We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveller rating
549
136
14
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
549
136
14
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews croissants white suite coco chanel christian dior no elevator old quebec from france charming hotel perfect location bay window recommendations for places to eat winding staircase lovely park continental breakfast terrasse dufferin third floor quiet street
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 708 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the best hotels I've stayed at. It is quaint but has it charms. Beds were comfortable and bath was clean. What struck the most was their amazing service. All staff were hospitable. They greet you every time they see you. I got sick during my stay in Quebec, they helped me find and recommended a medical centre. They even volunteered to send my post card as I don't know where to post it! The service was truly amazing!

My husband loved their breakfast menu and the freshly baked croissant really stood out.

I would definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelandfashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your stay and your very positive and kind review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see that our quality of service has stricken you. The satisfaction of our guests is our priority, and every people who want to work with us must have very strong abilities and skills in that field. This certainly explains why we are classified, since 2017, among the top 25 best hotels in Canada for the Quality of Service (on a total of hotels in Canada is more than 5500 including prestigious brands hotels groups).

Looking forward to your next visit, Australia is not the next door, but some Australian guests already came twice in 3 years.

Warmest regards,

Olivier & Romuald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We loved the quaintness of this hotel that was at one time, I am sure, a residential home. The furnishings were eclectic but lovely. The hotel has been refurbished so everything is new. Our room was good sized with a sofa. The beds were comfortable. It is convenient to everything near Old City which is where we wanted to be anyway. They offer a continental breakfast for $11C but we opted to go down the street to Cafe de Paris/ l'Omelette where we got a huge egg, meat, toast, fruit and potato breakfast for $9C. I really enjoyed our 2 day stay there.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if steps are a problem as there is not elevator.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Guests,

Thanks a lot for your stay and very positive review. You are right, Chateau Fleur de Lys was a residential house from 1876 to 1910. It became a rooming house until around 1950 and it became am hotel at that time. We bought it in 2013.

Regarding the breakfast, it is a question of taste. We offer a balanced European style breakfast, you preferred to stay loyal to American style breakfast. Regarding the price, you forgot to add the service and taxes to the 9$. At the end, you paid the same price for a dish than the price you would have paid for an open buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We stayed for a weekend in September in this recently renovated hotel. The room was spacious and had a separate toilet and bathroom which meant no waiting for people to finish with the room. A gold star for the hotel, the only one we have ever stayed in that has had a soft light on a sensor in the toilet and bathroom so that when you visit at night you are not blinded by the light.
They also had a Nespresso machine which was a highlight for us from down under who like our coffee differently to the general North American. We had brought our own capsules from home for another accommodation venue later in our trip so it was a double bonus being able to have our favourite coffee each morning.
The beds were very comfortable and the room quiet. On arrival we were given a map which the staff marked with various locations that we needed. They also stored our bags for us as we were arriving and leaving via planes & trains which didn't fit the usual check in/out times. The hotel was across the road from a lovely park where we would sit and watch the squirrels while resting from the hot sun (as we were still adjusting from a winter climate). It was also close to the Terrasse Dufferin, Richards grocery store, and the general retail shopping & restaurant precincts while itself being on a very quiet street.
Would love to stay here again should we be fortunate enough to revisit Quebec City

Room Tip: There are stairs as this is a historic building so ask a room on the street level if this is a problem
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your stay and your lovely words. Your review is the 700th one and we couldn't expect a better one to cross this symbolic step.

We are glad to read that you have appreciated our property and its services but we are also delighted because you have noticed some small details. Indeed, we believe that the difference comes from the details and this is why we pay a particular intention to them each time we renovate a room.

We hope you will revisit us, why not try in Winter, the city is magic, and it's well worthwhile coming.

Warmest regards,

Olivier & Romuald.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Stayed here 3 nights, and we LOVED our room... we needed a room for 3 adults and room #17 was perfect... it was very large, had 2 queen beds, and a sitting area... mini-fridge stocked with water bottles each day... the shower and the toilet were in separate rooms, which facilitated 3 people getting ready to go out... small, boutique hotel with less than 20 rooms is very convenient to Old Quebec sights and many restaurants. Hotel earned TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award as one of Top 25 Small Hotels in Canada in 2018, and we think justly awarded. A nice continental breakfast is available each morning for an extra fee. We had breakfast at the hotel once, and explored other breakfast options the other 2 days.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JapaneseBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for your warm review and recommendation on TripAdvisor. You have perfectly summarized what we want to offer to our guest, a place on a human scale, different from the other hotels in town with a soul.

Thanks also to mention our Traveler's Choice Award as one as one of Top 25 Small Hotels in Canada in 2018, but do you know that we have also earned in 2018 the Traveler's Choice Awards - Top 25 Hotels for the quality of service in Canada and Top 25 Hotels for a Romance in Canada. All in all, we are part of the 15 hotels the most rewarded by TripAdvisor in 2018 in Canada.

We hope you will return to visit us again soon,

Olivier & Romuald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in October 2018. Great location in Vieux Quebec and near lower town, the funicular, harbor. Room was small but nicely appointed with quite modern bathroom. 3rd floor with no elevator, but Noemi walked our bags upstairs.

The staff was exceptional, especially Noemi and Romuald. Romuald was able to get us reservations at a very busy restaurant on a Saturday night where we hadn't been able to reserve a spot. Also got us a dinner reservation for Sunday at a very popular spot.

This is a quaint hotel with beautiful wood appointments. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but the front room where it is served is lovely - sunny and comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose first floor if you don't want to walk up stairs to your room.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K.c. A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your stay and for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor with all your lovely words. We are glad to read that you have appreciated our property and the efforts done by our team to make pleasant your stay with us. For the restaurants indeed sometimes it can be tricky to reserve a table in good restaurants, but we are full of resources and usually, thanks to our knowledge and networks, we always find a solution.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Warm regards,

Olivier & Romuald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews