We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
69
163
149
64
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
163
149
64
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atwater metro station living room full kitchen pull out couch family suite walking distance top floor underground parking rooftop terrace hardwood floors wi fi two double beds crescent street two blocks coffee maker downtown montreal old montreal
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018

I visited Montreal with a friend for the Jazz Festival and Comicon. We stayed at the Tour for three nights.

Check-in was clean, smooth and quick (though there was a bit of a line-up). I experienced none of the rudeness experienced by other reviewers - agent was knowledgeable, efficient and completely courteous. When I had questions throughout the stay, the desk staff were friendly and helpful.

The room itself was spacious, completely clean, and totally functional. The bed was comfortable (my friend said that the mattress on the sofabed was totally acceptable - by sofabed standards!). The balcony was a nice touch, but there was a heat wave in Montreal that weekend and we did not spend much time outside. The air con (two window units, one in the living room and one in the bedroom) was sufficient, despite 34 degree weather (40+ with humidex).. Internet was included (i.e. no extra $5 charge) and was easily quick enough for surfing (though I did not do any Netflix-type video streaming). No street noise (we were on the 10th floor). Our room still had a wall-to-wall rug, so it was likely not one of the refurbished rooms (which I understand have hardwood). Clean, new, fuctional fridge and plenty of dishes and glasses. Bathroom was clean, with plenty of hot water in the shower, and a good selection of shampoos / soaps / etc,

Nits? The hotel's own parking lot is small, so we were forced to park at the old Montreal Forum underground lot a 5 minute walk away ($20/day). There are only two elevators, so there was sometimes a ~5 minute wait. Breakfast was not included in my Expedia $122 price (extra $10/day). I did not eat breakfast at the hotel, so cannot comment. And the location is about a 20-minute walk from the centre of town - or a 5 minute subway ride from Atwater station, which is two blocks away. Pillows a bit soft for my taste. But all of these really are just nits.

Bottom line? Much larger than a conventional box-with-a-bed, half the price, good location and well maintained. What's not to like?

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tourbelvedere, Front Office Manager at La Tour Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we are working hard to improve our hotel and the feedback from our guest is very important to us.

We are hoping to see you on your next stay in Montreal.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Overall, we were disappointed in the condition of this hotel especially for the price we paid. It is an apartment building that has been converted into a hotel and in dire need of major updates. In our unit all of the furniture was dated, the bathroom needs a complete make over and the bedding needs to be refreshed. And it certainly wouldn’t hurt to invest in a better ironing board and pad, towels and a few pictures on the wall. A few small touches would go a long way to brighten the space up.
We were pleased with the service provided by the front desk staff and that there was a subway stop very close by. However, we will not be returning in the future.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hopper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tourbelvedere, Front Office Manager at La Tour Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we are working hard to improve our hotel and the feedback from our guest is very important to us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Comfortable rooms, very nice pool area and an easy drive to most areas. Park just south of the Hotel at half the cost as the Hotel Valet parking is expensive. Within walking distance of a coffee shop and restaurants. be sure to drive up to the State Park as the views and park ore wonderful. ** great place to bike as well

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Bkid43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tourbelvedere, Front Office Manager at La Tour Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we are working hard to improve our hotel and the feedback from our guest is very important to us.

We are hoping to see you on your next stay in Montreal.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

This hotel had all the basics but it wouldn't take much to bump it up to 4 stars with some improvements made. It's definitely an older aparthotel and they were painting while we were there. The beds are due for an upgrade of toppers or replacement. We sunk towards the centre of the bed and awoke with a sore back. The WiFi was very spotty and inconsistent- you'd think that if guests have to pay $5/day, it would be very good. The best thing was their nearby proximity to downtown - a five-minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzysews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tourbelvedere, Front Office Manager at La Tour Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we are working hard to improve our hotel and the feedback from our guest is very important to us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Our first impression wasn't very nice, when we arrived the clerk at the front desk wasn't friendly at all maybe because we arrived around midnight ?
But it got better when we get our room, the room wich was very nice even though we didn't use the kitchen.. The pool and the terrace was a good plus , and on the morning the staff was quite different to say the least , what a surprise to see someone speaks a bit of korean , our first time ever while traveling. He gave us good advice on what and what not to do during our stay , and were try the famous "poutine".

If we come back in Montreal we will make sure to stop here again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EK217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews