We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$204
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$181
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$145
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$235
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$153
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$193
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$217
US$174
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$288/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$195
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
49
33
8
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
33
8
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinehome away from homegreat apartmentliving roombay streetwell equipped kitchenlarge apartmentcondo buildingwalkable distanceexcellent locationeaton centrea great staycn towerstayed nightslate checksubway stationcomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We booked the room for family holiday paying more than 5 star accommodation but realised that these buggers are cheating people using the loop holes of Lousy Toronto city council rules. This place is full of bed bugs and dust mites. They fool people by keeping toiletries and fresh towels. As matter of fact, they do not change all the linen, spare pillows and other bed room items which harbouring bed bugs and dust mites. We ended up sleepless nights and allergic patches.. We thought initially due to food allergy and never suspected bedbugs as we thought we are in reputed high class accommodation. It seems it is otherwise.. When we approached the pharmacy for medication came to know about the reason for our rashes. When we checked the bed room and sofas there we found the bed bugs heaven.


Mark & team of Canada Suites don't even express regret as they are such a blood suckers as like they are part of bedbug family. Worst thing they pretend as if we are lying and have prove ourselves by sending taken snaps and videos by emails. We insisted to get the pest control people who knocked just half an hour before checkout time and dropped a bomb saying we need to empty everything packed and put in dryer for 30 mins and pack in sealed plastic covers before repacking. Luckily we had flight at 9:45pm and spent whole day doing what the pest controller said.

I have travelled and lived in nearly 26 countries in last 22 years and never experienced such a horrible stay. Never seen bedbugs before too.

I did complain to Toronto City Council who says they can only advice the Canada suites to sanitise beyond that nothing can be done. With this loophole these blood suckers cheating the customers to the core.

You may ask why did not we move out to another hotel rather than suffering?
Our conscious did not allow to spread the bed bugs to another hotel there by to other places..

I am posting the photos and videos for your reference.

Whoever stayed in the Canada suites at 736, Bay St, TORONTO would have carried the bedbugs to their homes..

Be warned..

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ChandraV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadaSuites, Canada Suites Hospitality Team at Canada Suites on Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Chandrasekar,
Our records indicate that you arrived on July 24, 2017 from India. Prior to your arrival the apartment was occupied by other guests and no issues were reported by those guests.

Upon your arrival you were greeted by our associate who escorted you to the apartment and showed you around the apartment. No issues were identified. Our records indicate that during your stay in July you contacted our associate 9 times asking how to use dishwasher, how to use the dryer machine, how to use TV, etc. No issues were ever reported by you.

In the end of July you told to our associate that you will be going to Niagara Falls and staying there for a few days. Several days after your return from your Niagara Falls trip and two days before your scheduled check-out day you contacted our associate inquiring about our WiFi network. While talking to our associate you mentioned that your spouse had a rash. As a precaution our associate immediately contacted licensed pest control company who's technician arrived the next day. Pest control company identified recently developed mild pest issue in the apartment and performed the first treatment. As you chose to depart that same date you were, of course, not charged for the day that you did not use the apartment.

Several treatments were performed by the licensed pest control company weeks after you departed and the apartment was given a clean bill of health.

Copy of the report from the pest control company was submitted to city of Toronto officials.

Sincerely,

Canada Suites Hospitality Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Canada Suites on Bay is tucked in on Bay Street. Convenient for the whole Downtown area. The apartment was clean, well equipped with a dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. As we were all about to head for a laundry after 2 weeks of travelling, these last were particularly welcome. With 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, and a large living/dining area, our 5th adult opted to take the mattresses off the 2 pull out sofas and leave them permanently down. The kitchen is equipped for 6 people. There are a number of supermarkets nearby so buying food was easy. The pool was an added bonus to stretch out tired legs after each day of walking. For those who prefer to use transport, the subway station is also nearby.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank 968michalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadaSuites, Canada Suites Hospitality Team at Canada Suites on Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear 968michalj,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear that you felt that our 2 bedroom 2 bathroom Family Size furnished apartment was clean, well equipped, and a comfortable place to stay for 5 adults. Kindly note that we have an associate on duty at the building every day from 3 p.m. onward (who can be reached by phone, by email, or by asking building lobby security officer to page our associate) and our associate would have gladly delivered a mattress topper for one of the living room sofa beds free of charge. It will be our pleasure to accommodate you in our beautiful city again soon! Warmly, Canada Suites Hospitality Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We stayed 3 nights which is the minimum. For over $500 a night (including tax), we experienced wobbly floor board, weak wifi. Not doubt basic amenities are there, but those are standard even for cheaper stay. The last straw was on customer service. On the check-out morning, I called for an one-hour extension. It's stated in the Guest Handbook that they usually don't allow extension. But hey, you are in hospitality industry, this is quite an usual request. I negotiated for half an hour and the lady said ok. So the check-out time was 11:30am. At 11;25am, there was a quick succession of knocks on the door, we opened up and a cleaning lady sternly told us "You've got 5 minutes left". I thought that was not nice. I would not recommend this to friends if they visit Toronto.

Room Tip: Honestly we didn't have time to look outside to check the view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadaSuites, Canada Suites Hospitality Team at Canada Suites on Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Philip C,
We apologize that you have experienced a wobbly floor plank and a weak WiFi signal. Kindly note that we have an associate on duty at the building every day from 3 p.m. onward (who can be reached by phone, by email, or by asking building lobby security officer to page our associate) and our associate would have gladly sent a maintenance person to your apartment to repair the floor plank and to reset the WiFi modem, of course, free of charge. Kindly note that our check out is before 11 a.m. as is the common practice in the hospitality industry. We strongly encourage guests to reserve an apartment for an extra night should guests wish to check out later than 11 a.m. Our records indicate that you communicated with our team member regarding late check out and that you chose not to reserve a suite for an additional night. As a courtesy you were granted a late check out. Our records indicate that cleaning team members arrived at your apartment at 11.25 a.m. and reminded you that you need to vacate the apartment at 11.30 a.m. We apologize that you felt that our cleaning team member sounded harsh. Toronto is a diverse and multicultural city and we are very proud to have Torontonians of many different races and many different ethnic backgrounds be part of our hard working team, and, perhaps, the cleaning team member's accent made her sound harsh to you. Kindly give us another chance to accommodate you, and all our team members will work very hard to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Warmly, Canada Suites Hospitality Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Would have given this 5*, but because it didn't have left-luggage facility, which made it inconvenient for us, we give this 4*.

PROS
1. Room -- very spacious apartment, with "separate" kitchen (there was a low dividing wall), living-cum-dining room with big sofa bed, plus separate room
2. Amenities -- washing machine + drying machine; lots of utensils, fridge, oven, free wifi
3. Facilities -- bathroom (with bathtub)
4. Shopping -- Short walking distance to Eaton Centre
5. Very nice Japanese cheese cake shop nearby, but very long queue (go there early in the morning to beat the crowd, it's only CAD$10 for a cake)
6. I think there was an indoor swimming pool and sauna, but i didn't use

CONS
1. Late check-in time (4pm)
2. Early check-out time (11am)
3. No left luggage facility (we wanted to "check-in" earlier, or just leave our luggage and wander around the place, but there wasn't such type of service available)
4. Only one bathroom (hence one latrine) to share between the 4 of us

INTERESTING
1. I forgot if we need to take out rubbish by ourselves, but there's a "rubbish" room that we can put recyclable stuff in there
2. We can use the toilet in the changing room downstairs
3. Saw a woman with a puppy, therefore not sure if we're allowed to bring pets
4. Uber drivers can't really find the place, unless we tell them it's near "San Francisco" sandwich -- the main doorway seems more to be on Hayter St
5. the mini-mart downstairs and on the opposite corner is exorbitant; CAD$8 for 1 litre of milk !?!?!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank r10623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadaSuites, Canada Suites Hospitality Team at Canada Suites on Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear r10623,
Thank you for taking your time to write a detailed review. Kindly note that even though we do not offer on site luggage storage we recommend to our guests a local luggage storage company bagsaway.ca which offers great service at competitive rates. Kindly note that we have an associate on duty at the building every day from 3 p.m. onward (who can be reached by phone, by email, or by asking building lobby security officer to page our associate) and our associate would have gladly answered you questions about our pet friendly policy (we are pet friendly!) and would have gladly suggested 2 nearby supermarkets (one of which is open 24/7). Warmly, Canada Suites Hospitality Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We had a 5 day stay in an apartment.

The apartment was clean, spacious and was well equipped with dishwasher, washingmachine and dryer.

Great location on Bay Street where everything is within walking distance.

Extremely friendly management that helped us with various logistical challenges during our stay.

All in all a super experience

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ploevgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadaSuites, Canada Suites Hospitality Team at Canada Suites on Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Ploevgren, We are thrilled to hear that you felt that our furnished apartment was clean, spacious and well equipped and had everything that you needed to enjoy your stay. Our team members were working very hard to ensure that you truly had a great stay and we are delighted to pass on your kind words to all of the team members. It will be our pleasure to accommodate you again soon. Sincerely, Canada Suites Hospitality Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews