We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European Style Luxury”
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
Ranked #42 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The hotel is very European in feel, down to the oversize brass room keys. Small boutique hotel in an excellent location just blocks from Notre Dame Bascilla. The Staff was perfect with attention to guests. The room had a feeling of European luxury with a large marble bathroom with separate shower and tub. The restaurant was very good in a beautiful room and breakfast was the best I have eaten in a hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are very quiet
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SouthernSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le St-James
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

The hotel is beautiful as noted by others and the food in the XO restaurant is exquisite for all meals but particularly for dinner. Everyone who works there is a pleasure to interact with. We had two minor issues. 1) the thermostat in our room was more decorative than functional. It was difficult regulating the room temperature and the hotel had to try multiple times to "reset" the computer. I was under the impression that this was not a rare occurrence. Having HVAC issues is quite out of character for a hotel of this quality. 2) There is considerable noise from the street for front facing rooms on weekend nights due to a nightclub directly across. I suspect this cannot be fixed with the type of windows suitable for the hotel.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel very much.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CincinnatiKid97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This place has history, Location (edge of old town but not in the middle of the crowds) and top of the chart service with charm. Stayed four nights and got to know and love Martin in the Bar/Resturant and Tara, the concierge. We did not do our usual "homework/research" for this trip due to a family emergency, but Tara saved the day. She helped with everything from private walking tours to every meal...each one better than the prior. She even got me a free ticket to the Formula E race that was in town for their season finale. Expensive, but they delivered.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Simply outstanding in every way! The service staff is superb! The rooms are beautifully furnished with some fine French antiques as well as all the modern conveniences. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The walk-in marble shower with massive showerhead was the way to start the day. The breakfast in the elegant restaurant was just great. Our family loved this place! The bellhop should be commended. The lady manager from India was charming.

This is the hotel for us in Montreal.

Capt Makai

Room Tip: We were in room 805 and it was a suite but cost only what a room does.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptMakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

To be honest this hotel was very disappointing. I often stay in 5 star hotels therefore my expectations are realistic however this hotel needs an overhaul both in service and facilities. The spa was OK but the sauna/ steam room is not as explained on the website and you need to get a staff member to switch it on which is not easy so just not very functional. Also if you want to read in bed bring your own reading light as the lighting in the rooms is very poor. Also the internet service provided is the slowest that i have ever encountered so much so that I gave up trying to do any work The rooms overall are very dark. Location of this hotel is superb and architecture is outstanding however when paying the sort of money they are asking I expected a lot more. Never again for me.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,352 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
1,474 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,378 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
#35 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: RM1,306 - RM2,960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing