We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect location and price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Senator Saskatoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect location and price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Rooms clean. Staff very polite. Rooms may seem small if thats important to you. Beds very comforatable. You can walk everywhere downtown from this spot as it is in the heart of downtown. Parking available for free. Perfect for 3 women down for shopping and the theatre!

Room Tip: DId not have any noise problems. There is a pub connected to the hotel but we didn't hear anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hao548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    57
    33
    12
    21
See reviews for
18
32
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Pluses: wide comfortable bed, quiet room, immaculately clean, excellent water pressure in shower, attractive paintings throughout hallways, dining room gorgeous place to eat breakfast (at dinnertime, it's expensive, with gourmet selections), excellent bar/grill with delicious buffaloburgers, courteous service (on checkin, clerk asked me if I wanted a quiet room in back with view of parking garage or noisier room with nice street view (I picked the former), good location accessible by bus lines. Minuses: little desk space in room (the bed dominates the space), internet connection on the free computer provided for that was often not working.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJW8191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

I love staying in this old hotel. The interior is a little creepy but fabulous at the same time. While this hotel is not the hilton, it is always clean! The beds are comfortable and have great bedding. I also love the English pub downstairs where you have a selection of ~40 different kegs. Very close to all the downtown ammenities, shopping, dining, TCU place, etc. I will be going there again this month.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Want2BWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I love old buildings and I was so excited to stay here. My husband on the other hand wasn't so thrilled. He acctually parked the car at his brother's hotel and we took a cab in order to avoid the rediculous parking (somthing that should be made a bit clearer by the hotel) which required double parking! The lobby is lovely and restored well, however the first floor hallway which was under FULL renovation was just plain scary with hanging electrical wires, no ceiling, only two table lamps for lighting and dibris everywhere! It looked like a scene from a bad horror movie.
That being said the room while small (which was expected from the discription) was clean, and the bed was heaven to sleep on. The door to the room was a bit out of place being a commercial steel door. Overall I would like to stay here once the renos are all done and I think the price should be lowered a bit to reflect the renos taking place on floors still being used for guests and the hotel should inform people booking rooms that the floor they will be staying on is under renovation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed in the Hotel Senator for a week while in Saskatoon by myself on business. I arrived on Saturday, and the first night was bad. Someone outside was smoking pot and the hotel itself smelled old -- like years of wood polish. During the night the guy next door got up at 4 and and again at 6 and threw up loudly in his washroom, which sounded like it was right behind my headboard. It wasn't a good first experience.

The rest of the week went much better. The front counter staff were friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff do a good job. This is an OLD hotel, but it has a lot of character and charm to it. I even got used to the smell of all that wood polish. Everyone who works there is trying to make it shine. That said, it could use some updating. The room I was in was showing its age. I was encouraged to see that they appeared to be preparing for some major renovations to the hallway downstairs, just as I was leaving. I don't know to what extent the renovations were planned, but it would need to extend into the rooms to really affect my rating.

The pub downstairs was also nice. It was a good place for a quick dinner or to catch a game. Again, the staff and patrons were friendly, and there were many different beers on tap to choose from.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere (relatively) inexpensive to stay in downtown Saskatoon. I would not recommend it for romantic getaways or for children, as, from what I could see, it offered little to entertain them.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoxPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#7 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Central Business District
Delta Hotels Bessborough
Delta Hotels Bessborough
#14 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Senator Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Senator Saskatoon

Property: Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Address: 243 21st Street East | Downtown Saskatoon, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 0B7, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price range (per night): RM438 - RM460
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Senator Saskatoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saskatoon boutique downtown hotel, the Hotel Senator features Rembrandt's Fine Dining & Wine Bar with international cuisine, Winston's English Pub & Grill with over 50 taps, 80 imported ales, ciders, stouts and lagers and a home away from home personal attention and service. Your room awaits! Safe travels and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Hotel Senator Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Saskatoon
Hotel Senator Saskatoon Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing