We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$252
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$252
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$223
View deal
Official HotelUS$252
Hotels.comUS$252
HurbUS$275
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,870)
Filter reviews
1,872 results
Traveller rating
535
659
416
158
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
535
659
416
158
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room sized fridge kitchen area rene levesque bagels underground parking free breakfast full kitchen per night old town small kitchen spacious rooms min walk central location location is great metro station chinatown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,872 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was my husband's first time in QC and I wanted it to be a positive experience all around. Andrea made this really easy. Amazing hospitality and guidance, ensuring she named restaurants we would enjoy eating (which we did!) Loved walking around and knowing more about the walking tours we could take. The hotel was very pretty and was in theme with our Quebec City experience.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Radhika91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto Cote, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Radhika91,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is so encouraging for our staff to receive positive comments on our hotel and thank you for recommending our hotel.

We hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I knew I was booking a less expensive hotel, but the pictures on the website made it look better than it was. The room was dated and tired. I booked a suite so we would have access to the kitchenette, but it had no dishes, utensils of any kind. We had to call to get some non plastic glassware. We just skipped asking for anything else. Not the hotels fault, but the staffing issues…our room did not get cleaned at all on the first day (we returned between 3:30-4:00). At that point we were tired and needed to rest before going out for dinner, so did not bother to call. The second day, my husband took replacement towels from the housekeeper and told her not to worry about the room. She was run off her feet. COVID inspired breakfast was less than inspiring bag breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephanieb0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto Cote, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear stephanieb0731,

Thank you for choosing our hotel while you were in Montreal.

Plates and utensils can be requested at the front desk 24/7. We will begin some renovations in the following months. Unfortunately, we will begin to service occupied rooms in the following weeks. We try to serve our guests a balanced breakfast to start the morning. We are changing our breakfast options so that you can try different products.
We are currently discussing changes to our breakfast menu.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel completely ripped us off 150 bucks then refused to provide the photos he took of the “mess”
As mentioned in TONS of reviews rooms are not very clean..Hotel kept our “incidentals” deposit and told us that is was a CLEANING FEE
WHAT HOTEL CHARGES A EXTRA FEE FOR REGULAR CLEANING
We stayed for 3 nights with 5 rooms In total for our group.. there is no maid service DURING your stay.
So after 3 days of living in a hotel with no maid service we then had to PAY EXTRA FOR THE HOTEL TO CLEAN THE ROOM.
The manager showed us pictures on his phone of why we where being charged $150 CLEANING FEE. The photos where of SOME confetti on the floor that was inside of a balloon that popped. We had 5 large balloons filled with helium and confetti and 2 popped as we where packing to leave and figured that they vacuum anyways so that won’t cost us the deposit. He also had photos of a “spill” on the wall. I didn’t see what was in the photo but I offered to please go back up and wipe the wall and vacuum the confetti up and they refused. It was a 5 min job. I requested the photos he had and my receipt of my “CLEANING CHARGE” and was denied. When my husband got angry and said Your accusing and charging us of something but refuse to let us go clean the mess up and refuse to give us the photos of the accusation, the manager said we had to leave or he would call the police because he was yelling at him.
hotel website states you need to leave an incidentals deposit.
VACUUMING AND CLEANING ARE NOT INCIDENTALS
$150 for 5 min cleaning AND THE MANAGER said the house keeping service DOES MINIMAL CLEAN AFTER YOUR STAY. If they need to do anything MORE LIKE VACUME OR WIPE ANYTHING OFF THEY CHARGE YOU— AS STATED BY THE HOTEL MANAGER THIS MORNING.
If this is not true then the manager just ripped us off for no reason and maybe that’s why he refused to give me the photos of the “mess”

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 375britneyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2022

Wish the rooms were clean enough to match the price we paid for. Even though it says no smoking room, the room smelled like smoke. The bathroom is just horrible. You can see dust everywhere in the room. The room is also very outdated. The location is fantastic though. And staff were all helpful and awesome.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cjdjperalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto Cote, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing our hotel while you were in Montreal.

We are very happy to know you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed our location and facilities , We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience in our establishment. We addressed the issue to our housekeeping executive and action will be taken. Despite all our rooms are non smoking, previous guest may have failed to follow our policy. Please rest assured we have addressed this with our team to ensure we improve on this. Our staff strives to create a service experience for our guest that is lasting. We appreciate all of your comments and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2022

This wonderful, pet friendly hotel is close to all of the nearby attractions in New & Old Montreal. We were able to walk to every destination we wanted to see very conveniently. The room & hotel staff were phenomenal! Can't wait to come back to Hotel Faubourg Montreal!

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank g_howard33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto Cote, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear g_howard33,

Thank you very much for your kind mention of our hotel. We are very happy to know you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed our location and facilities. Our staff strives to create a service experience for our guest that is lasting. We appreciate all of your comments and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews