We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,469)
Filter reviews
2,469 results
Traveller rating
1,660
713
70
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,660
713
70
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenfamily suitebagelshigh ceilingscontinental breakfastold montrealvalet parkingtop floorrooftop poollaundry roomdining tablerooms are hugewithin walking distancedowntown montrealminute walkone bedroom suitefront desk and concierge
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 2,469 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Le Square Phillips is a marvelous hotel located in the central part of Montreal, a convenient location for visiting the old part of Montreal and the city center. Our room was spacious, and was like an apartment, since we reserved a room large enough to accommodate five people. The room included a separate bedroom, cordoned-off queen bed annex, and a comfortable sofa bed. There was a separate full kitchen that included a refrigerator, a stove, and a dining room set. Both of my grandchildren were greeted with gift bags, making them feel special. The morning breakfasts were excellent, making
the cost of the hotel even more affordable. The desk clerks and the concierge were very helpful and friendly. The staff recommended a great dinner venue, the Baton Rouge, for our first night there. We walked from the hotel to the old part of Montreal, as well as to the concert area where we enjoyed outdoor entertainment in a downpour! The rooftop pool is gorgeous and the views on the connecting outdoor deck were spectacular.
We intend to return to this grand hotel any time we come back to Montreal because of its wonderful accommodations and location.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the extra bedroom if traveling with more than two adults.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laineema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

This Hotel was in a great location - in the middle of the city but within walking distance to the Mountain. We had a very clean large room with a very comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and gave us great recommendations for dinner. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Momof2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Love this hotel! Not always the cheapest but consistently excellent. Room is very spacious, always spotless, comfortable and makes you feel at home. Location is amazing any time of the year. Breakfast is ample and well presented (no plastic or polystyrene — real cutlery, plates and cups). Fitness center, pool and roof terrace are perfect. We have stayed here six or seven times in the past few years (all seasons) and we continue to come back. Front desk and car valet employees are extremely friendly and professional. Highly recommend!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Raelene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Booked this hotel well in advance on the advice of a close friend. Totally exceeded our expectations even though they were very high to begin with! Received a wonderful free upgrade to a suite, but, even without that, saw into a "regular" room (that would have matched our original reservation) and it was beautifully appointed. Our room was luxurious and the beds were fantastic. Rooftop (indoor) pool, workout room, and laundry (coin operated) were all spotless. Rooftop deck provides fantastic city views as well as a nice spot to watch the sun set over Mont Royal itself. The breakfast provided had loads of choices and the food was great. Will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: The location is so central that rooms on any side of the building will have a great view of the city.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscerningTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

All of the staff was very helpful and informed. Everywhere in the hotel was very clean. There is a concierge to assist with questions and provide a local map. The room was very large with ceilings about 12 feet high and it had lovely tall windows for a very open and airy feel. There was quite a bit of storage in drawers and cupboards. It was well equipped with an iron, safe, kitchenette with oven, full size fridge, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, cutlery, pots and pans, plates, cups, glasses etc. There was a good sized dining table with seating for 4. The room had a comfortable chair and work space with additional chair. Good lighting in the room and adequate plugs for laptops, phones etc. The air conditioning in the room worked well and was not noisy.

On the uppermost floor there is a pool that is 1.4 metres deep. It is fairly small and in the shape of a lap pool but there were about 7 youngsters in the pool when we got in and we didn't feel crowded out. the pool is in a room with large windows on two sides so it's nice to see the outside (although it's mostly just buildings) as you swim. The beauty of the pool area is that you could then go directly outside and relax, sun yourself, on the roof deck. It faced two directions so there was the opportunity for sun most of the day. We found it most relaxing to lounge up there.

The location is excellent, right downtown. The underground (subway called Metro) is nearby. Old Montreal could be within walking distance but we took a cab and it was usually $10. The Underground City (many shops and restaurants) was just a block away, so if the weather turned bad we could easily walk there and spend the day exploring. It's also very close to rue Sainte Catherine, a main street for shopping. Second Cup and Tim Hortons are a block away for your coffee fix and there are many restaurants all within easy walking distance. We didn't eat near the hotel so I can't comment on those. We preferred the experience of eating at outdoor patios in Old Montreal.

A continental breakfast came free with the room. The breakfast room was very busy when we went there twice around 9am. It's a bit crowded and we had to weave our way amongst the other guests to pick out what we wanted. There were muffins, bagels, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, raisin bread, hot and cold cereal, juices coffee, ham and cheese slices, tea and hot chocolate. There were more options that I can't remember - like fruits. I wished it had some sort of egg omelette and bacon like many other hotels have on offer.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Aussiedog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews