We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Greatly exceeded my expecations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greatly exceeded my expecations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Rooms are huge and very comfortably appointed. Small fireplace was completely unexpected but very nice to warm the room each evening. From facilities to toiletries, the bathroom was excellent (rainforest shower, plenty of space, immediate and copious hot water).

Definitely consider bringing the family here on my next trip.

Room Tip: I stayed in the west side of Building 2--very nice rooms that don't front the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,556
    457
    109
    39
    18
See reviews for
297
1,086
85
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This time stayed in a junior suite with a balcony on the top floor with terrific views of downtown Montreal! Again, the staff and service was excellent! Can't wait to go back in the summer and will defiintely book a similar room with a balcony so as to enjoy the beautiful sunshine and views!

Room Tip: Book a suite with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BanditAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Not as great as expected. I had the executive suite....1707. It was two levels and had a super small living room. I'm glad we didn't have friends join us for drinks....there would have been no where for them to sit! Not what the photos show at all! Secondly..... I ordered champagne and cheese for my husbands birthday....even confirmed it when we checkedin....it never arrived...lastly...the bathroom was dirty...cob webs on the floor where the toilet is housed. All in all not the "best in class" service I was expecting. I will choose another place when I return. If you decide to stay make sure they don't do the bait and switch with the rooms......

Room Tip: Not 1707.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review. We appreciate all reviews regarding our service and establishment as these help us in improving our standards. The stay that you have experienced with us does not at all reflect our standards, and we will make sure that this is corrected and improved immediately. We truly hope that you will be able to stay with us again, and hope that we will be able to demonstrate are hotel and staff’s qualities.

Sincerely,

Mathieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My fiancé and I met at this hotel coming from 2 different directions last June. We needed to take a trip out of the country to satisfy his visa waiver requirements. I got stuck in Chicago in a tornado, and he had trouble at the border and was told by the Canadian customs he'd likely get turned back when he tried to come into the US. When we finally met up, the US border patrol informed us that Canada doesn't count as leaving the country any more, so we had to regroup instantly, stay another night, then he had to fly to the UK from Montreal (don't even get me started on the cost and inconvenience of this-thanks uncle sam).

The staff in the hotel were absolutely fantastic. They upgraded us to a suite, which was probably the nicest room we've ever stayed in. We had so many logistics and complications, and they were with us every step of the way. I have actually called up since and asked if I could buy the shampoo and conditioner because I've never found anything as good in 25 years of business travel. The first floor and lower level restaurants were both delicious. I cannot say enough about how great it was.

If we are ever able to stomach going out of the country again by car, we will head straight to Le Place d'Armes.

Room Tip: both rooms we were in were delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingWajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Located in the old town steps from Notre Dame, this hotel has a cool blend of luxe and laid back. Brick walls and big windows mix well with modern fixtures and chic furnishings. The staff is friendly but a bit low key. I'd give it 5 stars if the service and amenities were a bit more polished. The doorman was M.I.A. almost every time we entered or left, and the front staff just watched as we struggled to open the doors while managing our luggage. Also to our dismay, the internet service is spotty and inconsistent in the rooms. On the other hand, the housekeeping staff is pleasant and the rooms quite comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OysterLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): RM614 - RM1,485
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Agoda and TravelClick so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing