We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,847)
Filter reviews
1,847 results
Traveller rating
1,416
355
57
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,416
355
57
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chez jules attic room no elevator marie antoinette old quebec perfect location pedestrian street breakfast was included stone walls adjoining restaurant flights of stairs boutique hotel small hotel modern amenities wonderful hotel murphy bed your luggage
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,847 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was my first visit to Quebec City, and I was a bit uneasy booking without any real sense of the layout of the town (we do our best with online maps, but who knows?). As it turns out, I could hardly have found better.
It is inside the old city walls and perfectly located for walking to everything you want to see. It is also only a block or so from the funicular, which takes you down to the river level, into the center of a pedestrian district lined with boutique and artisan shops as well as restaurants.
The hotel is in an older building but offers all modern amenities. The stairs are narrow (no elevator), but the water pressure is great, hot water was plentiful, wi-fi (unsecured) was strong at all hours. The bed was very comfortable and bed and bath linens were good quality. The charming room, with exposed beams and double-glazed window, was immaculately clean and maintained at that level each day.
Breakfast is served in the ground floor restaurant. There were five or six selections, ranging from continental to full-cooked. The food is well-prepared and included homemade jam and freshly baked bread. Service was friendly and efficient.
The reception staff was excellent! They provide a map and will make recommendations if you ask. Emailed reservation confirmations were reassuring and correct, and check-out was a breeze. Best of all, the staff was pleasant and obviously enjoy working together and helping guests.
Flat rate taxi service to and from the airport is CAD $35 plus tip.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank DCTravelbug22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle D, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear DCTravelbug22,

We are delighted that you took the time to share a detailed review of your experience while at the Auberge Place d'Armes in Old Quebec City, and we are thrilled that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. Thank you for highlighting the best parts of your stay, including the hospitality of our devoted staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit to our wonderful city.

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is our second trip to Old Quebec and our second stay at Auberge Place D’Armes. The hotel is located perfectly on a pedestrian only street that is in the heart of the city. The staff is lovely and extremely hospitable. Our room price included free breakfast which was excellent. I am already looking forward to coming back!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paradise65508562864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle D, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bonjour Paradise65508562864,

We are thrilled to read that your second visit to our Auberge was another success, and we very proud that our staff of hospitality professionals played a part in making your stay an excellent experience. Thank you for highlighting the delicious breakfast served at our on-site restaurant, Chez Jules, included with your room price when reserving directly with our property via telephone or via our website. We are delighted that you plan to return for another visit, and we too are looking forward to welcoming you among our honoured guests once again.

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary in Quebec City. Auberge Place D'Armes made it a wonderful weekend. We were given a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate. The breakfasts were delicious, and the location was perfect. The rooms were charming, comfortable and creative in their decor. Loved it.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gusnbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle D, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Bonjour Gusnbella,

We are delighted and honoured that you chose the Auberge Place d'Armes to celebrate your milestone anniversary, and we are thrilled that your stay was everything you hoped it would be and more. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again on your next visit to Old Quebec City.

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Stayed 5 nights in October. Friendly helpful staff, and a location. The hotel is a bit off the street but they will park your car for you, and assist with your luggage when you arrive - best to call a few minutes ahead. The rooms are 1-3 stories up so expect some stair climbing.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle D, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Bonjour Thomas R,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your five-night stay with us this past autumn, and for the perfect score you have accorded us. Thank you for highlighting the friendliness of our staff who do their best to make your stay a most comfortable and memorable one. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit in Old Quebec.

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Beautiful, small, friendly hotel, perfectly located right across from le Chateau Frontenac in the (upper) old town. Really friendly and helpful ,bi-lingual staff. Breakfast was not included but is available in the adjoining restaurant/café at a discounted rate. Room and ensuite were spotless and warm. I had an attic room (room 33) with cool views of the Chateau. Room comes with flat screen TV, bedside desk, closet, tea/coffee making facilities and safe. I was on the third floor, so there were lots of stairs as the historic building does not have an elevator. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hobnailboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle D, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Bonjour Hobnailboots,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our Auberge, and for your high recommendation to other travelers. We are delighted that you enjoyed the amazing views from our attic room, as well as the updated amenities. For future reference, when guests reserve directly with our property via telephone or via our website, we include breakfast with the room rate as bonus perk! We also offer special VIP rates for returning guests, so please do not hesitate to call us directly for your next reservation. We look forward to welcoming you again on a future stay.

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews