We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly exceeded my expecations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Rooms are huge and very comfortably appointed. Small fireplace was completely unexpected but very nice to warm the room each evening. From facilities to toiletries, the bathroom was excellent (rainforest shower, plenty of space, immediate and copious hot water).

Definitely consider bringing the family here on my next trip.

Room Tip: I stayed in the west side of Building 2--very nice rooms that don't front the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,681 - 1,685 of 2,423 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

This time stayed in a junior suite with a balcony on the top floor with terrific views of downtown Montreal! Again, the staff and service was excellent! Can't wait to go back in the summer and will defiintely book a similar room with a balcony so as to enjoy the beautiful sunshine and views!

Room Tip: Book a suite with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BanditAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Not as great as expected. I had the executive suite....1707. It was two levels and had a super small living room. I'm glad we didn't have friends join us for drinks....there would have been no where for them to sit! Not what the photos show at all! Secondly..... I ordered champagne and cheese for my husbands birthday....even confirmed it when we checkedin....it never arrived...lastly...the bathroom was dirty...cob webs on the floor where the toilet is housed. All in all not the "best in class" service I was expecting. I will choose another place when I return. If you decide to stay make sure they don't do the bait and switch with the rooms......

Room Tip: Not 1707.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PetieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review. We appreciate all reviews regarding our service and establishment as these help us in improving our standards. The stay that you have experienced with us does not at all reflect our standards, and we will make sure that this is corrected and improved immediately. We truly hope that you will be able to stay with us again, and hope that we will be able to demonstrate are hotel and staff’s qualities.

Sincerely,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My fiancé and I met at this hotel coming from 2 different directions last June. We needed to take a trip out of the country to satisfy his visa waiver requirements. I got stuck in Chicago in a tornado, and he had trouble at the border and was told by the Canadian customs he'd likely get turned back when he tried to come into the US. When we finally met up, the US border patrol informed us that Canada doesn't count as leaving the country any more, so we had to regroup instantly, stay another night, then he had to fly to the UK from Montreal (don't even get me started on the cost and inconvenience of this-thanks uncle sam).

The staff in the hotel were absolutely fantastic. They upgraded us to a suite, which was probably the nicest room we've ever stayed in. We had so many logistics and complications, and they were with us every step of the way. I have actually called up since and asked if I could buy the shampoo and conditioner because I've never found anything as good in 25 years of business travel. The first floor and lower level restaurants were both delicious. I cannot say enough about how great it was.

If we are ever able to stomach going out of the country again by car, we will head straight to Le Place d'Armes.

Room Tip: both rooms we were in were delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingWajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Located in the old town steps from Notre Dame, this hotel has a cool blend of luxe and laid back. Brick walls and big windows mix well with modern fixtures and chic furnishings. The staff is friendly but a bit low key. I'd give it 5 stars if the service and amenities were a bit more polished. The doorman was M.I.A. almost every time we entered or left, and the front staff just watched as we struggled to open the doors while managing our luggage. Also to our dismay, the internet service is spotty and inconsistent in the rooms. On the other hand, the housekeeping staff is pleasant and the rooms quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OysterLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,203 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,750 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,036 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: RM542 - RM2,636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing