We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$218
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$264
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke(Montreal)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$142
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Kutuma(Montreal)
US$187
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur(Montreal)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
413
94
30
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
94
30
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelbank buildingsuperior junior suiteold montrealroom serviceturn down serviceeach eveningboutique hotelbeautiful roomlarge bathroomthe ritzhigh ceilingsvisiting montrealxospaconciergedoorman
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The hotel is beautiful as noted by others and the food in the XO restaurant is exquisite for all meals but particularly for dinner. Everyone who works there is a pleasure to interact with. We had two minor issues. 1) the thermostat in our room was more decorative than functional. It was difficult regulating the room temperature and the hotel had to try multiple times to "reset" the computer. I was under the impression that this was not a rare occurrence. Having HVAC issues is quite out of character for a hotel of this quality. 2) There is considerable noise from the street for front facing rooms on weekend nights due to a nightclub directly across. I suspect this cannot be fixed with the type of windows suitable for the hotel.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel very much.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CincinnatiKid97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This place has history, Location (edge of old town but not in the middle of the crowds) and top of the chart service with charm. Stayed four nights and got to know and love Martin in the Bar/Resturant and Tara, the concierge. We did not do our usual "homework/research" for this trip due to a family emergency, but Tara saved the day. She helped with everything from private walking tours to every meal...each one better than the prior. She even got me a free ticket to the Formula E race that was in town for their season finale. Expensive, but they delivered.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Simply outstanding in every way! The service staff is superb! The rooms are beautifully furnished with some fine French antiques as well as all the modern conveniences. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The walk-in marble shower with massive showerhead was the way to start the day. The breakfast in the elegant restaurant was just great. Our family loved this place! The bellhop should be commended. The lady manager from India was charming.

This is the hotel for us in Montreal.

Capt Makai

Room Tip: We were in room 805 and it was a suite but cost only what a room does.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptMakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeStJames, General Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Bonjour CaptMakai,

Thank you so much for your very outstanding and kind review. We are very touched
that your family had a great stay with us at Hotel Le St-James.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Elizabeth Glimenaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

To be honest this hotel was very disappointing. I often stay in 5 star hotels therefore my expectations are realistic however this hotel needs an overhaul both in service and facilities. The spa was OK but the sauna/ steam room is not as explained on the website and you need to get a staff member to switch it on which is not easy so just not very functional. Also if you want to read in bed bring your own reading light as the lighting in the rooms is very poor. Also the internet service provided is the slowest that i have ever encountered so much so that I gave up trying to do any work The rooms overall are very dark. Location of this hotel is superb and architecture is outstanding however when paying the sort of money they are asking I expected a lot more. Never again for me.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeStJames, General Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear mike r,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location and architecture of the Hotel. We will address the lighting issue with our maintenance department and provide reading lamps in the rooms in which more lighting is needed.

If ever you would like to book with us again feel free to contact me directly and I will make sure you have a seamless stay.

Sincerely yours,
Elizabeth Glimenaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We booked a superior junior suite king/550 square feet, which was to have a separate sitting area (and it did). Our 4th floor room (406) was fine, although a bit dark as it faced an office building and you could hear a low mechanical noise from outside. We decided to stay with the room thinking it would be dark and therefore good for sleeping and the white noise was much quieter than the construction we hear outside our NYC apartment every day. The blackout drapes worked pretty well but let in light at the top of the window. Not a deal breaker as the window received no direct morning light.

Overall, good service at the hotel. One of the inset lights in the shower was out which I mentioned to the front desk one morning on our way out. It was fixed by the time we returned. The stuck bathroom roller shade was not fixed, but the hotel probably had to get someone from the roller shade company to fix that.

I had a terrific 90 minute massage with Janik. If you book a treatment, you're shown into one of two private dressing spaces with your own steam room, sauna and shower. There is only one treatment room, which can accommodate a couple.


Only 4 stars because I felt that room 406 did not resemble the website photos of superior junior suites. The rooms on the website looked a bit plusher. Also, there was an odd sizing issue with the bed frame being oversized for the mattress. At $775 CAN per night for each of three nights (excluding sales and lodging taxes), I expected a touch more from the room

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NYCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews