We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with sloppy service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Casa de Mateo
Ranked #96 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2015

While the staff does work hard, I found the place to be extremely expensive for what it has to offer. The room was only cleaned before I checked in. Every day I had to empty my trash bin and make the bed (I don't know if this is a standard for hostels in Montreal). Rooms had a good size, and bathrooms were good. Watch out for the free triglyceride increasing breakfast which comprises one croissant, half a muffin and a glass of juice, no fruit. Wifi does not reach the rooms.

Room Tip: Better go to a real hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ferdinand V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2015

This hotel serves its purpose. It's close to everything and the mexican restaurant downstairs is good. Fanny, is very helpful and sweet! Value for money. You actually save a lot because most places of interest are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Email them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Very affordable and nice place. I lived in a room with two double beds which was very spacious and clean with private bathroom. The atmosphere was good and the location was extremely good. The only thing one could complain about is that the breakfast was not the best.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are ample but you can tell they pieced items together in an effort to save on costs, I guess. The staircase is mighty steep so if you have heart pressure, book the lower rooms. The television channels in the rooms are not clear and the WiFi is inexistent. You won't even load google.com. So if you are booking a solo trip, take your puzzle with you.
For our first morning we were arrived late for breakfast (at 10.30 am). Their breakfast is 8:00 am - 10:00 am but the caretaker or warden couldn't forgive a mere 30 minutes and offer his hungry guests some breakfast. We were sent away because there was "no more breakfast." Our last morning, we made sure to be on time for breakfast but as excited as we were, the dry croissant and coffee just dampened our morning. The lady is nice but the old man is rude, like they are playing good cop or bad cop on you.
On the other hand, the location is amazing, you can walk to and fro Old Montreal without spending on a cab.

Room Tip: Book the lower rooms if you hate stairs. The rooms that face the street have the perfect view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rach2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

The hotel is close to everything. Subway station, tourists spots in the old port,restaurants etc. The room is big enough, very charming interior with a big high Def TV with cable channels. When we go back
To Montreal we will stay to this hotel again and request the same room.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sofia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#5 of 144 in Montreal
364 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Casa de Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Casa de Mateo

Address: 438 St Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: RM190 - RM222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque Old Montreal, Auberge and Restaurant Casa de Mateo are in the heart of all the attractions of the Old Port. The 22 rooms in the auberge are exceptionally cozy and equipped with a small kitchenette, air conditioning and cable TV. Our Luxury Suite offers all the convenience of an apartment, with full kitchen and bath as well as a living room and separate bedroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Casa De Mateo Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing