We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average, the apple pie on the way from McDonald’s on the way home was better.”

The Plough Inn Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Eynsford
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This place used to be lovely, it’s sadly gone very downhill.
Ordered a pork roast and a burger, neither were very hot, all the veg on the roast was very old and the Yorkshire pudding was so old and hard it was basically a biscuit.
The burger bun was again very old like a biscuit and tough to eat, the gherkin inside was probably 6 years old?
For the amount of money you’re charged for the food, I expect hot fresh food, not rank old brown cabbage!
Shame on you plough, it’s not ok to serve such poor food. UP YOUR GAME or lower your bloody prices.

1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Amy W, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We would like to have a better understanding about your experience. Please reach out to us at 01322 862281 at your earliest convenience and we will do our best to resolve this with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We arrived for 2.45 pm , we did i not get our food for about 45 mins , the roasts were cold and had to be sent back , and still when they returned were still only warm . I had a Burger which was pathetic , i have had better in mcdonalds. All in all very poor will not. be going there again.

Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Mcquaid999, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The first thing is there is a max time of 3 hours in the car park! Not impressed. The pub area is comfy, soft furnishings (bit grubby) and roaring log fires. Great for drinks. The resturant is somewhat small and in need of updating - the rugs are a trip hazzard for a start. The chairs heavy and goodness knows was in the fur throws - not hygenic in my personal opinion.
We waited 50 mins for our starters to arrive. Then over 30 mins for our mains. It was not overly busy at that time (3pm lunch). Portion size was a bit hit and miss in terms of value for money. The Chicken spit roast was certainly not worth the money, neither was the chicken, bacon and avarcado salad.
On the plus side, the staff were friendly and buzzing about. It is a dog and family friendly pub.
Would I return? ...For a drink yes, for a meal, no.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CJov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Arrived at 1pm on Good Friday for lunch in the bar. Not too busy and found a table easily. Went to the bar and ordered drinks and asked for the lunch menu. About ten minutes later went to order the food at the bar only to be told that no bar food was being served and the only food that was available in the bar was two of the starters; baked camembert and some sort of pizzette. Surely if no food is being served in the bar it is not unreasonable to expect to be told before being served drinks and being given a menu!! Surely it would be easy to put up a notice on the bar explaining the situation. While finishing our drinks many other customers came in and experienced the same problem after ordering drinks and many left immediately and were also very unhappy. I think many of these customers will think twice about returning to The Plough, we certainly will.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Graham C, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us.
Unfortunately, at peak times, we have to limit/hold food service in the bar area due to the number of bookings we have in the restaurant. We're sorry this wasnt made clear when you arrived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 12.15 midday part of the way through the second Beast from the East. Now perhaps the normal chef hadn’t made it in but my Wife’s meal Spit toasted chicken just didn’t deliver and was not very impressive. I had Pork belly & scallops which was ok but again nothing to write home about. My sons drink was delivered incorrectly twice. His desert was again very unimpressive just looking much more on the menu than in reality. My bombe desert was very nice with chocolate & chocolate sauce. I can not recommend The Plough Inn.

Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hi Chris M, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us.
We will use the feedback you have provided to work towards bettering our service and improving our guests experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn Restaurant also viewed

East Farleigh, Maidstone
 
Eynsford, Sevenoaks District
 
Brasted, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Plough Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing