We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best-kept secret in Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #29 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Best-kept secret in Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We are 10-time veterans of Hotel de l'Institut and continue to relish everything about this hotel, especially the enthusiastic hotel-school staff who can lead you to the best foie gras restaurant or the best nail salon. This time we had a renovated king room, which was very sharp, and included lush linens. The balconies are a big bonus, the central location is perfect, the breakfasts were carefully prepared, and the dinner recommendations were spot on, especially one to accommodate 10 sports-obsessed university boys. Still think this is the best-kept secret in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    155
    35
    4
    4
See reviews for
83
207
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I had hesitations about this choice because it is a "teaching" hotel, but I would definitely stay here again. In fact, I look forward to it. Mine friends and I stayed for 4 nights over New Years weekend. The front desk staff was very friendly throughout our stay. The rooms are beautiful and look exactly as advertised. Breakfast is included with the stay, but we didn't make it down for breakfast. On the day we checked out, the hotel was nice enough to prepare breakfast for us to go.

The location is great. The hotel is part of the tourism institute and the building sits above the Sherbrooke Metro stop. You don't need a car during your stay. Taxis are always available right in front of the hotel, and you can walk to a variety of restaurants, bars, live music spots and other attractions. If you do drive, they have onsite parking.

The front desk will also exchange currency for you, but only in small amounts at a time. We arrived too late to go to a bank or exchange location, so the $50 they exchanged for us was very much appreciated.

The negatives:

1) No room service. This was only an issue for us on one night. We were out late or brought back leftovers on the other nights.
2) No bell service (I don't usually use this, but I thought I'd note it.)
3) Housekeeping forgot to replace bathroom tissue 2 days in a row. We called down to the front desk when we arrived one evening and the desk clerk brought some up.
4) Although the rooms have been remodeled, the bathrooms still have old subway tile which really takes away from the "new" feel of the room.

Overall, I recommend this hotel. The negatives were minor and would not deter me from staying again. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guyfromfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean. Having a balcony was a big bonus as well. Parked in the underground garage, with easy elevator access. Can't find anything to complain about as far as the service goes. We asked for an hour extra for checkout and was granted with no fuss what so ever. The location is superb. Walking distance to St Denis/Laurent restaurants, shops, bars, etc. Metro access pretty much behind the building, can't get better than that. The breakfast is the regular eggs, etc. Nothing spectacular, but not bad either. Overall, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel was great! I actually booked it based on reviews from other readers on this site so I decided to give back by writing a review and sharing my experience. The staff was amazing, very accommodating and always went out of their way. Natalie at the concierge was very helpful and accommodating as well as gave great suggestions. She recommended great activities (Notre Dame Basilica, Botanical Garden, Biodome, and my most favorite!!- a Scandinavian spa ) (the best massage i have ever had & most relaxing atmosphere)

Hotel was modern and very clean, rooms were spacious. Location was perfect as it was 5 steps away form the Metro which takes you anywhere. Walking distance to Latin Quarters & China town, also walking distance to Old Port (as long as its not too cold). Breakfast was very good especially since it was included (only thing is they did not switch up the menu at all so by the end of the week we were looking for a change.) The restaurant was closed for the holidays so we were not able to take advantage of it (heard the food was great though) For the location, price, service & cleanliness I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies which is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vita1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

The newly decorated hotel rooms are very comfortable but have quirks--why offer only 2 pods of coffee with that lovely Nespresso machine (what if both guests want decaf)? Why not leave a pen for guests? How about some conditioner along with the shampoo and a soap for the bath as well as for the sink? Why not fix the TV so the picture is not distorted? The only real problem however is the slap-dash nature of the breakfast. It is wonderful to have it offered as part of the room cost but service was lackadaisical, food and supplies were not replenished, only store-bought white bread was offered when Montreal has the best bakeries in Canada , one of which is right across the street. Since there seems to be supervision of the hotel, why not have supervision of the restaurant and servers as well?

Room Tip: All rooms are on the upper floors and are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FSH_203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for you review! I am glad you have enjoyed our renovated rooms. I am sorry on the other hand that you were disapointed by some of our products and services. I will personnally make sure that the housekeeping department puts 2 soaps and a conditioner in every room, as it should. As for the Nesprsso cup, there are always available at the front desk!
Your review will also be transmitted the the Food & Beverage director. As a school of hotel and restaurant management, we always appreciate our guests comments to improve the quality of our service.
Please feel free to contact me if you have questions or further comments: 514-282-5108 Ext. 4249.

Valérie Amiot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#35 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#38 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#49 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Property: Hotel de l'ITHQ
Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): RM795 - RM1,460
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing