We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
165
29
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
29
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestslarge dining tablecroissantsbreakfast tableloire valleylovely surroundingsbreadpeaceful locationsurrounded by fieldswonderful staylocal producespent nightsfantastic tablechristianhostcheesegarden
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I came across le Manoir de Chaix en route from Bordeaux to Calais: it is ideally situated for breaking a journey from the UK to the south of France - or from one side of France to the other: it's not far from the A10 or the A85. Despite it's convenient proximity to these main routes, it's incredibly quiet and in a beautiful countryside location: perfect for a proper rest. There is a lovely walled garden where madame maintains an impressive vegetable garden - the products of which get made into the 24 different varieties of jam that grace the breakfast table in the morning. The rooms a big, comfortable, and with lovely views of the parkland and forest. There is a nice swimming pool, and chairs at the front of the building: perfect for sitting in to look up at the stars! I am delighted to have spent my last night in France in such a magical place.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lizzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The Manoir is positioned at the most perfect distance at which to rest on the way from the UK and ferries to places further south. And what a relief it is to arrive and to be welcomed and made so comfortable .
This time we planned our visit to coincide with an evening when dinner was being offered. and delicious it was too. And of course breakfast is perfect, jams of every colour , fruit/ vegetable.
All our fellow guests from all countries joined to make it a happy first night stop.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DaffySUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Same large bedroom in tower overlooking front garden and potager and to the rear the vast lawn.
Lovely reception area leading to the large dining room which is enough to seat 12 residents.
Everything is scrupulously clean.
Breakfasts are vast.....everything you could wish for.....except of course a cooked breakfast!
We always book in for the evening meal which is superb.....starts with a choice of 3 canapes with wine outside in the rear garden. Afterwards we move into the dining room for starter, main course, choice of many local cheeses, sweet and coffee. As much excellent local wine you can enjoy. And Christian, the owner, prepares, cooks, serves all this himself ....and with such bonhomie.

Room Tip: Great value for money. Swimming pool.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We had a brilliant stay here. The room was fabulous, the setting was wonderful, the food was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed our night. Wish we could have stayed longer. It was a perfect place to stop on the way through France. We shall return.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

My husband and I recently spent two nights at Manoir de Chaix, situated about 20 km from Amboise. The Manoir is set in extensive grounds which include a swimming pool . Our room was lovely and overlooked the garden.
We booked in for evening meal on both occasions. The food was delicious! and very good value at 30 euros per head including wine.
I strongly recommend a visit to Manoir de Chaix. It is ideally located for those wishing to explore the Loire Valley and its quiet, peaceful location affords a relaxing end to a day replete with sight-seeing and wine tasting. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews