We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it if you're into art museums”

The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts)
Ranked #8 of 378 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The MMFA is one of Canada’s most visited museums and the eighth-most visited museum in North America, boasting more than 1.3 million visitors. The MMFA's original temporary exhibitions combine various artistic disciplines – fine arts, music, film, fashion and design – and are exported around the world. Its rich encyclopedic collection, distributed among five pavilions, includes international art, world cultures, decorative arts and design, and Quebec and Canadian art. The Museum has seen exceptional growth in recent years with the addition of two new pavilions: the Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion, in 2011, and the Michal and Renata Hornstein Pavilion for Peace, in 2016. The MMFA complex includes Bourgie Hall, a 460-seat concert hall. The Museum also houses the Michel de la Chenelière International Atelier for Education and Art Therapy, the largest educational complex in a North American art museum, enabling the MMFA to offer innovative educational, wellness and art therapy programmes
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Good museum, in some ways a bit scattered - collection feels smaller than I expected, spread through several connected buildings. May be underwhelming to those familiar with the Smithsonian museums.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank DCEllenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"permanent collection"
in 196 reviews
"canadian art"
in 128 reviews
"modern art"
in 110 reviews
"chagall exhibit"
in 49 reviews
"jean paul gaultier"
in 45 reviews
"old masters"
in 42 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 130 reviews
"three buildings"
in 34 reviews
"art lovers"
in 41 reviews
"nice collection"
in 41 reviews
"connected underground"
in 38 reviews
"audio guide"
in 32 reviews
"works of art"
in 35 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 32 reviews
"on display"
in 81 reviews
"free admission"
in 41 reviews
"gift shop"
in 68 reviews
Filter

310 - 314 of 4,117 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

This museum is spread across 2 buildings where the real draw is the exhibition section, which is a paid only admission. I went on a free sunday, which is only free for the permanent collection, and so i didnt see the Naploean exhibit. What i did see was fine, they had a Rodin and Manet and a few other pieces by very famous 18th and 19th century artists;however,unless you are the type of person who spends 5 mins in front of every piece of art you wont need more than a hour to see whats in the collection

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank marion4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I am not an avid museum or art fan but I was amazed by this museum and its variety of offerings . My wife who is more educated and familiar with art loved it . We happened to go on a Sunday at the end of March and when buying tickets were told that if would be free since it was the last Sunday of the month ( that explains the popularity and large crowds but still very manageable) . Layout of Museum allows for one to focus on any time period or art form . I have been to the Boston Museum of fine Art and this easily matches that caliber with many pieces from famous artists .They also have torus in French or English that focus on some of the more famous artworks. You can easily spend 2-4 hours there and not be bored even if like me not a huge art fan .

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

I am not really an art lover although my wife and daughter are artists. They enjoyed art work there. It was interesting enough for me. In my opinion, the display was very well organized.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank LaCanadaKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Went to the Bonaparte exhibit and was blown away. The staff were so knowledgeable about this dictators life you could stay all day just looking at this one exhibit. But if there do go and see the rest of the place, you’ll not be disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank lobby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts) also viewed

 

Been to The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing