We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a littel help of my friends”

Up North Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Up North Adventures is an award winning adventure travel outfitter based in downtown Whitehorse, Yukon. We have been helping people from all over the world experience one of the most unique places on Earth since 1991! Our complete selection of trips and tours are designed to help you experience and enjoy the Yukon year round.
Reviewed 14 July 2017

You have a problem? Upnorth knows the solution for almost everything. Starting with good advises for our gear and ending up with help finding a good shop to buy real good smoked beakon. As the river at Robert Service Campground was too shellow for our canoe, they offered us a free ride to a good place to take in.
Also great help eight years ago, when my credit card was gone. While I was out for Shopping they organized the contact to my German bank. Thank You for Your overwhelming friendlyness

Thank Reisebaer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpNorthAdventures, Manager at Up North Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Up North Adventures
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Went to UP North Adventures demo day June 3,3017. Dave was of course amazing with his assistants. So are the other gentleman there sorry i didnt remember your names. I then headed into town to the store. Which the staff there was great as well. I can not recommend this store and staff enough.

Thank Cactus197295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpNorthAdventures, Manager at Up North Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We were looking forward to the Half Day Multi Activity Tour and after what we had read on the web it promised to be a great time. Getting on the small bus in Whitehorse to take us up the mountain, the two guides/drivers were more intent on talking to each other about their personal night time activities and journeys and did not seem interested in any of us nor telling us about the countryside or what we were going to do. On arrival, we took turns at the different activities - my son-in-law and myself were snowmobiling first up and were given safety helmets just in case. This snowmobiling turned out to be the two guides on a snow mobile while we sat in a sled being dragged along behind. We stopped on the frozen lake to take photos. Next up was the dog sled - not as the ad says sit back and enjoy the scenery as you are pulled by a strong team of well-trained huskies - in actual fact it was sitting upright astride a plank of wood hanging on for grim death and not being able to enjoy anything especially as we took a corner too fast and ended up face down in the snow with the 'sled' on my leg. We stopped once to take photos. We gave the tobogganing a miss as it was not a gentle slope and the last activity was the snowshoe walk down the path and across the frozen lake. We did see some of our bus group who chose to do the ice fishing which entailed sitting in a chair with a line in a hole in the ice and we were shown how to dig a hole in the ice. Overall I was definitely not impressed with anything on this tour and felt that I had wasted my money. On the way back to Whitehorse the guides were back talking to themselves. At CAD195 per person - just a hint Up North - when you choose your guides they should have a bit of interest in the paying customers and your activities should reflect what you advertise.. We were very disappointed with this tour and would not recommend it to anyone, although maybe we just got a bad day.

1  Thank Lozfromoz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpNorthAdventures, Manager at Up North Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hello, thank you for your review and feedback about your tour. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience with us. We do our best to communicate exactly what the tour will be like to our guests, and unfortunately it seems like there may have been a miscommunication. The Multi-Activity tour is meant to be an introduction to some of the more popular winter activities in the Yukon.

We hand pick our guides and more often than not we receive raving reviews about their character. We are sad to hear that this is not the experience that you had while on tour. We will re-communicate expectations with our guides to ensure a better experience for future guests.

We thank you again for your valuable feedback and review. Should you wish to discuss this in further detail or have any questions please do not hesitate to get in contact with us via email at upnorth@upnorthadventures.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

what an excellent team building day! great weather, coaches and location! Food was awesome and the price was just right!
Even got to cuddle with some puppies!

Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Thank You ! Up North made a "mandatory training' day absolutely Fantastic ! Gorgeous Day and Location. Excellent Food and Hospitality. Team Building Events were well planned, challenging and FUN ! (with lots of Helpful Hints and Handy Tips from Facilitators along the way ;) AND there were Puppies.. and Horses... and Yurts ! This was a day completely geared for both individual and team SUCCESS . With the only exception of a Sky High Wilderness Sledding Afternoon? This was the most memorable of my Yukon Adventures ...so far...... Look forward to seeing you all again in the near future !

Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Up North Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Up North Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing