We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Roberval
Nearby Hotels
US$192
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$162
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Kutuma(Montreal)
US$203
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke(Montreal)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$702
US$661
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine(Montreal)(Great Value!)
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Y Montreal(Montreal)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
90
248
135
50
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
248
135
50
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanned fruitroom was cleanberri uqam metro stationlatin quartercroissantsold montrealsister hotelsmall apartmentfull kitchenpeanut butterfree wifiliving roomairport buswalking distanceindoor parkingmetro stopst catherine
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2017

As others have said, the hotel is handy for the old town and very close to the 747 airport bus (literally 100yds, and close enough to drag two big suitcases through the snow without too much effort). It's also very close to the Berri tube station from which you can get anywhere quickly. The room - essentially a flat (apartment) had plenty of space and was very clean. Although it had a full size cooker and fridge freezer, it didn't have a kettle (us British like our tea!), but we managed. The downside was the traffic noise - we were disturbed during the night by the endless beeps beep of a snow clearer. Not the hotel's fault but sealed window units would have helped. Best point for us was the comfortable room temperature and the bed made up with sheets and blankets. The vast majority of hotels we've stayed in are over hot and the quilts make us uncomfortably hot in bed. This one was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alanterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration_Hotel, Manager at Le Roberval, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Roberval! Our team is very happy about it as it's the best reward to our work! We hope we can see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

The hotel is centrally located in downtown Montreal with easy access to major public transportation: bus, metro and greyhound bus. One can easily walk to theaters, restaurants and historical sites. Even though it is located corner of Berri and René-Lévesque, 2 main Montreal drags, very quiet clean large standard room makes stay comfortable and enjoyable. courteous and helpful staff willing and ready to assist with directions and hotel indoor parking. A good inclusive breakfast makes this hotel a good value for the price.

Room Tip: Had a corner room very quiet
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration_Hotel, Manager at Le Roberval, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for taking some of your time and sharing your comments about your last stay at the Roberval. Thank you for your good comments regarding our staff and breakfast. We sincerely are happy you had a great stay in Montreal! We hope we can see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Nothing fancy. Weird layout for hotel rooms, breakfast is nothing to write home about, and parkay flooring felt dirty. But the room was spatious and staff were friendly. I didn't cook there, but they have everything in the room in case you wish to.

Room Tip: Room on south side had a balcony on 4th floor
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 352yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We came back to Montreal to explore what we missed the first time two years ago.
It turns out that we got the same room as last time. Other than a new couch nothing much changed in the room. The staff were all extremely helpful. One pleasant surprise was that an IGA supermarket opened up just down the street on St Catherine. This made the full kitchen all the more useful.

We arrived during the late September heat wave. The air conditioners cooled the apartment down without issue.

The location is fantastic: walking distance (10 - 15) to old town, a short 1 block walk to UQAM Berri metro station, a 10-15 walk to Place des Artes.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration_Hotel, Manager at Le Roberval, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

It's great to know from your review that you enjoyed your stay at Le Roberval and all of our team is very happy about it as it's the best reward to our work. We hope we can see you again very soon.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

I don't usually complain but this experience was something else...Bear with me. We came to Montreal for the weekend and stayed at Hotel Roberval. The suite room was nice and comfortable, and the overall stay was fine. It’s unfortunate, though, that the hotel is completely disorganized when it comes to parking. The underground lot was extremely tight, but fine if you have a tiny car. Due to the stress of parking underground, we asked the receptionist for outdoor parking, which didn’t seem to be a problem. She took the time to draw a picture on our permit/map of exactly where we could park instead, and was confident in her directions. It became frustrating when returning to the hotel in the evening and finding no room to park. Graciously, they offered the 15 minute parking zone for our vehicle overnight and the following day we were able to return to our designated spot (so we thought). Upon checking out, we discovered an $87 city parking ticket on our vehicle, despite having the permit/map on our windshield indicating the date of departure (and a little drawing made by the receptionist). We returned inside and asked the reception desk why we would get a ticket, despite being directed by staff to park in that spot. They immediately deflected the blame on us and became hostile towards our concerns about being mislead by a number of their employees. The icing on the cake was the manager’s condescending remarks for parking 'some place we should not have', and that we should have inquired about the spot if we were confused. We were NOT confused, we simply trusted the hotel receptionists and precisely followed their directions (that she literally drew for us!) I can tell you this, I’m not ignorant or stupid, and I’m very much aware of Montréal’s reputation for strict parking, so I was extra cautious. I felt like they treated us like idiots for even trusting them. We fought tooth and nail for at least 20 minutes and finally got our parking refunded (that’s right..they still tried to charge us for hotel parking despite not being parked in their “lot”). Never once offered a refund, but got it after asking repeatedly to partially cover the ticket. We got a single apology stating that it wasn’t deliberate...who knows, but we still have to pay for their mistakes. Truly disappointed by their attitudes. My advice, don’t stay here. Pay a bit more for a better hotel where you will receive better service.

Room Tip: The wifi barely works anywhere in the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank X9746IDv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration_Hotel, Manager at Le Roberval, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for sharing your comment, we are happy to know you enjoyed the comfort of your room and your stay in our hotel. We regret that you have not been satisfied with the parking situation and that you believe the level of service was not acceptable. It makes us very concerned as we usually receive good marks about it.
This situation was caused by a misunderstanding while our employee showed you the map on the parking permit and gave you oral directions to get to the outdoor parking. You have reported the ticket after your departure and all together, we took the time to clarify the situation. We then found out your car was parked in the street (city parking) during the 3 nights. We would have appreciated to speak with you directly during your stay and we would have been happy to fix the problem. The management is always available by e-mail if you have further comments (e-mail address available on our website too).
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews