We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$159
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$143
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$268
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$142
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$129
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal(Montreal)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

HI Montreal Hostel(Montreal)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Samesun Montreal Central(Montreal)(Great Value!)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveller rating
112
257
237
118
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
257
237
118
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsespresso coffeefree wifiindoor parkinghabs gamecatherine stthe room was nicelocation is excellentold montrealblockmetroprivilegesnightlife
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 809 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We had a nice stay in this hotel. We used the gym and found it well equipped. The location was in walking distance to many attraction and an array of great shops and restaurants close by. A hood price point for those who are seeking yo be away from the hotel most of the time.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ltibanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Hotel was nice. Wasn’t very soundproof though. Could hear loud people in the hall. The “queen” beds were more like double beds but everything was clean and well kept. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Right in the middle of downtown. We were able to walk to all attractions rather than drive in busy Montreal traffic. Was in a great area with a police station right across the street. Overall a great trip!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dianabourgeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We stayed here for three nights last weekend. Unfortunately we suffered from the same late night arguing, shouting and fighting that seems to have blighted so many others guests' stays here.

First some of the positives - the location is good - short walk to Lucien-L'Allier metro station and a short walk to Rue Sainte-Catherine, the main shopping street in the city. Lots of other hotels also have good locations though within easy walks of a metro stop - Montreal has the third largest subway system in North America after New York and Mexico City.

Each member of staff we dealt with was polite and helpful.

Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

The negatives though were plentiful.

Our car park ticket didn't work on two of the four times we needed to use it.

We were woken on two of our three nights - the worst was on the Saturday night by people shouting, arguing and eventually fighting - by the sound of it right outside our door. We came close to calling reception but the phone was on the other side of the room meaning you have to get out of bed which, at the time, just felt like making a bad situation worse - the next morning staff confirmed that security had been called and that the guests had been asked to leave.

While the rooms have had a facelift there is little soundproofing and the connecting doors to adjacent rooms made this worse.

Overall it didn't feel like a great stay. However, the noisy guests were clearly not the hotel's fault and I guess staff did their best to solve the problem. The location did not seem at all sketchy or unsafe as some other reviews have stated.

I do think though that we didn't choose wisely and I feel that there are several other places to stay that offer a less noisy experience in the same good location and with good service at a cheaper or similar price.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TimManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo1005, Director of Sales at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel
I sorry your stay was less than perfect. As stated in your review
we had little control on the couple who had a major fall out we did send
security to calm the situation as quickly as we could
unfortunately the harm was done.
Once again we are sorry for the disturbance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Ok first the positive. It's located close of the downtown of Montreal; its near to the subway and it has plenty of parking. But otherwise it's not worth booking. The rooms have had a cheap make-over in the last few years, but cheap being the operative word. The first night we had some domestic going on outside our room at 3am in the morning, which meant security got called. The second night we had people in the neighbouring room return back after a late night at 2am shouting and talking loudly. The adjoining door between the rooms didn't help. The shower is weak and not been upgraded. The coffee seems to be the main selling point and even that was mediocre.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Amazing value,a modern updated room at a fantastic rate,in a great location,just a block beside the bell center where the montreal canadiens play,and two block walk up to st catherine street the main street of montreal.underground parking is an extra $27. With in and out privilidges,polite staff,quiet.clean.ive been there a half dozen times,we luv it,whenever we stay in montreal we dont even bother looking anywhere else,its our go to hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank habsfreak24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo1005, Director of Sales at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you so much for your review
We re very glad that you like our hotel
and its proximity to the Bell Center.
See U Soon
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews