large shower was a joy to use. The only downside is that the work desk was a little small, and it can be a little loud when the heat kicks in.

Overall, it's a great place to stay, at a great location. And since we got the room at a significantly cheaper price (they had a sale) than the similar calibre hotels in the area, even better!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed here for three night last weekend on a quick trip to Toronto - and had a great time! The reno is tasteful and maintains the traditional brick and wood of the warehouse while feeling clean and modern, if a little unfinished in areas. Location is fabulous between downtown entertainment, Queen shopping, and College or Kensington dining. The bathroom was large and the bed was comfortable. The Queen room was quite tight with the bed in the middle of the room and with only one chair, so it is not a place to hang out...unless you are horizontal. But, the main, and big plus, was the comfortable lounge/restaurant area downstairs which truly extended the usable space. We spent a whole afternoon and evening working on a project with laptops and felt completely comfortable, getting service as needed but never pressured to move-on. This atmosphere made it feel much more hospitable and friendly than most hotels - and for this I will return. Also, as others have commented, some of the services are a little more haphazard than you would expect in most hotels. In terms of both design and staff we felt like we had stepped into a buzzing start-up IT firm run by lots of young and hip 30-somethings. But they are enthusiastic and friendly, which more than made up for the odd unchanged towel etc. in my books - but is certainly not for everyone. All in all we were extremely satisfied for the $150ish a night deal, but I would certainly not pay the regular $300 rate that was listed until they work out the kinks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontyKTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#58 of 137 in Toronto
1,540 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#19 of 137 in Toronto
3,657 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#7 of 137 in Toronto
839 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 137 in Toronto
2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocho

Address: 195 Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2C5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: RM585 - RM910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ocho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ocho is the newest hotel in downtown Toronto, which opened its doors on June 15th 2011. Hotel Ocho offers modern boutique-style accommodations featuring our perfectly eclectic mix of visual arts on a backdrop of historical architectural and modern European influenced renovations. Exposed wood beams, steel, white marble and black granite are carried from our bar & lounge to our dining room, and into our cozy hotel rooms. Standard Queen, Superior King & Deluxe King all host plush beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, flat screen TVs and waterfall showerheads. Hotel Ocho offers FREE WI-FI in the entire building. We are conveniently located at the meeting point of downtown Toronto’s key neighbourhoods. Within a 10-minute stroll, our guests will encounter the Bohemian spirit of Kensington Market, hustle and bustle of China Town, night life of King West and Richmond St. Entertainment Districts and one of a kind shopping experience of Queen Street West in Toronto’s Fashion District . eat • drink • sleep. Room type: Deluxe King Room This room offers a large tub and white marble.Room type: Superior King Room This room has black granite floors in the bathroom.Room type: Standard Queen Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ocho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing